We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“5* quality in a stunning setting”
other travelers have booked this property
Balvattan Farmhouse front view
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Balvattan Farmhouse front view
Large dinning kitchen looking towards kitchen end. Kitchen viewed from dinning area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
Balvattan Farmhouse front view
Large dinning kitchen looking towards kitchen end.
Kitchen viewed from dinning area
Dining table set for Christmas (seats 10)
Back garden with summer house looking towards back patio
Pheasant in the garden
Enclosed back garden.  View from dinning table.
Lounge, just off the kitchen with log burning stove.
Log burning stove in Lounge.
Upstairs Family bathroom with bath and shower
Master Bedroom
Couch in Master Bedroom
Upstairs shower room
Upstairs shower room
Bedroom 2 with bunk beds and a single bed
Bedroom three with King size bed
Bedroom 4
Bedroom 5 downstairs with ensuite shower room.
Stairs to upper landing
Downstairs bathroom with walk in shower
Balvattan in the snowy winter of 2010
Winter view over nearby Loch Morlich
Nearby off road cycling
View from house over surrounding hay field harvest towards Cairngorm Mountains.
Carrbridge nearby where Landmark is located.
Winter view looking towards the Cairngorms
Winter sunrise.
Strathspey steam railway - you can see the trains from the front garden running along the railway.
Cows in the next field.
Back garden with surrounding fields and walks up to the woods.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Boat of Garten, Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Susie G
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“5* quality in a stunning setting”
Reviewed October 9, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

This was my first visit to Balvattan Farmhouse and I will definitely be back. The owners have obviously put a great deal of time, thought and expense into renovating and furnishing their property which sleeps ten easily with plenty of room for all. The modern, state of the art kitchen has every conceivable gadget and the lounges and bedrooms offer first class comfort with stunning views over the Cairngorms, the local wild-life adding to the ambience of the place. I woke on the first morning to find a roe deer outside my window! I would recommend Balvattan to anyone wishing to spend time with family and/or friends in this part of the Scottish Highlands as it offers 5* quality at a 3* price. What more could we want?

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The quality and comfort of the accommodation
Liked least: Having to leave!!!
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 10, 2015
Thank you for your kind review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay at Balvattan and was rewarded with good weather and wildlife. Hope to have you stay again soon. Kind regards Jacqui
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 21, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was just a lovely cottage!
Liked least: nothing really!
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Oct 1, 2015
Thank you very much for your kind review! Hope to see you back again some time. Best wishes Jacqui
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 12, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Sep 15, 2015
Thank you for your kind comments. So glad you enjoyed your stay and had good weather!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
BigGeordi...
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
“Great House”
Reviewed August 28, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

This is the most well equipped property that we have stayed in - we've stayed in many over the years both in the UK and abroad. We had a party of 8 staying plus my brother & 3 kids came up to see us. No problem with plates, cutlery, pans etc... tons of them.

The house itself is spacious. The back room downstairs has an additional sofa bed and en-suite bathroom so it could probably house 10 no problem.

Grounds are lovely... including a summer house and games room - which the kids took full advantage of when I stopped them playing on the WII and their phones!

Ok it's a trek to take the bins down & back to the end of the road but not really a problem :o)

The wood burning stove in the living room was great (my wife is Chinese and suffers from the cold - even when I think it's hot!).

Supermarkets and restaurants handy in Aviemore and Grantown.

Weather was really good. In fact maybe too hot the day we went to the Grantown Highland Games but we coped!

All in all I'm struggling to find any faults at all ;o) Oh I know... the kids complained that they didn't see the Loch Ness Monster (even though we searched for it)!!

Wonderful holiday!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Shopping (but that's not just here that's anywhere!)
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 30, 2015
Thank you very much for your kind review. We do however limit our guests to 8 for insurance reasons and do not allow guests to use the bed sofa.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great house...perfect for a weekend away with friends!”
Reviewed June 24, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Stayed in the house for a weekend away with friends for another friends wedding. House was great, very comfortable and a lot bigger than it looks. Had everything we wanted and more. Jacqui, the owner, was lovely, very helpful and tried her very best to answer any questions or deal with any issues that we had, would definitely go back!!

Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 24, 2015
Thank you very, very much for your kind review. I am delighted that you would consider returning and can only hope that on your return you have an even better time!!!!!!!! Hope the wedding went well! Many, many thanks Jacqui
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed May 27, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
May 28, 2015
Delighted you had a lovely golfing trip and hope to have you come and stay again. Many thanks for your kind review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed May 20, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: combination of location and comfort
Liked least: early morning light came in through curtains though these have now been replaced by blackout curtains i believe
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
May 21, 2015
Thank you very much for your kind review. I'm so glad you found our house comfortable and delighted you enjoyed all the local golf courses which are all very close by.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing