We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent beer, food and room. Shame about the extra toast!”
Review of The Plough Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Plough Inn
Ranked #1 of 12 Congleton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bray on Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
173 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Excellent beer, food and room. Shame about the extra toast!”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Nice pub in lovely countryside. Beer (local ales) in perfect condition. Food on Friday was excellent. Breakfast good but I ordered extra toast and it never arrived. No big deal of course but you remember the little things...
Room was OK but not cheap. Excellent shower and comfortable bed!
Certainly recommended overall though.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fotowizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    79
    36
    11
    11
See reviews for
69
102
7
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stoke on Trent
Level Contributor
98 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Went to a wedding reception here at the weekend. The location is beautiful and although we didnt stop overnight I believe the accommodation was good. The wedding reception was held in a converted barn attached to the pub and was beautiful, full of character, not too big but ample dance room space! Had a quick scout around and the bar and restaurant area look great and there was plenty of seating outside in lovely gardens and the carpark was a good size. Wedding reception was buzzing and brilliant. The food however was not. A great choice for the buffet was hot bacon or sausage baps served with chips. Unfortuantely the bacon and sausage were all cold even if you were first in the queue for the buffet. Staff pulled their face when asked for salt and vinegar. It didnt stop us having a lovely time celebrating our friends wedding and as I say the location and venue itself are fantastic.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nhsbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Went for a meal last night and had the Cheesy garlic Baguette as did my wife, we then decided to have the 2 steaks for £25 plus a free bottle of wine , the steak was spot on but all that came with wasn't a "mans" portion only a hand full of chips and a little bit of salad that wouldn't fill anyone up but it was cooked to perfection and tasty , the better half had red wine sauce with hers, we then had a lovely cheescake for dessert, all in all lovely and it went down well.

We asked for the bill which had the incorrect date printed on it which , blonde the waitress got her g string in a twist when we asked for the bill to be amended but eventually it was sorted , why is everything these days an aggro???

My opinion if you have got a small appetite this place is perfect for you....

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Biglad4567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport Cheshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Stayed here for one night as attending a nearby wedding reception. Was having difficulty in getting a taxi but the staff didn't give up until they ordered one for us. Excellent accommodation with everything you could possibly need. Extremely clean. Large comfortable bed too! Very tasty and enjoyable full English breakfast. All staff very pleasant and helpful.Will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ursula B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

we checked in on the Sunday and Monday night of bank holiday as part of a group-on deal. the room was very comfortable and clean with much more room than it looked from outside.
when we arrived it was very sunny so we spent an enjoyable afternoon in the outside beer garden with my partners head becoming redder and redder!!
we had a meal included on our first night and had a very reasonably prices fixed price menu. i found the food to be a good standard and home made rather than pre packaged. we enjoyed our meal so much that we cancelled the restaurant plans we had for the next night to have the next nights meal as well.
breakfast was great also with full English and a good selection of cereal and yoghurts etc. some reviews mentioned the half a slice of black pudding but to be honest the potion size was spot on for us. my partner especially loved the mushrooms fried in butter!!
we enjoyed our break away, the only negative would be that some staff weren't always the friendliest, but they seemed to be the younger part time members, as the girl who served us breakfast and the two owners? were exceptionally friendly and hard working.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scousegeordie79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Stayed at the Plough inn Wednesday and Thursday night. We booked two double rooms on Groupon for £59 each. Both rooms were very clean and modern. The bathrooms had both been refurbished and had a bath with shower over. Towels and bed linen were all thick and looked new.
Each night we had plenty of hot water.
Tea and coffee facilities are supplied in the room and even a pack of biscuits for the morning cuppa.
Breakfast was plated but we all had what we asked for. Fruit juice, cereals, yoghurt and we had fresh toast which was replenished when gone, same with tea and coffee.
Breakfast started at 7 o,clock till 9 Monday to Friday and 8 till 10 at the weekend.
The staff are friendly and helpful but for a barman who much of the time didn't smile. Think we were told he was French but even when he served me he didn't really speak.
All in all a great break.
If you site seeing go to Little Morton Hall £8 entrance.
Some beautiful walks along the canal.

Room Tip: We had rooms 9 and 10
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed at The Plough Inn on Saturday night for a wedding. Booked a double room for £75.00 including breakfast. The room was large and comfy, yes a little dated but very very clean. Bed was comfortable with crisp sheets with plentiful towels for a shower/bath. Best of all was the breakfast....... exceptional! The service was friendly and efficient and the well cooked full english breakfast was probably one of the tastiest ive had at a B & B / hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DevonRadleyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Congleton
2.1 mi away
The Alexandra Court Hotel
The Alexandra Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Congleton
306 reviews
6.3 mi away
Chimney House Hotel
Chimney House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Sandbach
651 reviews
8.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Stoke on Trent Alsager Manor House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
De Vere Cranage Estate
6.0 mi away
Travelodge Macclesfield Central
3.3 mi away
Whitethorn Farm Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plough Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plough Inn

Property: The Plough Inn
Address: Macclesfield Road | Eaton, Congleton CW12 2NH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Congleton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Congleton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Plough Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Plough Inn is a beautiful Grade II listed Coaching Inn with traditional Oak Beamed Wedding Barn and 17 en-suite bedrooms.You will always be afforded a warm welcome at the Plough Inn where you can choose from our selection of Cask Ales sourced from local micro-breweries and our Best of British Menu which showcases some of the very best cuisine from around the British Isles ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Plough Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Plough Hotel Congleton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing