We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Bulls Head
Nearby Hotels
$94
$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$61
$50
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Macclesfield South West Hotel(Macclesfield)(Great Value!)
$64
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$115
$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Macclesfield Central(Macclesfield)(Great Value!)
$27
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
    Chadwick House Hotel(Macclesfield)
    $64
    Booking.com
    View Deal
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    TripAdvisor
    View Deal
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Reviews (59)
    Filter reviews
    59 results
    Traveler rating
    18
    15
    6
    5
    15
    Traveler type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    18
    15
    6
    5
    15
    See what travelers are saying:
    Filter
    Updating list...
    54 - 59 of 59 reviews
    Reviewed May 16, 2012

    The hotel could do with a really good spring clean, the room was a decent size but dusty, mould in the bathroom. There was no milk with the tea making facilities.

    The bedding looked clean and the bed was comfortable but the room was absolutely freezing all night.

    There was a disco on in the hotel until 2.00am and all we could hear was thud, thud, thud, it was terrible.

    What with the disco and the freezing cold room we had absolutely no sleep whatsoever.

    Enjoyed the huge breakfast, it was what we needed to thaw ourselves out.

    Never again!!

    • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    2  Thank ManGlassAndMe
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed March 28, 2012

    I read 3 reviews before we booked - 2 were very good and 1 awful so we thought the 3rd might have just been unlucky and we would take the chance. When we arrived the place did not look too good but the room was large and the bathroom clean so we decided to stay. We went out to meet with family and returned at about 10 pm. On turning down the covers it was very obvious that the bedding had not been changed since the previous occupant but there was no-one around to tell. Next morning we went down for breakfast at 8:35 to be told the "chef" would not be starting until 9 am even though we had been told on arrival that the meal would be available from 7:30 am. We told him about the sheets and he said "I'll mention it to the cleaner". Don't go!

    • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    2  Thank Bernice3
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed February 29, 2012

    We stayed at The Bulls Head last night. on arrival we found they are under new management.
    Very spacious rooms, well equipped and ours had a massive bathroom :D
    The evening meal and breakfast was lovely, the staff very helpful and a great central location.
    Ignore any bad reviews for this hotel, we normally stay at Premier Inn, and this hotel is right up there :)

    £40 for single occupancy and £50 for double occupacy AND THAT INCLUDES UR BREAKFAST !!!

    8/10 for The Bulls Head !!!

    Room Tip: "Room 7 was the biggest"
    • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank HotelReviewer499507
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed November 7, 2011

    When we arrived a senior member of staff informed us there would be a Disco that evening, he claimed that it shouldn't be that noisy. We were hoping for an early night as we had driven from Kent to Manchester that day. The room was ok apart from the thick dust on the kettle and in the spout and mould in the shower. There was tea and coffee but only one sugar packet.

    All in all for £45 a night, we thought we could put up with it. Sadly, when we returned from our meal (at Tiamo's - Lovely by the way!) the noise was unbearable and vibrations didn't aid a restful sleep, they had put our room right above a speaker when there were several empty rooms.

    I went to complain at 1:00 am and asked if there was anything the management could do as there was no mention of the disco taking place when we booked. The guy kindly said all he could do was to move us to the back of the hotel. The vibrations were not in this room but the noise certainly was. We eventually got to sleep at some point after 2:30 when it quietened down.

    Next morning (9.30) I thanked the guy who was working the night before for moving our room and gave the keys back. A woman behind the bar (who hadn't spoke to me and I assumed was the cleaner) was obviously informed of the complaint, as she interjected:

    "It was your partner who booked the room wasn't it, he booked it with me!"

    "Yeah it was..."

    "WELL I'M THE MANAGER SO IF I SAY YOU WERE TOLD ABOUT THE DISCO, YOU WERE TOLD! "

    " Ok, if you say so but we weren't told until we arrived"
    (as i replied she was walking off in a strop)

    I could not believe that we had paid £45 to get no sleep in two dirty hotel rooms and then to be shouted at when I was looking for someone to take responsibility.

    The rest of the staff we met were great but this woman needs to treat herself to some anger management and customer service courses.

    Room Tip: Avoid room 104 above the speakers and visit when the manager is away.
    • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    2  Thank Georgia E
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed August 1, 2011

    We stayed here when we visited family. The rooms are above average. Nice touch, bottled water in the room, and plenty of coffee and tea facilities.

    Breakfasts hearty, and nicely cooked. great selection. Also proper expresso coffee served, and they ask you if you want more!!

    • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
      • Value
      • Sleep Quality
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank stella034
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    View more reviews