We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but not 4 stars”
Review of Manoir Des Sables

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Manoir Des Sables
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Orford
Reviewed March 6, 2011

Good location for skiing at Mt-Orford. We booked an economy room for one night and were pleased by what we got. The room was clean and spacious, breakfast was good but slightly expensive. The decor is not very modern, the tv was small and slightly older.
The walls were thin, so we could hear our neighbours sneezing at times. All in all, we were not disappointed for the price we paid.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jollchan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManoirdesSables, Guest Relations Manager at Manoir Des Sables, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2011

Jollchan,
We would like to thank you for having taken the time to bring us your comments after your recent stay with us.

We were pleased to learn that you found most of our guest services up to your expectations, we appreciated you bringing to our attention your constructive remarks

We hope to be your host in the near future, Manoir des Sables, Hotel & Golf will always be honoured to have you among us.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (321)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 321 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2010

Too expensive for the quality, no more than a 2 star hotel. Make sure you have a confirmation for each day of your stay, because they like to say that the customer is in error on the reservation and are not willing to even try to accommodate you. I was part of a business group with around 200 participant and they accuse me of being the one responsible for not booking 2 nights and informed me that I would have to go elsewhere. Well I can tell you this is the last time I book with a group at any Villegia hotels.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Slem21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2010

We were there this month because another hotel next door was booked. We got the package with two nights, two breakfasts and a 4-course dinner. The room was comfortable and very clean - go for the fireplace and balcony - and it was very quiet. The breakfasts are fine, even if they don't offer anything out of this world. They mostly go for the usual eggs-bacon and a few more interesting choices would be preferable. The 4-course dinner was great with an excellent and friendly service and presented truly good food. We all loved our dinner.
The jaccuzzis outside are nice and they were the reason we went there in the first place. They only open a 9:00 in the morning, which is truly too late and on Sunday, the main tub was luckwarm. Disappointing! They were pretty quiet all weekend, which made us pretty happy. The main indoor pool and gym are small but fine.
It was altogether a nice experience and I would definately go back.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janymontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2009

Were a group of 20 businessmen who reunite once a year to play a round of golf; we have been doing it for nearly 15 years. Every year we choose a different golf course and Manoir des sables was our choice for `09, what a mistake! Although we did have fun playing, around 5hpm, we were all gathered on the patio for beer and cheers, awarding trophees and such, and at one point, we decided to go to the practicing green for a putting duel between 2 players; note that we had already spent over $2,000 that day at the resort, but we were far from being intoxicated, just a bunch of regular dads in their fortys and fifties, all professionals and right minded, having fun. An employee actually came to kick us out because we were too noisy and "disturbed" some people...What, were they napping at 5hpm? It was rainy, golf course was deserted and our business didn`t seem to be appreciated at all! [--], we could have recommanded this place and bring them excellent business with all our contacts reunited, but never mind that! If you are into having clean fun amongst friends after a good round of golf, avoid this place at all costs! We will never be back and never will we recommand this place!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Service
1  Thank Lumberjack63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2009

If you gonna avoid one golf course this year, make sure it's this one.
The course is beautifully located with greens in good condition, but the staff are unfriendly and soooo pretentious, with a efficient talent to make clients feel unwelcome.

There is a professional way of dealing with customers, and they're not doing it.

  • Stayed: August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thevisitorQuebec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2009

I was a bit worried about this hotel as I read the reviews after I made the reservation for our 2 night romantic weekend getaway. Well, I was not disappointed as we had a wonderful weekend. First of all, the service at the front desk was excellent, the breakfast was out of this world, we ate a four service supper at the hotel restaurant on our second night which was just amazing. On our first day, we splurged on a message at the spa, which was fantastic, we spent over an hour snowshoeing on the hotel grounds (you can go cross-country skiing or snowshoeing). They have a number of trails you can follow. After lunch, we spent over four hours in the outdoor finnish sauna and nordic baths, which was just wonderful. We stayed in a regular room which was not too small nor too big. The furniture was nice, the bed was comfortable, however the decor could use a bit "more" of everything. The bathroom was really big and it was OK but it could also use a bit more color, decorations, ect. All in all we had a great stay at this hotel and I strongly recommend it.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Migaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2009

We are so desappointed of our week-end at the Manoir des Sables...The only good thing about it is the region that is beautiful!

We went down there for a late-christmas party with our collegues from work.

The food is nothing exciting, very average...

For one night, it cost us a fortune! And it definitely needs renovations and new friendly staff!

Never again, sorry!

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Suki7678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orford
2.0 mi away
Espace 4 Saisons
Espace 4 Saisons
#1 of 7 in Orford
267 reviews
0.6 mi away
Estrimont Suites & Spa
0.4 mi away
Cheribourg Hotel
Cheribourg Hotel
#4 of 7 in Orford
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hotel & Spa Etoile-sur-le-Lac
0.7 mi away
Hotel du Parc Orford
Hotel du Parc Orford
#6 of 7 in Orford
32 reviews
3.6 mi away
Le Chateau du Lac
Le Chateau du Lac
#8 of 18 in Magog
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manoir Des Sables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manoir Des Sables

Address: 90 Avenue Des Jardins, Rr 2, Orford, Magog, Quebec J1X 6M6, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Magog > Orford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Orford
Price Range: $161 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Manoir Des Sables 3.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Manoir Des Sables reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manoir Des Sables Hotel Orford
Manoir Des Sables Magog
Manoir Des Sables Hotel Magog
Manoir Des Sables Orford, Quebec, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing