We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Treated like 2nd Class”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of The Boat Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Boat Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Boat of Garten
dundee
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Treated like 2nd Class”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2009

After 3 telephone calls to book the restaurant be were expecting a great meal
They were so busy on the first night that they couldnt take us so we booked for the following night but were told they were so busy again we had to take a table at 7 or 9.30. Great we thought as the Chef took pride in what came out of his Kitchens.
We arrived at 6.55 and were taken immediately to the 1970s dining room. The bistro and bar looked great but we never saw it. The dining room had no atmosphere and of course we waited for the many other diners to join us. By 8.30 another couple joined us in the diningroom (the only other 2 we saw the entire evening. Here we were paying for the fine dining menu yet priority was being given to all the diners in the Bistro. The meal was OK but did not warrant the awards it had. We were rushed through and let the establshment by 8.45. All in all a very disappointing evening

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JONEDI, Guest Relations at The Boat Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2009
Further to your recent visit to The Boat Hotel I was disappointed to hear of your thoughts on the service throughout your meal. Firstly, thank you for taking the time to let us know via Trip Advisor. It is important that when we get things wrong that we are informed in order to correct our mistakes. When doing fully booked restaurant we always allow for a 2 hour gap, which we find is more than enough time for guests to relax and enjoy their meal. On this evening we had 3 golfing parties booking ot the whole restaurant and a such apologise that you felt rushed. This is entirely an error on our behalf and I apologise. After our discussion on the phone today I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the food despite this mistake. We look forward to your next visit to The Boat Hotel and welcome the chance to correct our mistake.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    413
    407
    211
    124
    61
See reviews for
177
755
25
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (339)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland UK
Level Contributor
43 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2009

Stayed here last year and had a beautiful room albeit with a small, slightly neglected bathroom but this time the room looked like sonething out of a 1970's bed and breakfast. Very small double, wallpaper hanging off the ceiling, stained carpet, only one lamp at the side of one of the beds, grim shower, towel rail hanging off the wall and constant smell of food cooking. Saying that we do like the Boat - the atmosphere is lovely and the staff especially the receptionist were excellent. Think we were just unlucky - again wonder if it was because we booked through Late Rooms. Seems foolish to me if that is the case, especially when the hotel is not full. Give us a decent room and we would certainly return but there are plenty of good hotels in the vicinity to try another time. Food was perfectly fine in the bar area - not wonderful but OK.

Might give it another go.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryder765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2009

The deal was dine with wine. The food both dinner and breakfast was fabulous as was the service.
This really redeemed the place. The room was old and a bit shabby, it could have been cleaner, the carpet had stains and there were crumbs on the dressing table chair.
The rooms on the website have I would suspect all been refurbed and this one 204 could really do with a refurb.
Overall however the value taking into account the excellent dinner and wine was very good. All the staff were also excellent

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JONEDI, Guest Relations at The Boat Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2009
Thank you for your constructive review. All feedback is important to us. A large number of our bedrooms have seen full part or full refurbishment with great guest feedback. More capital works are being planned and would ask that next time you are due to stay please make contact with myself and I will ensure that you recieve an upgrade to one of our Estate Guest Rooms. Jon Mc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2009

We booked this hotel as it seemed good value for money on their 2 for 1 offer. The staff who handled our reservation were competent and full of information on the local area. When we arrived the reception area seems a bit sparce and the flooring is a cheap laminate floor which really lets down the charachter of the building. We were shown to our room which was spacious and clean. We booked our table for dinner in the bistro and arrived early for a pre dinner drink. We were welcomed by what I can assume was the french head barman who poured my wife a glass of red wine when we ordered chardonnay. (I think he was rather intoxicated as his behaviour was erratic and he smelled of alcohol. We sat at the table and our dinner arrived which was fine and we really enjoyed it. The only complaint with the service we kept on being pestered by I assume the French Manager. I mean how many times can you ask how our meal is? I did find all the service staff to be coping well under difficult circumstances especially Gemma and the lad from Liverpool. I found the staff to be generally pleasant and welcoming with the ecxeption of the management,after all a ship is only as good as it's captain and this boat needs rescuing.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven_Scales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2009

An overnight stay in a superrior room and it was brilliant. The menu in the bistro had just been changed with the arrival of a new chef. Must tries are the Thai chicken and Skhitaki Curry or Venison Casserole. Puddings to die for, eave room for desert and have the Chocolate Torte or the Berry Stack. Next time I will try the fine dining restaurant which is two rosette . Lovely area, right on the golf course so many things to do in the area. Boat of Garten steam train station is less than a minute away.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fussyfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2009

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights bed and breakfast February into March 2009. The hotel itself is an older traditional building in a great location particularly if you are interested in outdoor activities, walking, skiing, tennis, golfing or osprey watching all close by. The room was warm, comfortable and very clean with a spacious bathroom which had a bath and separate shower. The breakfasts are great with a choice of local produce and the bistro serves good quality food in pleasant surroundings. The hotel is pet friendly so it’s great for bringing your dog who can sit with you, and your drinks, in the reception area at night away from the areas where food is served. One of the biggest assets of this hotel are the staff who without exception were genuinely friendly, enthusiastic, competent and provide one of the warmest welcomes in the highlands. All of the staff, no matter their role in the hotel, went out their way to make us, and the dog, welcome. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone planning a trip to the Aviemore area.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oscar73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2009

We stayed here for a ski-ing trip. We were unable to get a hotel in Aviemore and so were delighted to find a hotel nearby available especially since it was the Feb half term. We booked through travelrepublic since on phoning the hotel they stated they were full. We had a double room at the back of the hotel, which was obviously above the kitchen area as the cooking fat smell had risen to the upstairs corridoor, and a little in the rooms.

Our bedroom window would not open having sealed shut with all the layers of paint. This was dissapointing as it could have helped freshen the air. The room was adequate, beds comfortable enough, bathroom small but deep bath and plenty of warm water. Shower was a nightmare going from far too hot to freezing cold, and so we abandoned and stuck with the bath which was rather nice after a day on the slopes.

The heating went off at night and did not come on again until 7am, so when we got up the room was freezing cold. I nearly got up at 4am to put on my ski thermals I was so cold, but made do with having the bed spread as a second duvet which helped slightly.

Breakfast was not served until 7.30am, which was slightly too late considering the slopes were so busy everyone wanted up there as early as possible. We went for breakfast on the first morning but it was 7.45am before staff even came to take our order for a full cooked and we felt it was just too late. The first people in for breakfast placed their order just before we arrived at 7.30 am and at 7.50am when we left they still did not have it.

On the Sunday breakfast was supposed to be served at 8.30am but management changed it to 7.30am but never put up any notices to inform the guests. So we never had breakfast the second day.

Dinner, we went with the bistro menu since I am such a fussy eater. the first night I had the steak pie which was very nice, although I was surprised it has tomato in it. Hubby had fish which he enjoyed. The second night we both had steak, again nice. The chips on the other hand were disgusting on both nights. Not sure if they are oven chips or what. The bistro is actually more like a bar meal, but has an open fire burning which is a nice touch. Puddings were also a dissapointment. I had the sticky toffee pudding which I can only describe as a slice of toffee loaf with a sauce - not moist and not very tasty either. Hubby had the crumble which he said was not fantastic, the second night we did not bother with pudding but ordered tea and hot chololate instead which took half and hour to arrive.

The waiting/bar staff seemed to "gush" over some guests and completely ignore othere. We were ignored! Not even offered salt or sauces with our meal. Same at breakfast they were not interested in taking our order of getting us tea.

We pre-paid £196 for 2 nights B&B but the hotel tried to charge us again at only £75 per night. They did remove it from our bill once it was pointed out to them, but they even had the pre-pay voucher in with all our bar tabs so should have picked up on it.

Drinks are very expensive. £5.50 for a glass of wine, and £3 for a bottle of beer.

All in all a nice enough hotel but I would agree with the AA 4 star rating as oppose to the visit scotland 4 stars.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sanag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boat of Garten
3.3 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
5.1 mi away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#1 of 11 in Aviemore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Fairwinds Hotel
Fairwinds Hotel
#2 of 3 in Carrbridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
4.8 mi away
Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel
4.8 mi away
Muckrach Country House Hotel
Muckrach Country House Hotel
#2 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boat Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boat Hotel

Property: The Boat Hotel
Address: Deshar Road, Boat of Garten, Aviemore PH24 3BN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Aviemore > Boat of Garten
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Boat of Garten
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Boat Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arriving at The Boat Hotel for the first time can be compared to returning as house guests of a close friend, where needs are anticipated before arrival and the welcome is genuine. Where else can you wear your Hunter wellies at 8am, golf spikes at 3pm and dress up or down for dinner? But while we offer our guests comfort, some luxury and indulgence, this is not a stuffy hotel where you can’t sit on the furniture or let your kids enjoy themselves. Nestled in a tranquil picturesque setting deep within the heart of the Cairngorms National Park, near Aviemore, lies the historic and unique award-winning Boat Hotel & Bistro. Adjacent to the renowned Boat of Garten Golf Club, we boast 2 AA Rosette food and stylish yet relaxing accommodations with exhilarating views. The Boat Hotel is a place where you can relax and enjoy your well deserved leisure time, then put your feet up. Hotel Highlights: * Dining options - 2 AA Rosette Bistro & Bar Dining * Range of guestrooms including king bed, deluxe garden terrace & four poster junior suites * Child friendly hotel near Landmark Forest Adventure Park and kids stay & eat free * Meeting & events facilities for up to 65 * Close to the Cairngorm Ski Resort and adjacent Boat of Garten Golf Club Events Diary. Whether you're looking for an active or relaxing break, an inspirational meeting or private dining venue for your next event, planning a fabulous wedding, looking to indulge in a glass of your favourite tipple by the log fire or simply join us for some of the best food in the Cairngorm National Park. The Boat Hotel & Bistro combines historic charm with modern facilities to provide the leading destination and first choice country retreat hotel in the Aviemore area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Boat Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boat Hotel Of Garten
The Boat Hotel Boat Of Garten, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing