We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Mr”
other travelers have booked this property
Balvattan Farmhouse front view
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Balvattan Farmhouse front view
Large dinning kitchen looking towards kitchen end. Kitchen viewed from dinning area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
Balvattan Farmhouse front view
Large dinning kitchen looking towards kitchen end.
Kitchen viewed from dinning area
Dining table set for Christmas (seats 10)
Back garden with summer house looking towards back patio
Pheasant in the garden
Enclosed back garden.  View from dinning table.
Lounge, just off the kitchen with log burning stove.
Log burning stove in Lounge.
Upstairs Family bathroom with bath and shower
Master Bedroom
Couch in Master Bedroom
Upstairs shower room
Upstairs shower room
Bedroom 2 with bunk beds and a single bed
Bedroom three with King size bed
Bedroom 4
Bedroom 5 downstairs with ensuite shower room.
Stairs to upper landing
Downstairs bathroom with walk in shower
Balvattan in the snowy winter of 2010
Winter view over nearby Loch Morlich
Nearby off road cycling
View from house over surrounding hay field harvest towards Cairngorm Mountains.
Carrbridge nearby where Landmark is located.
Winter view looking towards the Cairngorms
Winter sunrise.
Strathspey steam railway - you can see the trains from the front garden running along the railway.
Cows in the next field.
Back garden with surrounding fields and walks up to the woods.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Boat of Garten, Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
James M
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mr”
Reviewed April 9, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

5 adults, 4 children and a dog stayed here the first week in April.
Cannot fault the property at all. Really well stocked kitchen, all bedrooms clean and roomy. Great showers and the log burner was in action every day and it certainly gave out some heat!
We took bikes and made use of the storage shed outside.
We had snow and spent hours in the large garden building a snowman and an igloo!
Lots of books, DVDs in the house and great wifi coverage overall.
Would highly recommend and would definitely look to book again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 13, 2018
Delighted to hear you all had a great time inside the house and outside in the snow. We would love to welcome you back in the future. Many thanks for all your kind words. Best wishes Jacqui
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shiobban
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect home from home”
Reviewed February 7, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

We stayed here for a long weekend, 10 in total ,6 adults 4 kids and a dog, the house was so spacious and catered for all needs.. we loved the log fire and all the space outside for the kids and dog to run around... we will defo be back

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 20, 2018
Delighted to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay at Balvattan Farmhouse. We would be delighted to welcome you back. Kind regards Jacqui
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weimiemom...
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed December 9, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Stunning house, well equipped. Loved it, amazing views, friendly locals. Felt like home. Dog friendly. Superb location.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 10, 2017
Thank you very much for your kind review. We hope to see you enjoying the views again soon. Best wishes Jacqui
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Oct 8, 2017
Many thanks for your kind review. We use the house ourselves so have tried to ensure that beds/pillows are all comfortable and the house is well equipped to hopefully make sure you have a great trip. Hope you will come back and stay again. Best wishes Jacqui
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Alex K
1 review
“Great family house and garden”
Reviewed August 6, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Situated halfway between Aviemore and Grantown on Spey this is an ideal location for the attractions of Speyside. We numbered 10 with 4 kids and this house was perfect for our needs. The children loved chasing around the garden (remember to take a ball). The house itself is very well equipped and comfortable. Great kitchen area. We would have no hesitation in going back and would recommend the property to anyone looking to holiday with a large group.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 7, 2017
Thank you for your kind review and hope to see you back some day. Kind regards Jacqui
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lovek75
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed July 21, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We stayed here for 2 nights in May with family and it was just fantastic.
The house is beautiful and has every amenity you could need. The kitchen is amazing and the dining area is lovely, looking into the beautifully maintained garden. The views from each room are lovely. There is also a games room at the far end of the garden which the kids loved.
The location is great too, only a short drive to Aviemore.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 22, 2017
Many thanks for you very kind review, which will be really informative for future guests. Thank you very much for taking the time to write it and hope to see you back again at Balvattan Farmhouse. Kind regards Jacqui
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“A wonderful weekend”
Reviewed May 12, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We booked this house for ten of us who were attending a family party in the area. The house is beautiful with amazing views. Our grandchildren were fascinated by the wildlife they could see from the sitting room and they enjoyed the garden and games shed too. We were amazed at how well the house was equipped and how clean and well serviced it was. We would thoroughly recommend this house for a relaxing, comfortable break.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 16, 2017
Many thanks for your kind review. It seems you have had a very memorable time with your grandchildren. It is a great house to spend time with family in. We hope you will consider coming again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;