We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not over the top”
Review of Manoir Des Sables

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Manoir Des Sables
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Orford
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Very nice location, the views are great. Lobby is modern as the rooms are. All is quite clean, even the pool and spa which were very nice to enjoy in the winter. The welcoming staff was kind of cold...even through the stay, questions were answered very rapidly. No room service. No little fridge in the room so we had to pay for one. I would go back if I couldn't find anything else....

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 80isabelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelsVillegia, Public Relations Manager at Manoir Des Sables, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Mrs. Isabelle,

Thank you for taking the time to offer us your feedback.

We are very pleased that you enjoyed our facilities.

We appreciate your comments concerning your disappointment with our staff. It is very important to us that our customers receive exceptional service and we will inform our staff on the issues you expressed in order to continue to improve our quality of service.

Concerning the refrigerators, our goal is to provide one in each of our rooms by 2015.

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (328)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 328 reviews

Reviewed December 27, 2013

Our experience at the Manoir was very bad. The room we took was deluxe, but it was very plain and the beds were old and uncomfortable. The fire alarm started at 3 am, and we had to call as no one was staying at the reception desk (we were nearly alone in the hotel at that time of the year). It tool about an hour to resolve the issue - a heater started in a nearby room and some dust burned out. In the morning we tried to talk to the manager, no avail. We filed a formal complaint as we were promised a quick response, but we never got a reply back. Customer service was very poor.

Room Tip: Get another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RonMcPoisson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Stayed here for two days on a corporate retreat. Nice hotel, friendly staff.


Rooms and bathroom need to be renovated but everything was clean. The beds and pillows were great and I slept like a dream.

Restaurant provided buffet meals that were very good, great service.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucannus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

From outside, the hotel is pretty nice and well located between Magog downtown and the mountain (Orford). The lobby is not bad. The rooms are good size however in need of renovation! It is an expensive room for what you get!

The service at lobby is professionnal but not so friendly. A smile won't hurt :) There is no valet so it is self service to unload your car at take the trolley to your room (something i have never seen in a hotel!).

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We spent one night, had a great 4 service dinner and a very good buffet breakfast. It is a great location and we thought the service was very very good, each employee we met had a big smile and greeted us. The room was ok, getting old. Overall, a great stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vannat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Stopped on my way through Quebec for 9-holes. The course was in very good condition. It is an 18-hole course par-71. It plays 6,352 yards from the longest tees. There is both water and sand on the course. If in the Magog area a course worth playing.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Chipperhigh2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

The hotel appeared to be nice upon arrival. We had a friendly check in, the room seemed to be clean enough although a little dated. Since we were part of a group the hotel demanded full payment at check in, which didn't really bother me too much, But after they were paid I feel that the service took a dark turn. The front desk was less friendly and extremely unhelpful.
Our group gathered together on the deck near the bar area and we were told to move to the patio area not to disturb the customers atnthe bar, the patio was near a wooded area, had no lighting and was buggy. There were tiki tour he's but the staff said they wouldn't light them.
The beds were terrible, my husband and I fell to the center immediately. We were charged for every person in the room (4) but only got 3 clean towels. Everyone in our group complained of slow draining sinks and showers.
The spa pools were really nice, when we went in the spa pool it was best hour of our stay. The views were also great. But
Our group rate was supposed to be $160 per night, we ended up paying $200 because of the per person charges, I don't find it relaxing to be nickel and dimed when i am trying to get away. I felt very taken advantaged of while on this weekend.
If we return to this area next year, I will probably look for a different hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wdwguys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orford
2 mi away
Espace 4 Saisons
Espace 4 Saisons
#1 of 7 in Orford
291 reviews
0.6 mi away
Estrimont Suites & Spa
0.4 mi away
Cheribourg Hotel
Cheribourg Hotel
#4 of 7 in Orford
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Hotel & Spa Etoile-sur-le-Lac
9 mi away
Manoir Hovey
Manoir Hovey
#1 of 1 in North Hatley
1,245 reviews
6.3 mi away
Jouvence, Centre de Villegiature
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manoir Des Sables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manoir Des Sables

Address: 90 Avenue Des Jardins, Rr 2, Orford, Magog, Quebec J1X 6M6, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Magog > Orford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Orford
Price Range: $161 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Manoir Des Sables 3.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Manoir Des Sables reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manoir Des Sables Hotel Orford
Manoir Des Sables Magog
Manoir Des Sables Hotel Magog
Manoir Des Sables Orford, Quebec, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing