We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderfull Lunch” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Boat Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Boat Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Boat of Garten
North Wales
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderfull Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2011

Stopped there for lunch on 10/03/2011 and with the fire roaring and the snow coming down outside the view framed by the big picture windows was wonderfull. My wife and I both had two starters and the scallops were cooked to perfection and then the carpaccio of Venison was also fantastic. To add to the quality of the food the waiting staff really helped to ensure that it was an excellent lunch.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PandNorthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    411
    405
    209
    123
    59
See reviews for
175
749
25
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2011

Stayed in hotel for 6 nights in Feb 2011 on B&B rate. The place a bit overpriced as the bathrooms needed updating and the two we were offered were not suitable for elderley guests, the shower in one bathroom was too high to step into and out of safely, and in the second one it only had a bath which is no use for elderley guests. That is the only complaint we had as the staff and service at the hotel was excellent! The best!! The breakfast was very very good.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VAL061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2011

The Boat is a great hotel in a lovely setting. Every member of staff we dealt with provided excellent service. The food was really nice (both breakfast and dinner). There are lots of nice corners to curl up and read a book in front of a real fire. The only downside was a small bedroom which is rather faded and in need of a lick of paint and some TLC. It was, however, clean and comfortable and I would be happy to come back for a relaxing weekend again.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ronacame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2011

stayed at the boat for the second time, and was not disappointed. we had a garden room with our own decking area and lovely views. only comment would be our 15 year old son was on a fold down bed, but as it was just for one night it was ok (a longer stay and we would have had a few moans from him). check in was quick and we found our way to the garden wing eventually. we ate in the bistro at night and the the food was really good. not a great choice for starters but mains made up for it. it was steaks all round for us and they were perfetly done and well presented (not cheap though!). too full to have deserts. the staff were friendly, efficient and attentive. lovely evening. do not miss the full scottish breakfast in the morning...... well worth getting up for.
will definately be back and stay a bit longer next time.
My hubby stated it was the best nights sleep he had had for some time, praise indeed coming from him, as he is a frequent traveller with his job.
well done boat staff, keep it up.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lyndyloo_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2011

We accepted a half price offer through a popular online booking company. The room we booked was an Estate Room. The hotel's website describes the Estate rooms as being bigger and more luxurious than a Classic Room. The room we got could not have been any smaller without becoming a single and although the bathroom was impressive the shower wasn't paricularly clean (not badly cleaned but not ideal). The room contained a sofa chair so bleached by the sun it looked like dust had settled all over it. We upgraded to a Deluxe room which was more contemporary in style, bigger and cleaner. The traditional style of the Estate room we stayed in would have been okay, if it weren't so tired and small. Maybe others are better. Incidentally, the picture on the website used to depict the Classic rooms (of a small table, chair and the side of a bed) appears to be taken from a room with a far higher standard of decor than even an Estate room, the next grade up. This may have lead us to some confusion. In addition, the website makes no specific reference to the Estate rooms as being any more or less 'traditional' than any other room type but the member of staff made a point of this when we spoke about the room (though he was very understanding, kind and professional).

The bar bistro offered pub food and we were offered the early bird menu even though we arrived slightly later than agreed. The standard of food was not as high as I had hoped but then the price was lower than I anticipated too. There are hotels I have stayed in offering far higher standards of food and drink with their two AA rosettes but more expensively. The staff were well turned out, polite and attentive. The whisky selection was very good, with potential for superb (with the help of some independent bottlings), the wine okay. The only exception when it came time to check out (we needed to find the receptionist, not far away at all, but a pet annoyance of mine at around checking out time).

The hotel is a lovely victorian building, the public areas are in good repair, it is situated in a beautiful part of the country near to a marvellous and charming classic railway station. Maybe it was the pricing strategy of the independent online booking agent or the presentation of the website but I expected something different to what I got. Considering the number of rooms and public space available I think this hotel could become a good family hotel offering value for money in its current condition (maybe it is, I don't know).

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MyReviewToo2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JONEDI, Guest Relations Manager at The Boat Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2011
I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your comments and for advising other travellers on your experience.

We value all guest feedback at the Boat Hotel and I am pleased to read you enjoyed our facilities and accommodation in general.

I hope to welcome you back to the Boat Hotel on your next visit to the Cairngorms National Park.

Jon McConnachie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2011

I too can second that this is a fantastic Hogmanay venue. A well-organised package and exceptional value for money considering the top notch food and service it provided throughout the entire weekend. The hotel itself is quaint and set in a small village outside Aviemore. Its next to the steam train station and has lovely walks roundabout. Our room was basic enough but was fairly large and had everything we needed including an iron and board, which you don’t always get these days! Breakfast was great with a wide choice of cooked breakfasts and continental. The Staff were friendly and obliging and we very much enjoyed their company over the weekend. The Boat definitely left an impression with us and we would have no problem recommending it to others.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lalambrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JONEDI, Guest Relations Manager at The Boat Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2011
Thank you so much for posting this feedback which we found extremely useful. Having such detailed and constructive feedback from a customer is so valuable. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed the New Year celebrations with us and I will certainly pass your compliments onto the team.

I hope to welcome you back to The Boat Hotel in the near future.


Kind Regards,

Jon McConnachie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2011

Stayed for three nights over Hogmanay 2010. The cost was 360.00 per person which was competitive for the time of year . The package included 3 nights accommodation and breakfast as well as full evening meal every night .
Champagne reception on the 31st where the bubbly was free flowing , with lots of tasty canapes . Followed by a six course celebration meal . Wine list very good choice and reasonably priced . Danced 2010 away to a great disco playing songs from all eras , all 64 residents having a fabulous time . We were piped into 2011 by a great piper , a really great night . On the 1st the boat organised a late breakfast which was very welcome after a late night . The hotel organised free passes for the Spey steam train , however after a leisurely walk around the village and a spot of lunch in the bar (again great food) we popped into coylumbridge for a look at the art gallery and rothiemurcus estate shop. Booked our evening meal in the restaurant and enjoyed a 5 course meal which was amazingly tasty. The nights entertainment was a ceilidh band who got everyone up on the floor .
Last day involved some great skiing in the caurngorms and yet another large meal back at the boat .

Summary : staff especially deadly Dean , Hungarian mark and the kiwi lass extremely lovely ,looking after our every need .
Rooms really comfy , loved the roll top bath .
Hogmanay package good value for money , would definitely visit again

Thanks To emanuell for looking after us so well .

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jcsandilands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boat of Garten
5.5 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
3.3 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
5.1 mi away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#2 of 11 in Aviemore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
3.3 mi away
Fairwinds Hotel
Fairwinds Hotel
#2 of 3 in Carrbridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
4.8 mi away
Muckrach Country House Hotel
Muckrach Country House Hotel
#1 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boat Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boat Hotel

Property: The Boat Hotel
Address: Deshar Road, Boat of Garten, Aviemore PH24 3BN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Aviemore > Boat of Garten
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Boat of Garten
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Boat Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arriving at The Boat Hotel for the first time can be compared to returning as house guests of a close friend, where needs are anticipated before arrival and the welcome is genuine. Where else can you wear your Hunter wellies at 8am, golf spikes at 3pm and dress up or down for dinner? But while we offer our guests comfort, some luxury and indulgence, this is not a stuffy hotel where you can’t sit on the furniture or let your kids enjoy themselves. Nestled in a tranquil picturesque setting deep within the heart of the Cairngorms National Park, near Aviemore, lies the historic and unique award-winning Boat Hotel & Bistro. Adjacent to the renowned Boat of Garten Golf Club, we boast 2 AA Rosette food and stylish yet relaxing accommodations with exhilarating views. The Boat Hotel is a place where you can relax and enjoy your well deserved leisure time, then put your feet up. Hotel Highlights: * Dining options - 2 AA Rosette Bistro & Bar Dining * Range of guestrooms including king bed, deluxe garden terrace & four poster junior suites * Child friendly hotel near Landmark Forest Adventure Park and kids stay & eat free * Meeting & events facilities for up to 65 * Close to the Cairngorm Ski Resort and adjacent Boat of Garten Golf Club Events Diary. Whether you're looking for an active or relaxing break, an inspirational meeting or private dining venue for your next event, planning a fabulous wedding, looking to indulge in a glass of your favourite tipple by the log fire or simply join us for some of the best food in the Cairngorm National Park. The Boat Hotel & Bistro combines historic charm with modern facilities to provide the leading destination and first choice country retreat hotel in the Aviemore area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Boat Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boat Hotel Of Garten
The Boat Hotel Boat Of Garten, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing