We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous, and unfriendly.”
Review of Manoir Des Sables

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Manoir Des Sables
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Orford
Reviewed August 31, 2009

If you gonna avoid one golf course this year, make sure it's this one.
The course is beautifully located with greens in good condition, but the staff are unfriendly and soooo pretentious, with a efficient talent to make clients feel unwelcome.

There is a professional way of dealing with customers, and they're not doing it.

  • Stayed: August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thevisitorQuebec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (323)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 323 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2009

I was a bit worried about this hotel as I read the reviews after I made the reservation for our 2 night romantic weekend getaway. Well, I was not disappointed as we had a wonderful weekend. First of all, the service at the front desk was excellent, the breakfast was out of this world, we ate a four service supper at the hotel restaurant on our second night which was just amazing. On our first day, we splurged on a message at the spa, which was fantastic, we spent over an hour snowshoeing on the hotel grounds (you can go cross-country skiing or snowshoeing). They have a number of trails you can follow. After lunch, we spent over four hours in the outdoor finnish sauna and nordic baths, which was just wonderful. We stayed in a regular room which was not too small nor too big. The furniture was nice, the bed was comfortable, however the decor could use a bit "more" of everything. The bathroom was really big and it was OK but it could also use a bit more color, decorations, ect. All in all we had a great stay at this hotel and I strongly recommend it.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Migaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2009

We are so desappointed of our week-end at the Manoir des Sables...The only good thing about it is the region that is beautiful!

We went down there for a late-christmas party with our collegues from work.

The food is nothing exciting, very average...

For one night, it cost us a fortune! And it definitely needs renovations and new friendly staff!

Never again, sorry!

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Suki7678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2008

Be prepared for the worst gest services. This hotel need a lot of improovement such as new carpet et new beding. You will have a hard time sleeping whit them saging matress. Don't tell any sugestion to front desk people, even management ... you will loosing precious time of your vacation. The destination of Orford was the best choice for outdoor activities and Spa experience nearby. Other Hotel aroud will be our next choice for bether experience. Magog is the city few miles from Orford. Good place for shooping and dining. Golf on site was ok.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TriperMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2008

We stayed two nights in a room with a fireplace overlooking the lake. My initial reaction was total disappointment. The area is much more developed than I had envisioned (was looking for a wilderness feel) and the room can only be described as tasteful and contemporary but uninspiring. The fireplace is located mid-wall in standard rectangular hotel room set-up... not exactly cozy or inviting. The bathroom.... what can I say.... everything worked but it was plain and basic.

However, with a nice glass of wine things improved from there. The amenitites were great for our family... a pool (though nothing special), a tobogganing hill right out back and trails for snowshoeing or skiing. We had lots to keep us busy though we were suprised to find the sleigh rides are no longer offered, and they do not clear the rink very quickly (it was not cleared our entire stay even though there was almost a full day without snow). The fitness room was not busy and I think open 24 hours.

The food was excellent. Portions are just the right size and the wait staff friendly. They were happy to accomodate unusual requests aimed at keeping our toddler content during the meal. Chocolate lovers beware... there is very little choice in desserts and you might find yourself out of luck. (as a side, skip the chocolatier down the street...it's a disappointment)

The front desk staff was efficient but lacking in four star hotel friendiness and helpfulness.

We had a great time but would look for something with more character next time.

  • Stayed: January 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moremanoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2006

If you are looking for a warm welcome, motivated staff and smiling waiters, go somewhere else. Everything about this hotel is cold. It is decorated with pretentious colors. The rooms are ordinary. Had problems with frontdesk staff at check out because they tried to charge me 50$ more per night than what was confirmed at reservation.

Won't go there again...

  • Stayed: May 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Ribowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Burlington
1
Reviewed March 27, 2006

We stayed there for a week end and it was incredible. The food and service were excellent, the view from our room !!!!! incredible

We will be back for sure for the golf season!

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orford
2 mi away
Espace 4 Saisons
Espace 4 Saisons
#1 of 7 in Orford
269 reviews
0.6 mi away
Estrimont Suites & Spa
0.4 mi away
Cheribourg Hotel
Cheribourg Hotel
#3 of 7 in Orford
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Hotel & Spa Etoile-sur-le-Lac
0.7 mi away
Hotel du Parc Orford
Hotel du Parc Orford
#6 of 7 in Orford
32 reviews
23.1 mi away
Hotel Chateau-Bromont
Hotel Chateau-Bromont
#1 of 7 in Bromont
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manoir Des Sables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manoir Des Sables

Address: 90 Avenue Des Jardins, Rr 2, Orford, Magog, Quebec J1X 6M6, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Magog > Orford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Orford
Price Range: $158 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Manoir Des Sables 3.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Manoir Des Sables reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manoir Des Sables Hotel Orford
Manoir Des Sables Magog
Manoir Des Sables Hotel Magog
Manoir Des Sables Orford, Quebec, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing