We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent meal”
Review of The County Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The County Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Dalkeith
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent meal”
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Just been for a meal at The County Hotel in Dalkeith. They have a new introductory menu with 2 courses for under £10. We were VERY impressed. The presentation was 5 star, the food was top class and the staff were friendly and attentive. If you are looking for a fabulous meal at a good price this place comes highly recommended!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gkfisch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    27
    36
    22
    35
See reviews for
31
45
8
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2012

We went for a Sunday lunch and wouldn't go back again. While pleasant enough, the waitress got our drinks order wrong though she did fix it when asked. One of the member of our party had to pop out briefly and was pounced upon the minute she got into I ordered a fresh orange and lemonade and I was halfway though before discovering the glass was absolutely filthy.
The starters were ok but the main courses were below average. The lasagne was extremely greasy with far too much cheese on top and the chicken curry tasted like boiled chicken with a jar of sauce dumped over it with a mound of stodgy rice and a greasy popadom beside it. We barely ate half of our meals.
The restaurant itself was dusty and looked like it was trying to aim upmarket but it really didn't pull it off. The cheesy pop music was off putting.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 108lanar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dalkeith hotels

Hawick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2012

Spent one night only in this hotel as we were at a family party in Dalkeith. Booked three weeks previous and were quoted a price for double room. Other family members were quoted higher price on booking same date so we phoned back to make sure that the booking was for a double room and was asured that the price was correct. On arriving the lady at reception quoted higher price when we went to pay and was very rude when we told her that was not the price we were given. We paid the price first quoted was handed a key but no word of were to locate the room just a case of "there you go now find the room". Room was very dated but clean very small,shower was not to good either, the view from the window was of next door building roof. We felt like we had been put in the "servants quarters" Nothing like photo's dispayed on web page,Only positive side was that the bar staff were very nice. Other members of our family staying were also not impressed. Wont be back

Room Tip: Ask for room at front of hotel or ask to see room before you pay
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alex936
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2012

Unplanned visit travelling between Jedburgh and Glasgow. Decided upon the County Hotel. Looked decent enough from outside. Hotel reception staff friendly enough and service was quick. The room was very out-dated, dull looking and quite dusty. The view from our room was to the bins out the back of the building, we found this quite strange as the hotel seemed quite empty and we thought they could have given us a better room. We had a drink in the bar, it was expensive and quite soulless, no music and only 2 other people in it. Wouldn't stay again. Didn't eat in the restaurant as it was completely empty - so not a good sign!

Room Tip: Ask for a room towards the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank missannenoid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northeast
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2012

stayed here for 2 nights for 6 nations rugby england v scotland stayed on 3rd floor nice clean rooms staff very pleasant and friendly music loud from bar down stairs other than that nice hotel

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bannanboat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Level Contributor
86 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2011

We stayed at the county for two nights whilst visiting our son at Edinburgh Uni. The parking was a plus compared to Edinburgh which is very difficult to park.
we took the bus into Edinburgh which was just outside and very frequent for 3.50 per day ticket.
The room was alittle tired but the sheets etc spotless as was the cleaning in the hotel.
The staff helpful and friendly.
the breakfast fantastic. All up we had a great time and for £99 for 2 nights KPG voucher was excellent value.
well done! County

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teachchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2011

We stayed for 3 nights in a 3 bedded room as a family, on the second floor. Through ‘Late Rooms’ we booked for £80 per night, which directly booked would have cost £98.25 per night. Although there is no car park at the hotel, we were able to park up nearby, within a few minutes wait. The bedding consisted of duvets, but with only one pillow each, but when asked we were given another. Tea and coffee making facilities were available in the room but there was only ever one packet of biscuits provided for 3 of us (stingy). Room servicing and towel changing was good.

The room was clean and had a window facing towards another high brick building, so don’t expect a room with a view. The wardrobe was meant to be fixed to the wall but was in a state of disrepair, with a 2 inch gap at the rear. The en-suite bathroom (external) wall was mouldy and in need of sorting. Breakfast was very good generally, although on our last day it took half an hour for my order to be served, and even then the order was wrong. The place wasn’t particularly busy at this time either. My double fried egg order arrived with one egg, which was cooked solid, and two sausages which I had not ordered. To make matters worse, we ordered some toast at the same time as the coffee, only to have to wait and see eight other people enter the restaurant, way after us, being served their toast orders before us. When politely mentioning that we would still like some toast, it eventually came. The hotel is OK but could do with sharpening the act up in places.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ngw4br
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dalkeith
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Edinburgh A7 (Dalkeith) Hotel
0.9 mi away
Melville Castle
Melville Castle
#2 of 3 in Dalkeith
949 reviews
2.4 mi away
Dalhousie Castle
Dalhousie Castle
#1 of 1 in Bonnyrigg
1,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Carberry Tower Mansion House and Estate
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Musselburgh) Hotel
3.6 mi away
Best Western Kings Manor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The County Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The County Hotel

Property: The County Hotel
Address: 152 High Street, Dalkeith EH22 1AY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Midlothian > Dalkeith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Dalkeith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The County Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Dalkeith, a five minute commute to Edinburgh. The County Hotel is a striking building dating back to 1940. Enjoy comfortable accommodation in one of our 32 en suite bedrooms, relax with a drink in the bar or sample home-cooked meals in our cosy restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The County Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The County Hotel Dalkeith, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing