We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“great digs”
other travelers have booked this property
The Spey
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Spey
The Spey Steam Railway
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
21 reviews
The Spey
The Spey
Steam Railway
Caravan
Lounge area
Dining
Kitchen
Double Room
Kitchen
Ensuite
Bathroom/Shower
Twin room 1
Twin room 2
For the Skiers
Cycling by Loch Garten
The Steam Railway
Boat of Garten
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Caravan/mobile home -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Boat of Garten, Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
william p
Coatbridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great digs”
Reviewed August 31, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

very clean exellant property location great amenities great no faults good parking good shop and pub

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 1, 2016
Thank you for the review hope to see you again in the future.
Alan and Judy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 18, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Aug 29, 2016
Thank you for this informative opinion. We were on holiday ourselves and the reply slipped our minds.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
jules2219...
Mauchline
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Not many basic essentials and needed a good vaccuum”
Reviewed June 13, 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This is a static caravan. Nicely decorated. Plain colours. The kitchen however had only 2 utensils and no other basics such as salt/pepper, cleaning products or even loo roll. There was half a loo roll in each toilet. Not great for a weeks stay with the four of us staying! The rooms at the back was freezing, nothing we did could heat it so in the end we all slept elsewhere. We decided to vacuum after we arrived (we have a crawling baby) but the vacuum itself was completely useless so we borrowed one from reception. I have to be honest and say that we won't be back. For a little more we could have had a cottage. Not very impressed and we didn't feel this was good value for money at all.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 13, 2016
Thank you for your constructive criticism. It alerted us to the fact that matters were not as they should be. We spoke to the cleaner who was usually very good. We have now engaged a cleaner exclusive to our caravan so that she can devote sufficient time and attention to it. This will ensure that bathroom supplies are replenished. The vacuum cleaner has been replaced also.

With regard to the kitchen utensils, a full set had been provided so it seems that previous guests have seen fit to take our property. One guest even removed all the batteries from the smoke alarms. The cleaner has instructions to do a "comprehensive" check before any deposits are returned in future.

Kitchen basic supplies are a courtesy and one cannot guarantee that the previous guest will leave these behind. When we visited the caravan last, we spent time and money in order to ensure that it was presented nicely and that everything was in working order.

With regard to heating, if you had mentioned this to the Park Office, they would have turned up the boiler for you. I assure you that the caravan is warm even in the depths of winter. We stayed there with 8 inches of snow on the ground.

I am truly sorry that your stay was disappointing. We have put measures in place to deal with the problems encountered. We appreciate honest feedback as it enables us to give the best service possible.

Yours sincerely,

Judy & Alan Hepburn.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark E
Apeldoorn, The Netherlands
1 review
“Very well maintained and situated in a beautiful area.”
Reviewed August 24, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We had a great time during our visit with many activities to do in the surrounding area. The property was very well maintained - looked almost new - and had everything you require for a good family holiday ! A second toilet is also a bonus when you have young children !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful scenery
Liked least: the rain
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 25, 2015
Thank you for the review and we are glad you enjoyed your holiday.
We hope you want to return again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig S
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great base for Cairngorm visit”
Reviewed August 4, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Just back from a great visit to the cairngorms staying at Boat of Garten Holiday Park in caravan 49. We used it as a base for visiting the aviemore and surrounding area as well as going to the Gentlemen of the Road festival in Rothiemurchus.

The caravan is a great, compact holiday home with all required amenities (as per another review it doesn't have Wi-Fi, but sometimes nice to get away from that - we did have phones on EE, Vodafone and O2 and got a good signal on EE, moderate on O2 and none on Vodafone at the caravan). Caravan was perfect for myself, wife, 2 young children and 2 grandparents as well.

Was fully as advertised on tripadvisor and would certainly consider this accommodation if travelling to the cairngorm area in future.

We visited the mountain railway, steam railway, Landmark centre, Wildlife Park, Highland Folk Museum as well as 2 evenings at the GOTR festival which were all within a 20 minute drive of the Caravan.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great location for touring cairngorm area and great value for main holiday season.
Liked least: Nothing.
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 5, 2015
Thank you very much for your great review, glad you enjoyed the holiday.
Hope you feel like coming back again.
Judy and Alan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain W
1 review
“Nice, quiet site set in beautiful surroundings”
Reviewed July 24, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

The caravan was very clean and set in a quiet caravan park only 10 mins from Aviemore , 5 mins from Landmark centre which is great for a day outt.My only small gripe was with two teenagers there was no acces to wifi in caravan but there is at caravan site cafe!

Traveling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 25, 2015
Thank you for your honest review. It can be annoying to be without internet within the caravan park. However, as you say, it is available at the café on site.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lynn-Pr55
Dumfries and Galloway, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fab place to stay”
Reviewed July 14, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Just back from short break at Boat of Garten, accommodation clean and tidy a great home from home experience. The area is good as well just five minutes from Aviemore I am sure we will be back very soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 5, 2015
Thank you for the review, we are glad you enjoyed your holiday.
Hope to see you again next year.
Judy and Alan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing