We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“skiing orford”
Review of Espace 4 Saisons

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Espace 4 Saisons
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Orford
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“skiing orford”
Reviewed March 28, 2014

very nice boutique hotel. The included breakfast was great and varied. The restaurant & bar were very quaint but on the expensive side. The room we had was very large and was well appointed. The hotel is described as a ski in/out. That would be a stretch. It is quite a walk to the closest lift and you could not ski back not is there a ticket booth at the bottom of the closest run. The staff were very friendly. Everything was very clean

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeff m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    61
    16
    8
    6
See reviews for
59
121
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Everything about the hotel was as advertised. The staff were friendly, the place was clean, and the room was spacious. The breakfast was nicely laid out, and the restaurant had a welcoming upscale atmosphere.

The only reason we came to this hotel is because it was advertised as the ONLY SKI IN SKI OUT hotel at Mont Orford. However, this is clearly not the case. You have to cross the highway (in your ski boots), and carry your equipment 1.2 km before you reach the chairlift. In my vocabulary, this is NOT Ski in Ski out.

In fact, I wouldn't even call it slope side, because the terrain you have to cross to reach the slope is by a road with cars traveling at 80 km per hour without sidewalk. When you finally reach the parking lot of Mont Orford, it was not plowed ! With 2 young kids, our family of four decided it was simply unsafe and unfeasible to walk to the slopes with our equipment.

And remember, there is no shuttle service, so this cannot even be considered an off site ski hotel.

At the end, we decided to drive to the main entrance of Mont Orford every morning, and the logistics nightmare which came with it was stressful and time consuming, obviously NOT want we signed up for. If we wanted an off site hotel, we could have rented an off site condo unit four times the size at the same price.

So if you want a SKI IN SKI OUT hotel, This is NOT IT.

Otherwise, a good, friendly hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MC2KW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrée-Anne B, Gérant at Espace 4 Saisons, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Z Murray,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review about your last stay at the Auberge aux 4 Saisons d'Orford.

We are very sorry that the Ski In Ski Out experience did not meet your family needs.
I would like to precise that there is many level of Ski in Ski Out. The slopes can be reach, as you said, by crossing the street, but only 500 feet from the auberge. If you have walked 1.2 km, this distance will bring you to the main entrance of Mont Orford.
We are sorry that your family did not feel safe to go ski by this road. As we are a small Auberge, we do not offer a shuttle, but we will keep this option in mind.

Thank you for the good words about our friendly staff! I will pass on the comments to the team. And thank you for the good words regarding the cleanliness of the Auberge and our nice spacious rooms. Our customer satisfaction is very important, and we are grateful for the good review.

We hope to welcome you again, for en enjoyable stay, as we promise each of our customers.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013

We have been to this hotel before and have always enjoyed it. We were disappointed to learn that the excellent restaurant was closed on Mondays, the only evening we were there, but we ate in Orford close by and enjoyed a great breakfast the next morning.

Very comfortable bed and bathroom, lovely view of the mountains. The lighting was a bit dim for reading but otherwise we had no complaints at all.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michele B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Two years ago, we stayed at this hotel ; it was summer, we had a suite with a balcony although overlooking the parking. At the time, we had not looked at the details.
Because it is one of the sole hotel very close to the Orford Art Centre, we recently decided to go back, this time in a Deluxe Plus room at 200$ per night tax included.
Deception! Everything, regarding the design and quality of the hotel, room and furniture is basic. A 3 star hotel would offer more. Even light in the room is minimal; it was very difficult to read. This to reduce costs, we assumed.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Echodularge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We bought the Hiker's Package and were given 3 breakfast vouchers upon arrival. On the third day, I realized my third voucher was missing so I asked the receptionist to re-print one for us. She checked our reservation in the computer, said no problem, and printed us a new one. We ate breakfast.

Thirty minutes later, it was time to check out. The same receptionist who had just re-printed our voucher says to us: " By the way, I charged you for the breakfast that I just gave you a voucher for, you were not supposed to have a third voucher in the first place." "My colleague made a mistake by giving you three vouchers when you arrived, you were only supposed to have two, so I'm charging you for the breakfast." There was no mention of this 30 minutes earlier when she happily re-printed our voucher. I complained that if in fact this was an error, it is the hotel's error, not the guests'. She said that if i wanted to get my money back I'd have to speak directly with the receptionist who greeted us on our first day who would be working 4 days later! In short, this woman printed us a voucher for a free meal, then charged us for the meal.

I don't know which employee was correct, whether the Hiker's pack includes two vouchers or three, all I know is that Auberge 4 saisons d'Orford charges guests for the mistakes and confusion of its own staff. So low this kind of dishonesty. This useless little swindle ruined our stay. I don't appreciate doing business with dishonest people. Stay far away from Auberge 4 Saisons d'Orford.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank vanmont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrée-Anne B, Gérant at Espace 4 Saisons, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Customer,

We strongly believe there was a miscommunication, and we are sorry this situation ruined your vacation. The Auberge aux 4 Saisons d'Orford is doing business with 100% respect and honesty towards its customers, since day 1. We do not charge our guests for mistakes our staff encountered. The management is available to answer any of your question.

We hope your stay was pleasant, as it is our top priority.
Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sleepy Hollow, New York
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Auberge Aux 4 Saisons is in Orford in the Eastern Townships, approximately 5-10 minutes from Magog. The hotel is simple but tasteful, immaculately clean with a very obliging staff. Our room was large, the bed was excellent. The hotel is very quiet. Breakfast was in the Bistro which adjoined the hotel and it was fabulous. Orford is near many lovely small towns, beautiful lake, wonderful hiking, and several gold courses. A quiet, relaxing and overall enjoyable area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ExpertTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stayed for 6 nights on a visit to the Canada Games in Sherbrooke. We booked on a whim, as there was very little available closer to Sherbrooke due to the games. Fantastic choice. Great location at the base of Mont Orford, clean rooms, very friendly staff. Best of all were the two restaurants on site: The Burger Pub with good selection of beers, and superior pub food with an excellent host/ess;and, a more up scale restaurant with fabulous Quebec country food and a great selection of wine. We rented a spacious suite, with a well-equipped kitchen.

The site is very close to various access points to the Route Verte, and we biked several times into Sherbrooke along the trail. There a many other bike routes that can be done in a day, such as to Austin and the Abbey at St. Benoit du Lac - fantastic.

Hotel and restaurant staff were exceptionally welcoming, and easily accommodated my fractured French, mostly converting to their fluent English. I can't think of a single point for improvement. We will definitely be back.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank SpikeNovaScotia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orford
2.1 mi away
Estrimont Suites & Spa
1.7 mi away
Cheribourg Hotel
Cheribourg Hotel
#3 of 7 in Orford
234 reviews
2.1 mi away
Manoir Des Sables
Manoir Des Sables
#5 of 7 in Orford
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Hotel & Spa Etoile-sur-le-Lac
11.9 mi away
Ripplecove Lakefront Hotel and Spa
21.0 mi away
Hotel Chateau-Bromont
Hotel Chateau-Bromont
#1 of 7 in Bromont
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Espace 4 Saisons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Espace 4 Saisons

Property: Espace 4 Saisons
Address: 4940 Chemin du Parc, Orford, Magog, Quebec J1X 7N9, Canada (Formerly Auberge Aux 4 Saisons Orford)
Location: Canada > Quebec > Magog > Orford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Orford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Espace 4 Saisons 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly at the base of Mount Orford and only at 5-minutes drive from Magog, the Espace 4 saisons is the ideal spot for an elegant getaway stay in nature: where pleasure and comfort join forces to enhance your visit. Its warm atmosphere will charm you, its personalized services will respond to all your needs and desires. Inspired by the new Zen trends, all the rooms and suites of the hotel offer a pure and original design and large windows. Everything is designed for your comfort. All of our rooms are equipped with plasma television, coffee maker, cable, access to free wireless Internet services. Some of them are equipped with a kitchenette and a washing/drying machine. You will find on site, a fine restaurant, a pub, a indoor/outdoor pool, a jacuzzi, a cinema room, a gym, many reception rooms, a common area with wooden fireplace-sofas-balcony, a health and beauty care center. Many packages available with activities in Magog area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Espace 4 Saisons reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Aux 4 Saisons Orford Hotel Orford
Espace 4 Saisons Orford, Quebec, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing