We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Manoir Des Sables
Nearby Hotels
Espace 4 Saisons(Orford)(Great Value!)
$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$112
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$54
$52
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$222
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Motel De La Pente Douce(Magog)(Great Value!)
$53
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$55
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (333)
Filter reviews
333 results
Traveler rating
80
120
74
35
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
80
120
74
35
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdeluxe roompro shoppedal boatingsnow shoesvery nice hotelcomfortable roomssalmonenjoyed our staypleasant stayour waitercleaning staffcourse dinnerbeautiful viewhot tublakespaskiing
Filter
Updating list...
75 - 80 of 333 reviews
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We spent 2 nights here recently. Hotel was very nice. Room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was fantastic! Boating on the lake was free, as was renting bikes. There were trail rides available very close to the hotel. It was a wonderful, relaxing experience. Wish we had stayed longer!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KTFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We visited for a long 3 night weekend and generally enjoyed our stay.

Plus sides in the hotel

Multiple pools - non really big enough for real exercise, but the main outside and inside pools have 2-3m deep ends and are cold enough for light exercise. Also there's a beautiful outside spa pool set amid flowers next to a plunge pool for cooling down.

We found the two bars complemented each other well - the 'le pub' being well set up with a good selection of liquors and a rude waiter, while the golf bar was much more down to earth with regular beers, nachos and a terrace.

Staff were all very friendly and helpful and the place was generally kept very clean.

Beds were very comfortable and the TVs/channels were great. Free wi-fi had surprisingly good bandwidth ~1Mbit/s for a hotel.

We had a room with fridge/microwave/sink which we found very useful being a bit of a distance from nearby towns.

The views from the hotel are generally very good, either over the hotel's small lake or looking towards mount orford. Those rooms with balconies have generous balconies that are great for relaxing on.

Plus sides around the hotel

Closeness to Orford parc for walking, biking etc

Some nice local restaurants eg le four a bois (http://www.lefouraboisdorford.com/) and several well equipped Deps within walking distance.

Overall a great spot for a quiet getaway and I assume some golf (we didn't try the golf).

Lots of wildlife in the area, many birds species around the hotel, groundhogs in the grounds and frogs in the lakes (and one in the pool).

Down sides of the hotel (all relatively minor)

The pools don't open until 9am - a slight niggle for those of us looking for a dip before heading out early. Also we were told there were complementary bicycles but these were mostly old and rusty junkers - we regretted not bringing our own bikes as there was nowhere else nearby to rent bikes.

The AC in our room was about as loud as a pneumatic drill (we couldn't hear the TV over it). After the first night of being kept awake, and the second night of getting very warm, we found keeping the door open to the balcony with the screen closed was the only real option.

While I like the idea of fires in the room, our room smelled of smoke as did several corridors - I imagine the opening and closing of the vents to the fires sometimes goes awry.

We used booking.com (because google maps links to this website rather than the hotel's booking page) which may not be related to the positioning of the room that was one of the few that looked primarily onto another wing of the hotel and a trash dump - only about half the view was of the lake.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms near the spa-wing as these overlook the hotel rather than the lake/mountain.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank macdbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

With Mount Orford providing the backdrop, this hotel holds a commanding position in extensive grounds. They provide the opportunity to play golf, tennis, skiing, walking and sightseeing in the beautiful town of Magog and the rest of the Eastern Townships. We had a junior suite which was tastefully furnished with a real fire between the bedroom and living room that completed the sense of comfort and homeliness. The balcony viewed the mountain. Food was superb, as too was the friendliness of the staff and patrons in the bar area. Perfectly bilingual, the staff welcomed us in both languages. Though we did not use the spa we did visit the facilities and the outside hot tubs looked very tempting.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drjohnlawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Just one night...our first night togheter! All is perfect! I never seen a hotel so romantic like that!!! The view was spectacular and the room incredibly clean and delicate! (I'm Italian, my wife is québécois) but we appreciated the breakfast in every part! Service is extremely professional! The last thing: the fireplace...unforgettable!

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank gioeleilliano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

A visit at the Manoir after quite a long time at this old timer under new management certainly shows impressive improvement with regards to its service and food (I had a table d'hôte with an exquisite scallop appetizer, sweet corn potage, beef filet and fruit salad), which were both a notch well above!
The rooms however, although they enjoy envious size and view of the lake if you have one with an uneven number, their mattresses are overly soft and they are in dire need of more maintenance and cleaning, with extremely noisy & dirty non-hygienic heating units and bathroom fans, and remaining stains on bed sheets, bathroom floor and door (supposedly after cleaning)!
I unfortunately cannot say anything about the spa on this visit since I did not have the time to go but the pool had a rather strong chlorine smell.
So, overall, congrats on the vast improvement but still a ways to go in the rooms...

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chosoleil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews