We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Boat Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Boat Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Boat of Garten
Tel Aviv
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

During July we stayed in many small hotels throughout Scotland. Most we're at best very average until we arrived at The Boat Hotel.
It's an amazing small hotel tucked away in the small village of garten.
The staff were so friendly and a special mention has to go out to the management team and Charlette, the assistant manager.
The restaurant in the hotel is exquisite with foot being served by Chef Andrew...he would give any top chef in London a good run for their money. The waiting staff were also top nosh and Tracey made our evening enjoyable....
We stayed in a room looking over the mountains which was large and well thought out

We look forward to returning to this little paradise!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DazzaFields
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    411
    405
    209
    123
    59
See reviews for
175
749
25
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chatham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
125 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

The Boat Hotel provided with a lovely base from which to enjoy the Cairngorms National Park. While some updating wouldn't be amiss, our room was very comfortable and well-appointed, and the buffet breakfast was good. The one dinner we had at the hotel was delicious and the service was lovely -- both friendly and professional.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

If this was our 1st visit to this hotel it would certainly be our last. Our bestman kindly bought us a £250 voucher for a stay at the hotel because we love going to Boat of Garten. However, our room was on the second floor and extremely small so don't look to for room 208 anytime soon. Its too small, bathroom tiny, very tired and looks over the kitchen yard to the side. We have stayed here numerous times and the other rooms seem fine. Garden rooms are fab. Now dinner portions are small to say the least and prices too expensive, we had to pay £3.95 for an extra portion of 7 chips which really was extreme and when we mentioned it we got a row from the manager. So we put up and shut up but left no tip. Breakfast was good but the chef doesn't know how to cook poached eggs properly as we sent them back 2 mornings running... my wife had fried eggs but also could have been left for another minute in the pan. Overall we found no atmosphere in the lounge as they have closed the public bar a few years ago and this was the hub of the community which is now sadly gone. It will be a long time before I would consider to stay here again. Very disappointed.

Room Tip: Ask for a garden room or junior suite on 1st floor. 2nd floor rooms are tiny and really should be le...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MGF332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clackmannan
Level Contributor
229 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

We were daytripping in the area and decided to stay over, had difficulty in finding suitable accommodation, not a surprise in late July. We lucked out booking the Boat Hotel, firstly the staff are SO friendly and VERY hospitable, the room was not luxurious but it was the only one we could get and it was clean and adequate. The Hotel is an old building but it has been well maintained and decorated.
Best of all was the dinner we enjoyed in the bistro bar, Scallops to start were accompanied by amazing beetroot jelly, main of Venison was perhaps a shade beyond the pink we might have liked but superbly tasty and again the accompaniments shone, the poached pear had some lovely influences, there was not enough of the tasty mash and I could have eaten a pile of the fondant sweet potato. The Cranachan dessert is a wonderful modern derivation of the classic.
All presented in style and superbly served by well trained staff.
Excellent breakfast was also superbly and cheerily served.
On check out the staff could not have been nicer and our bill had a generous allowance for dinner since we had booked half-board.
The quality of the food, and particularly the efficient,friendly service will make us return to the Boat. Next time we will plan in advance and get one of their excellent suites.
The hotel balances between village pub for the locals and top residential spot, drop in for lunch or dinner if you are in the Spey Valley.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Albanach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeenshire, Scotland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Stayed for one night. Reception staff delightful. Room on second floor - stairs very wonky and slightly disconcerting. Room a bit noisy as fan from kitchen (??) just outside the window and cooking smells very obvious.
Bathroom very small with nowhere to lay your soap bag.
Shower a mere trickle!!
Room very clean.
Stair carpet could do with a really good hoovering!!
Breakfast - could do better! Fruit bowl and orange juice etc needed refilling for some time and no-one noticed. Scrambled egg overcooked and dry.
All staff were very friendly and helpful but perhaps need a bit of direction....?

Room Tip: Perhaps ask for an upgrade??? Maybe we were just unlucky. Cleanliness in room was great - public are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LJMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fochabers, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

We stayed over night with our 2 young children (3 & 6yrs) and enjoyed it thoroughly. The junior deluxe family room was perfect for our needs and very well maintained with all the added special touches such as the Walkers shortbread, decent teas & coffees etc. The bathroom was particularly spacious with a super bath & separate shower cubicle. Staff were very helpful & accommodating at all times. We really enjoyed our evening meal which we thought was very good value for money. The kids really enjoyed their meals too & the waiter had a lovely manner throughout. It was a comfortable nights sleep in a quiet part of the area. Ncie and close to our main reason for stay...Landmark Heritage Centre! We would definitely go back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank karen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

The Boat is the place to stay in B-o-G. We were given a suite which was very nice indeed and boasted a four poster bed with a roll top bath in a large bathroom. The adjoining sitting room had comfy seating, big enough for a family of 4 to rest in a superb setting. Our room over-looked the station platform of Boat of Garten which is home to the Speyside Steam railway. This is a must visit for enthusiasts of steam trains. Food and service was excellent both in terms quality and friendliness. Wished we had time to play at the local golf club reputedly to be one of the top 100 to play in the UK. Can't wait to go back. Thanks to everyone at the hotel for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Iain H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boat of Garten
5.5 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
3.3 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
5.1 mi away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#2 of 11 in Aviemore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
3.3 mi away
Fairwinds Hotel
Fairwinds Hotel
#2 of 3 in Carrbridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
4.8 mi away
Muckrach Country House Hotel
Muckrach Country House Hotel
#2 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boat Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boat Hotel

Property: The Boat Hotel
Address: Deshar Road, Boat of Garten, Aviemore PH24 3BN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Aviemore > Boat of Garten
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Boat of Garten
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Boat Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arriving at The Boat Hotel for the first time can be compared to returning as house guests of a close friend, where needs are anticipated before arrival and the welcome is genuine. Where else can you wear your Hunter wellies at 8am, golf spikes at 3pm and dress up or down for dinner? But while we offer our guests comfort, some luxury and indulgence, this is not a stuffy hotel where you can’t sit on the furniture or let your kids enjoy themselves. Nestled in a tranquil picturesque setting deep within the heart of the Cairngorms National Park, near Aviemore, lies the historic and unique award-winning Boat Hotel & Bistro. Adjacent to the renowned Boat of Garten Golf Club, we boast 2 AA Rosette food and stylish yet relaxing accommodations with exhilarating views. The Boat Hotel is a place where you can relax and enjoy your well deserved leisure time, then put your feet up. Hotel Highlights: * Dining options - 2 AA Rosette Bistro & Bar Dining * Range of guestrooms including king bed, deluxe garden terrace & four poster junior suites * Child friendly hotel near Landmark Forest Adventure Park and kids stay & eat free * Meeting & events facilities for up to 65 * Close to the Cairngorm Ski Resort and adjacent Boat of Garten Golf Club Events Diary. Whether you're looking for an active or relaxing break, an inspirational meeting or private dining venue for your next event, planning a fabulous wedding, looking to indulge in a glass of your favourite tipple by the log fire or simply join us for some of the best food in the Cairngorm National Park. The Boat Hotel & Bistro combines historic charm with modern facilities to provide the leading destination and first choice country retreat hotel in the Aviemore area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your The Boat Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boat Hotel Of Garten
The Boat Hotel Boat Of Garten, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing