We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant and friendly hotel.”
Review of The Boat Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Boat Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Boat of Garten
Reviewed October 14, 2013

It's always nice to be greeted with a smile and conversation when you arrive at a hotel. The staff here were unbelievably pleasant and caring, opening doors and saying hello. On the first morning, every single member if staff I saw greeted me with 'good morning' which really did make me feel a valued customer.

The rooms were basic and a little old fashioned but were clean and tidy. The bathroom however was modern and well designed.

The food and breakfast was, albeit not in massive portions, very nice.

Overall, a nice hotel that I would be happy to stay in again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheWandererHimself
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,300)
There are newer reviews for The Boat Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

832 - 838 of 1,300 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed for 2 days and had a room right at the top overlooking the steam railway line. Huge comfortable bed and room was very bright and welcoming. Very slow water pressure to fill bath and shower was a trickle. Plumbing probably needs some investment. Food was good , well presented and of high quality. Service in dining room was variable - first night with eastern european girl and boy was superb and very efficient. The second night with different staff was slow and muddled. Breakfasts were good.
Overall good value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Very good quality overall. We had a deal but from the menu the food was a bit pricey and small helpings. The bathroom was well appointed but the room was dated and the bed was very hard. They told me they will find a softer bed for my next visit and I will go again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lana F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

when we arrived we were met by an unfriendly waitress, the dining room lacked any atmosphere and felt cold, the menu choices were poor. Our starters were very small and the haddock and chips for our main were the size of a goldfish, we did not order dessert as judging by our earlier courses we knew we were not going to get value for money as everything was very expensive.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Thank westcoasters4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

On arrival friendly and courteous. Room was extremely small, tatty and with uncomfortable bed. Shower virtually inoperable, toilet took some 10minutes to refill after flushing. Water temperature varied from lukewarm to scolding. Meals were a disaster, food third rate, very small portions and grossly overpriced. Why dinner could not be served in the same room as breakfast nobody knows, but having to eat evening meals in the bar added to my annoyance. As for breakfast the first morning the kippers were cooked to perfection but on the second morning after a 15minute wait my full Scottish breakfast was dried and shrivelled and unbeatable.
The general tastiness of the hotel is one thing but a thick layer of dust on staircase and skirting boards were beyond belief. We would never stay there again despite it being in a very scenic area of Scotland
We did write a letter to the hotel with our comments but well over a month has elapsed and they have not had the decency to reply.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Though I have been to the hotel a number of times, for coffee and lunch this is the first time that I have stayed. We were made most welcome by the Receptionist on duty, (Diane I believe) who certainly, ensure that we had everything we needed. On going to our rooms, I found that the corridors, and carpet needed redoing badly. When I mentioned this I was assure that it was being done in the next few weeks. The room, was clean, bright and had everything that was required.
Good selection at breakfast, but I found the bar seating area small.
All the staff were friendly and willing. Would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for one facing the railway line, or garden
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank VikingScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed a month ago but because we enjoyed it so much decided to stay over 1 night enroute to Arran. Our previous 1 comment about double room 1 chair was addressed in 2 emails and assured room would have 2 chairs!
No guesses, booked in, 1 chair! Quickly rectified but not what I expected.
Also, another niggle that staff on more than 1 occasion referred to the room allocated being quietter than before! But we didn't say we had an issue with noise...
Apart from that another enjoyable stay and will definitely return again.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sasdax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boat of Garten
5.5 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
3.3 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
256 reviews
5.1 mi away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#1 of 11 in Aviemore
781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Nethybridge Hotel
Nethybridge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Nethy Bridge
567 reviews
3.3 mi away
Fairwinds Hotel
Fairwinds Hotel
#2 of 3 in Carrbridge
224 reviews
4.8 mi away
Muckrach Country House Hotel
Muckrach Country House Hotel
#2 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boat Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boat Hotel

Address: Deshar Road, Boat of Garten, Aviemore PH24 3BN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Aviemore > Boat of Garten
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Boat of Garten
Price Range: $84 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Boat Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arriving at The Boat Hotel for the first time can be compared to returning as house guests of a close friend, where needs are anticipated before arrival and the welcome is genuine. Where else can you wear your Hunter wellies at 8am, golf spikes at 3pm and dress up or down for dinner? But while we offer our guests comfort, some luxury and indulgence, this is not a stuffy hotel where you can’t sit on the furniture or let your kids enjoy themselves. Nestled in a tranquil picturesque setting deep within the heart of the Cairngorms National Park, near Aviemore, lies the historic and unique award-winning Boat Hotel & Bistro. Adjacent to the renowned Boat of Garten Golf Club, we boast 2 AA Rosette food and stylish yet relaxing accommodations with exhilarating views. The Boat Hotel is a place where you can relax and enjoy your well deserved leisure time, then put your feet up. Hotel Highlights: * Dining options - 2 AA Rosette Bistro & Bar Dining * Range of guestrooms including king bed, deluxe garden terrace & four poster junior suites * Child friendly hotel near Landmark Forest Adventure Park and kids stay & eat free * Meeting & events facilities for up to 65 * Close to the Cairngorm Ski Resort and adjacent Boat of Garten Golf Club Events Diary. Whether you're looking for an active or relaxing break, an inspirational meeting or private dining venue for your next event, planning a fabulous wedding, looking to indulge in a glass of your favourite tipple by the log fire or simply join us for some of the best food in the Cairngorm National Park. The Boat Hotel & Bistro combines historic charm with modern facilities to provide the leading destination and first choice country retreat hotel in the Aviemore area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Boat Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boat Hotel Of Garten
The Boat Hotel Boat Of Garten, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing