We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 star no way!!!!”
Review of The Boat Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Boat Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Boat of Garten
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Who ever rated this hotel as 4 star must have their own rating system. To say it is shabby is an understatement. The carpets in the resturaunts are only fit for a tip which is a shame as it is a lovely room. We stayed in room 101 a nice size but the floorboards outside our room and above us made sleeping difficult as they creaked terribly evertime someone moved.apart from being very hot and no air conditioning.The lights either side of the bed had odd shades two tatty cushions that did not match no towel rail in the bathroom and very cheap products as well.
We only saving grace are the staff who are very friendly and efficient and on the night we ate in the resturaunts were getting a hard time from the diners as so many dishes were not available. They work really hard but are being let down by the surroundings.

Room Tip: Not 101 to not and noisyn
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SprogLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,342)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

915 - 921 of 1,342 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2013

We had a 2 night stay at the Boat Hotel, Boat of Garten, and will certainly go back. The area is very scenic with a lovely golf course, the Spey Valley steam train and an osprey family on the doorstep. Aviemore is only 7 miles away with the multiple attractions it has to offer and Cairngorm Mountain only a few miles further. The hotel is very comfortable, staff are extremely welcoming and the food and drink on offer are top notch. Unusually for a hotel, there are frequent offers on specials for dinner at reasonable prices with a drink included.

Room Tip: All the rooms looked good and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank konkola321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Our stay was a gift from our Daughter who booked through the itison site a two night stay for £139 and we upgraded to a deluxe garden room which was well worth the extra cost

The meals we had in the restaurant/bar were excellent, service was fantastic staff were very courteous and friendly

We have had the most enjoyable two night stay and will definitely be going back very soon

Plenty parking and dogs welcome which is a bonus

Room Tip: Upgrade to a deluxe garden room if you can afford to - well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Booked a two-night stay through a 5pm voucher deal and could not fault this hotel. All the staff were friendly and helpful, and the room was clean with a lovely view over the surrounding countryside. We ate in the bistro both nights and the food was amazing (especially the new-to-the-menu peanut butter cheesecake!). We only had the continental breakfast, which was fine, not amazing, but was adequate for us.

Friday night's entertainment was a folk singer, Andrew Gordon, who was so talented. I think he plays once a month, and if you are lucky enough to be staying on a night he's there, definitely check him out.

Boat of Garten is a small place, but it's well-placed for exploring the surrounding area, and far prettier than Aviemore (in my opinion).

All in all, a lovely spot for a quiet weekend away.

Room Tip: 201 - quiet twin room (though the hotel owners could do to get the loo 'flush' looked at; it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SJL3012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Hi,
My wife, our two boys and I stopped at the Boat Hotel for some refreshments after an enjoyable cycle from Aviemore. I ordered two lattes, two lemonades and two pieces of shortbread.
The bill was £15.40 which was £4.20 per latte and £2 per lemonade and £1.50 for each piece of shortbread.
I have no problems with the price of either the lemonade or the shortbread, but £4.20 for a small latte seems a bit expensive.
I have bought lattes in lots of other establishments throughout Scotland but I have never paid this much for one before, even in the more exclusive hotels in Glasgow, Edinburgh or Aberdeen.
I have eaten at the Boat Hotel in the past and thoroughly enjoyed the experience but I don't know if I would in the future if the prices of their coffees are anything to go by.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brakie49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We booked this hotel through an Itson deal and felt we had really good value for our money. We upgraded our room and had a lovely suite. We would have to say with the biggest bed we have ever slept in! The staff were lovely, very professional and helpful. Food was good, have to agree drinks were expensive but it is a hotel. Overall, lovely, relaxing trip. Fabulous scenery, great walks would go back. Saw two red squirrels!

Room Tip: Ask for upgrade, although hotel do offer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BURGESS63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

a very enjoyable 2 night stay. The staff could not have been more helpful and the food was very good. some of the décor is maybe looking a little tired but other than that cant fault it. we had the dog with us and the garden rooms are perfect for this.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hue17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boat Hotel M, General Manager at The Boat Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review on Trip Advisor. I am delighted to read you had such an enjoyable stay with us and hope to welcome you back to the hotel again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Shona MacLachlan
Acting General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boat of Garten
5.5 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
5.1 mi away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#1 of 11 in Aviemore
809 reviews
3.3 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
3.8 mi away
Nethybridge Hotel
Nethybridge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Nethy Bridge
583 reviews
23.7 mi away
Newton Muthu Hotel
Newton Muthu Hotel
#3 of 9 in Nairn
926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boat Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boat Hotel

Address: Deshar Road, Boat of Garten, Aviemore PH24 3BN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Aviemore > Boat of Garten
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Boat of Garten
Price Range: $37 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Boat Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arriving at The Boat Hotel for the first time can be compared to returning as house guests of a close friend, where needs are anticipated before arrival and the welcome is genuine. Where else can you wear your Hunter wellies at 8am, golf spikes at 3pm and dress up or down for dinner? But while we offer our guests comfort, some luxury and indulgence, this is not a stuffy hotel where you can’t sit on the furniture or let your kids enjoy themselves. Nestled in a tranquil picturesque setting deep within the heart of the Cairngorms National Park, near Aviemore, lies the historic and unique award-winning Boat Hotel & Bistro. Adjacent to the renowned Boat of Garten Golf Club, we boast 2 AA Rosette food and stylish yet relaxing accommodations with exhilarating views. The Boat Hotel is a place where you can relax and enjoy your well deserved leisure time, then put your feet up. Hotel Highlights: * Dining options - 2 AA Rosette Bistro & Bar Dining * Range of guestrooms including king bed, deluxe garden terrace & four poster junior suites * Child friendly hotel near Landmark Forest Adventure Park and kids stay & eat free * Meeting & events facilities for up to 65 * Close to the Cairngorm Ski Resort and adjacent Boat of Garten Golf Club Events Diary. Whether you're looking for an active or relaxing break, an inspirational meeting or private dining venue for your next event, planning a fabulous wedding, looking to indulge in a glass of your favourite tipple by the log fire or simply join us for some of the best food in the Cairngorm National Park. The Boat Hotel & Bistro combines historic charm with modern facilities to provide the leading destination and first choice country retreat hotel in the Aviemore area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Boat Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boat Hotel Of Garten
The Boat Hotel Boat Of Garten, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing