We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WONDERFUL BREAK”
Review of The Boat Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Boat Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Boat of Garten
Reviewed September 6, 2010

We stayed here over the weekend 27 - 30 August. and had a wonderful weekend. The Hotel is excellent, our room was lovely (Estate Room). Very comfortable, with wonderful views. The staff were amazing, so professional and helpful. I'm sure an alarm went off when you reached the bottom step as a member of staff always seemed to appear to see if they could help you. Food was excellent and you had your choice to eat in the dining room if you wanted a quiet meal or in the Bar and soak up the atmosphere. We know this area well having stayed many times nearby but feel this hotel is a great find and hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jdk57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,342)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,229 - 1,235 of 1,342 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2010

My family and I booked two rooms for several days. When we arrived, we learned we were in the "garden wing", which is a modern structure attached to the back of the hotel. The rooms there were ultra modern, and heavily perfumed, as was the tired hallway leading down to them. I was very disappointed and wished the hotel had let me know that that was where they had put us. I loved the dining room(s) however; the food was high quality and the staff very professional.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JLotti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JONEDI, Guest Relations Manager at The Boat Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2010

Thanks for posting your review following your recent stay at The Boat Hotel.

I am sorry that you were disapointed with your stay and bedroom. I note from looking at your details and booking confirmation that you had booked via Booking.com and as my colleagues explained to you, that you had selected online to book a Deluxe King Garden guest room and not an Estate guest room. Naturally we would have done all we could to move you to another room catagory however the evening you you stayed the hotel was fully booked.

I genuinely hope you have not been deterred from visiting again and why not check out our own wbesite and book direct where we assure you of the best rates available at time of booking.

Jon McConnachie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2010

I've been to the Boat Hotel a few times with my husband, but this time I came on my own for some mountain biking. The hotel is in a great location surrounded by amazing scenery with cycle trails right on the doorstep. I was able to cycle to/from Aviemore railway station easily and could keep my bike in the hotel's shed overnight- so no need for a car.

From the moment I arrived at the hotel, I felt very looked after by the friendly attentive staff - even when I arrived back on day 2 covered in mud!

My room was very spacious and beatifully furnished, with a really comfortable bed and the softest pillows I have ever experienced. I just booked a standard room, so the bathroom wasn't as luxurious as the more expensive rooms (over-bath shower with curtain rather than roll-top bath with separate monsoon shower). But still nice and spotlessly clean - and for the price I paid, I'm certainly not complaining. I love the olde worlde feel of the corridoors with creaky floorboards. And even when the bar was full and lively, the rest of the hotel was very peaceful - no problems sleeping.

I had dinner in the Bistro/bar and thought the food was just fabulous. There's a lovely atmosphere in the bar with nice comfy furniture to relax on, and it's easy to mix in with everyone there. Breakfasts here are amazing - there is such a variety of food on offer.

I've booked to come back with my friends already!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheepmadang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JONEDI, Guest Relations Manager at The Boat Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2010

Thanking for posting such a comprehensive review and for choosing The Boat Hotel yet again!

I was very pleased to read your comments regarding the staff that you encountered during your stay. It is always appreciated when one takes the time and trouble to acknowledge good staff. I am also grateful for your comments regarding our food offering and we hope to welcome you back again soon!

Jon McConnachie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2010

Selected this hotel for a one night stop over while touring Scotland. It was our last night and was our worst hotel. The room we were given was light years away from the images on their website. We viewed another room after expressing our disappointment but that was no better. Cobwebs, peeling wallpaper, dud light bulb, one bedside light for a double bed and a general air of down market. The decor and carpets in the upstairs corridors were tatty.

Our opinions were softened by a very good evening meal but the next morning brought more disappointment. We were on holiday and taking a leisurely time to get down to breakfast. We arrived in the restaurant 5 minutes before the cut off time of 9.30am where two members of staff took an inordinate amount of time to seat us and take our order. We were then told that the chef had packed breakfast away. We eventually got some scrambled egg and salmon but it all could have been done so much better.

The hotel did make a grudging adjustment to the bill and have since written to offer a free night at the hotel which we won't be accepting.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 98gunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2010

A great base for a wonderful few days. Very comfortable hotel, friendly and attentive (yet discreet) staff and great food. We splashed out on a junior suite (room 306) which was comfortable and spacious ,lovely and quiet, had great views and gave plenty space for 3 of us to relax. Would recommend the cycle hire from opposite the hotel, and there is also the Speyside railway to link to Aviemore. Plenty of walking and cycling routes and trails from Boat of Garten so a very good base for exploring the whole area whether with or without a car. Our teenage son appreciated the free wifi in the hotel lobby.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BettyJScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JONEDI, Guest Relations Manager at The Boat Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2010

Thanks for a lovely review. We were so pleased to read that you enjoyed all aspect of your stay and that your teenage son had a great time too.

I do hope you come back again soon,

Thanks again

Jon McConnachie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2010

What can I say, this hotel has a fantastic atmosphere that just makes you relax the minute you walk through the front door. The food is amazing, the staff are friendly, and the rooms are tremendously comfortable.

The location of the hotel is great. Just a short distance from the hustle & bustle of Aviemore, and perfectly situated for forest walks, skiing, mountain biking, golf, sailing, or just enjoying a glass of perfectly chilled Sauvignon Blanc.

Have visited several times, and will definately be back.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott_Vance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2010

If you like good food dont be fooled by their claim to two AA rosettes and 3 stars...the food served up for dinner was the worst we have experienced. Also no ambience in the restaurants, no table clothes on our tables and no seperate lounge to relax in after your meal...the bar area was overcrowded and no staff available to help people find seats or remove empty glasses from the tables . The Hotel has changed hands since we last visited and we suspect the new owners are exploiting the old AA status on the internet to attract people but are only interested in getting people through the door. Our room and breakfast were ok but we will never return...dont be fooled by their internet site claims.

Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank rod_ferris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boat of Garten
5.5 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
5.1 mi away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#1 of 11 in Aviemore
808 reviews
3.3 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
3.8 mi away
Nethybridge Hotel
Nethybridge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Nethy Bridge
583 reviews
23.7 mi away
Newton Muthu Hotel
Newton Muthu Hotel
#3 of 9 in Nairn
925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boat Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boat Hotel

Address: Deshar Road, Boat of Garten, Aviemore PH24 3BN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Aviemore > Boat of Garten
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Boat of Garten
Price Range: $36 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Boat Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arriving at The Boat Hotel for the first time can be compared to returning as house guests of a close friend, where needs are anticipated before arrival and the welcome is genuine. Where else can you wear your Hunter wellies at 8am, golf spikes at 3pm and dress up or down for dinner? But while we offer our guests comfort, some luxury and indulgence, this is not a stuffy hotel where you can’t sit on the furniture or let your kids enjoy themselves. Nestled in a tranquil picturesque setting deep within the heart of the Cairngorms National Park, near Aviemore, lies the historic and unique award-winning Boat Hotel & Bistro. Adjacent to the renowned Boat of Garten Golf Club, we boast 2 AA Rosette food and stylish yet relaxing accommodations with exhilarating views. The Boat Hotel is a place where you can relax and enjoy your well deserved leisure time, then put your feet up. Hotel Highlights: * Dining options - 2 AA Rosette Bistro & Bar Dining * Range of guestrooms including king bed, deluxe garden terrace & four poster junior suites * Child friendly hotel near Landmark Forest Adventure Park and kids stay & eat free * Meeting & events facilities for up to 65 * Close to the Cairngorm Ski Resort and adjacent Boat of Garten Golf Club Events Diary. Whether you're looking for an active or relaxing break, an inspirational meeting or private dining venue for your next event, planning a fabulous wedding, looking to indulge in a glass of your favourite tipple by the log fire or simply join us for some of the best food in the Cairngorm National Park. The Boat Hotel & Bistro combines historic charm with modern facilities to provide the leading destination and first choice country retreat hotel in the Aviemore area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Boat Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boat Hotel Of Garten
The Boat Hotel Boat Of Garten, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing