We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Exciting, cosy birthday weekend away with some...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Tullochgorum Lodge

Beautiful granite-built lodge in half an acre of south facing grounds.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Beautiful granite-built lodge in half an acre of south facing grounds.
Fully equipped dining kitchen with granite worktop. 3 good sized double bedrooms with Egyptian cotton sheets.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
52 reviews
Beautiful granite-built lodge in half an acre of south facing grounds.
Fully equipped dining kitchen with granite worktop.
3 good sized double bedrooms with Egyptian cotton sheets.
Outdoor hot tub for 6 positioned to maximise the amazing views.
Driveway into lodge.
Dining area of kitchen.
South and west facing sunroom.
Upstairs bathroom her WC, wash hand basin, bath and walk-in shower.
Downstairs bathroom has WC, wash hand basin and walk-in shower.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Boat of Garten, Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 52 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Hannah G
1 review
“Exciting, cosy birthday weekend away with some close friends”
Reviewed January 31, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

So I went away for my 21st Birthday with 6 of my close friends, it was an amazing time!!

We had an unforgettable experience! On the first night we arrived, unpacked and got in the hot tub. It was about -3degrees but once you sit in the hot tube you forget all about it. After that we played some board games that were found in the cottage and watched some films.

The second day we got up early and went up the funicular, it is about a 25 minute drive by car so its not too far away! We had some lunch at the top in the cafe then came back down. The price for a student was £10.50 for the day. After that we went to the Rothmurchus outdoor centre where we went quad biking. I strongly recomend the activities here. The staff are great and enthusiastic and the prices are reasonable for what you get from it. I thought that during winter all activities would be cancelled due to weather but they still had quad biking, tree zone, horse riding and seaways etc.

The cottage is perfectly designed and comfortably fits 6 people. The beds are so comfortable and the house is perminantly warm which was exactly what we needed after coming in from the cold! The cottage is modern and has lots of storage for food, the views are astonishing and the area is so secluded you can play music as loud as you want! If you are going to arrive at the cottage after darkness it can be a little hard to find! Thats what we did and we got a little lost but the directions that Justine supplied were very helpful and we were quickly back on track to arriving on time.

There are plenty places to eat out for food and drink! Being my 21st we went to the nightclub in Aviemore called the vault. It was busy and the taxi fair was £24 each way. Between the 6 of us the taxi was only £4 each, the taxi company new exactly where we were and they took us home at the end of the night too.

The cottage was a very homely environment and Justine was extremely helpful with everything! I have already booked to go back for a week in summer.

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 1, 2016
Thank you for your review Hannah and congratulations on your 21st birthday. Yes the area has something to offer everyone, whatever the time of year and whatever your age. I think that is why it is such a popular place, along with the beautiful mountains of course. One nice thing to do when you come back this summer is to feed the reindeer herd. You depart on a lovely walk from the reindeer centre up the hill to the wild herd. They are lovely animals and eat from your hand providing a great experience. Have a go at Tree Zone as well it is challenging and really fun on the flying fox at the end. I am glad you liked the lodge as well, the log fires and Rayburn cooker really make it lovely and cosy. I am delighted you have decided to come back this summer and am sure you will get to eat outside as we did this year. The front if the house is a real sun trap as it faces south. Looking forward to your return visit. Justine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn H
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“The Most Incredible House with the Most Incredible Views”
Reviewed January 11, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

This place is prefect. My husband and I arrived on the 27th December and spent a week here with four other family members. The owners had been using the house on Christmas day and left their gorgeous decorations up for us to enjoy. What I love most about this house is the space. Three well sized bedrooms, two bathrooms and lots of places to relax when everyone wants their own space. Not to mention the hot tub which made enjoying the incredible views of the Cairngorms even better. I would definitely recommend this place and would love to stay again.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 13, 2016
Hi there Lynn, Thank you so much for your review. Yes we also find the living areas great for either enjoying the views in the sun room, being all cosy in the sung with a roaring fire and book or being all together in the kitchen or sitting room. There is always a nice spot in the house away from it all. We are so glad you had a great time and hope you return really soon. Kind regards Justine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon144...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“FANTASTIC TRIP”
Reviewed December 12, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

My husband and I stayed at the Tullochgorum lodge for our wedding anniversary. We had a fantastic time! The location was lovely and the lodge was beautiful. We will be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 13, 2015
We are delighted you had a great time. It is indeed a romantic place to to celebrate an anniversary, peaceful and private. We look forward to your return. Kind regards Justine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise M
Penicuik, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous lodge, great location.”
Reviewed December 2, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

OMG! We arrived in the afternoon in time to see a beautiful sunset over the Cairngorms and the river Spey while we rested up in the hot tub. What a way to start a great weekend of birthday celebrations. The lodge is well equipped and beautifully furnished. We gave it an even more farmhouse feel by baking bread and making a birthday cake. Plenty of room for everyone. Although we didn't travel far it is a great location to see the highlands.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 3, 2015
Thank you so much Denise for your kind words. The views truly make the lodge a very special place indeed. We are delighted you liked the farmhouse feel of the lodge had a good time there. Kind regards Justine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sengaSQ
Edinburgh
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“I will definately be back!!!”
Reviewed September 21, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We have just spent 5 lovely days at Tullochgorum Lodge. The lodge is amazing, as soon as you open the door you feel welcome. The owners have thought of everything and the standard in the lodge is of the highest quality. The lodge is beautiful inside and, as we had exceptional weather, we didn't need the fire (we need to go back in the winter to get the full effect). Whilst we were there we saw beautiful calves, were visited by a stoat, hare and a baby robin. It was a lovely to have your tea outside in the morning never sure what you were going to see. The surrounding views are amazing and for the golfers the choice of Golf Clubs was fantastic. We travelled around whilst the men golfed and the lodge made a great base for both. The fantastic weather meant we could bask in the sunshine whilst watching the canoes go up and down the River Spey. We would not hesitate to book the lodge again and cant wait to go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything was of a very high standard, we could not fault anything
Liked least: There was nothing to find fault with, even the weather was great
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 21, 2015
Thanks very much for your kind review. Great to hear from a mixed golfing, wildlife spotting, sunbathing party :-) and delighted that everyone enjoyed it. Wildlife reports are very helpful as lots of potential guests ask about the animals that visit so we'll need to start keeping a log. Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lesdav11
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Total bliss”
Reviewed September 7, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Just back from spending a long weekend at Tullochgorum Lodge. The lodge is really a home from home, the minute you walk through the door you feel at home. It has everything you can think of and more and has been so well thought about. The lodge is beautiful inside and very cosy at night, the decor and equipment is of a very high standard, heating warms the lodge up very quickly. The road to the lodge is a working farm road and does need to be taken slowly. We had the privilege of being there as the cows were calving it was a lovely sight to see them finding their feet in a morning when outside. The view is spectacular and a great base to travel and visit the surrounding area. The weather allowed us to sit outside and take in the river spey which runs at the bottom of the field and the hills in the distance. If we ever return up north to visit we would not hesitate to book the lodge again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location of the lodge.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 7, 2015
Many thanks for your review. It's so great to hear that other people love the place as much as we do. We have tried to think of everything that guests might need to make their holiday as comfortable, relaxing and stress-free as possible. A home from home is exactly what we're trying to achieve, albeit one with a particularly great view and a hot tub. Thanks again and best wishes, Justine.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAROLYN B
Bathgate, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing holiday home A *****!!”
Reviewed August 23, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Tullochgorum in August 2015. I was blown away not only by the lodge but also it's incredible location! The lodge sleeps 6 comfortably and everything you could possibly need whilst you stay there was thought of, it's beautifully decorated and furnished to a very high standard. We were travelling with a baby so the cot and high chair which were included were a godsend, my 8 month old son loved being at the dinner table in the clip-on high chair! The gardens surrounding the lodge are just beautiful, completely enclosed, and would make an amazing space for young children to play safely and freely! And not forgetting the hot tub! WOW! Overlooking the beautiful countryside with the Cairngorm mountains in the background, there are deer to be spotted (we saw them almost every night from the hot tub) and due the the fact there are no street lights around, shooting stars are easily spotted! Tullochgorum is definitely the most beautiful and relaxing place I have ever had the pleasure of staying at! Big thumbs up! :)....Oh and to keep the teenagers happy there is WiFi too! :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 24, 2015
Thanks so much for your kind review. Our aim is for everyone who visits to have a great holiday experience so it's a real thrill to hear that you all had such a great time and had everything you needed. Thanks again for taking the time to leave your review and please come back soon. Remember that returning customers get a 10% discount.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing