We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Stay”
Review of The Boat Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Boat Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Boat of Garten
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good Stay”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed two nights with an Itison voucher. The room was very acceptable with a reasonable bath. The breakfasts were good, and the one early bird supper we had was very good value. The staff were outstandingly helpful and attentive.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Michael141035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boat Hotel M, General Manager at The Boat Hotel, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor and for sharing your comments with other travellers. I am delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Shona MacLachlan
Acting General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    420
    420
    228
    136
    66
See reviews for
188
786
29
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

The upside is the stunning location of the hotel & the choice & quality of the breakfasts was impressive. The room we were given for the last 2 nights of a 4 night stay was better than the first room we had. The down bits were the first room we stayed in (109), above the kitchen which maybe explained why the smallish (classic) room felt very warm & noisy at times. We booked a couple of separate deals over a 4 night stay & to be fair you get what you pay for. My wife had a very upset stomach which we're sure was attributable to duck pate she half finished the night before because she said it didn't smell / taste that good. The hotel said they checked the pate & they could find nothing wrong with it. Whatever the rights & wrongs it broke my wife's confidence in having meals there. Return visit? Yes but only on a B&B basis.

Room Tip: avoid room 109. Noisy and hot as you are above kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liz494
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boat Hotel M, General Manager at The Boat Hotel, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor and for your feedback in regards to your stay. I agree that the classic guest rooms are our standard entry level rooms and whilst they have minor imperfections such as restricted views or smaller bathrooms/shower rooms, they do offer value and comfort. As soon as you made myself aware of the issue with your wife's illness, we investigated this thoroughly to find that the duck liver pate which is quite strong tasting was made fresh that day by our head chef and as I mentioned before this was consumed by a number of guests that night. We are delighted that this has not deterred you from visiting us again and do hope your wife is feeling much better.

Kind regards,

Shona MacLachlan
Acting General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

The Boat hotel has overall, a great atmosphere. The staff are very friendly and welcoming. The room we had was beautiful and spotless. The food was lovely with plenty of variety on the menu.
I would say that some aspects could do with a spruce up but as its an old building that goes with the territory. The only thing I feel I must mention about the stay was the cost of the alcohol- at £10 for a lager tops and a kopperberg cider, I found this rather disappointing.
Despite this, I would definitely recommend a stay here and would be happy to return in the future.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank E3194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boat Hotel M, General Manager at The Boat Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate you taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor and will take on board your comments in regards to the prices for alcohol. We do price comparison regularly with other 4 star establishments in the area to allow us to monitor this and price accordingly. This said, we will certainly look into this. I am delighted to see that this would not deter you from visiting us again in the future. I will be sure to pass on your kind comments to the staff and chef in regards to the service and food.

Kind regards,

Shona MacLachlan
Acting General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunbar, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We enjoyed a lovely meal in the restaurant. The service was excellent and the food was superb. The only negative was the couthie Scottish music. Marching pipe bands followed by the Bay City Rollers does not create a relaxing atmosphere and more suited to a cafe for tourists seeking out a tacky tartan experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hate-popups
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boat Hotel M, General Manager at The Boat Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor and your positive comments in regards to the food and customer service. We will certainly look into the playlist for the hotel and appreciate your feedback about the music.

Kind regards,

Shona MacLachlan
Acting General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeenshire
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Booked the 'Love is all you need" package through Itison. This did create some hilarity as booked for two friends as it was such a good deal (2 nights B&B, £25 dinner allowance and glass of fizz each, chocolate covered strawberries, robes, slippers and scented candles) for just £139. Wow! The hotel accommodated a change to a twin room, though we had to upgrade to an estate room for the dates required at £20 per night (on checking out this fee was actually waived, I actually asked again just to double check I'd heard correctly) Everything was still included in the package and waiting on our arrival. Wonderful reception at the hotel every time you enter, staff are so friendly and remember little details that add to the customer service. There was no issue with us booking our meal for the second night as we had plans in Inverness for our first night and when returning from a long tiring day out our meal time was brought forward without question. We were even seated at the sofa by the fire to relax with our wine whilst looking at the menu and awaiting our food. The dinner allowance was fully explained. The set menu of three courses taken from the a la carte menu was more than adequate to satisfy most palettes. The food itself was just superb, including breakfast. I would definitely return and probably book one of the garden rooms next time as they looked lovely and would have been perfect for the stunning weather we were lucky to have on our visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boat Hotel M, General Manager at The Boat Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to put your comments on Trip Advisor and to share your experience with other travellers. We are thrilled to read that you had such an enjoyable stay with us and I will be sure to pass your comments over to the staff in regards to the customer service in which they work very hard to get right.

Look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Shona MacLachlan
Acting General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinross, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We booked a two night stay for our Silver Wedding anniversary. Pushed the boat out (no pun intended) and went for a junior Suite.
All we can say is that is an excellent place to stay.
The accommodation was super - the only "criticism" would be that there was no shelf in the shower for the shower gel/shampoo - petty I know but that is literally the only criticism we could make!
The food was excellent and the service superb.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boat Hotel M, General Manager at The Boat Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your fantastic review on Trip Advisor. I am delighted to read you had such an enjoyable stay with us and I will certainly take on board your comments in regards to shelving in the shower.

Look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards,

Shona MacLachlan
Acting General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We recently held our wedding in this hotel, on the advice of the locals and because it's dog freindly. We had stayed in the past and been disappointed but what a difference a change of management can make!! The hotel is being refurbished and it's looking more classy and 'boutique' like than it's ever been, despite the lack of the old pub. The staff and management made everything so easy to ensure that our day was perfect and we honestly cannot rate them highly enough.They even looked after our dogs!! Anything we requested, we got - nothing was a problem. The standard of the food and accommodation was exceptional considering they were catering for in excess of 50 people and the entire experience was one that we'll never forget. Please go and try The Boat (or try it again) - you'll not be disappointed (and your dog will love it!).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlamPam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boat Hotel M, General Manager at The Boat Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your great review on Trip Advisor, we are all delighted to have been part of your big day and to have shared this experience with you. We wish you both all the best for the future ... and the dogs too of course!

Hopefully see you again sometime in the near future at the Boat Hotel.

Kind regards,

Shona MacLachlan
Acting General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boat of Garten
3.3 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
242 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
3.3 mi away
Fairwinds Hotel
Fairwinds Hotel
#2 of 3 in Carrbridge
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Muckrach Country House Hotel
Muckrach Country House Hotel
#2 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
520 reviews
7.4 mi away
The Craiglynne Hotel
The Craiglynne Hotel
#7 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
661 reviews
3.8 mi away
Nethybridge Hotel
Nethybridge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Nethy Bridge
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boat Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boat Hotel

Property: The Boat Hotel
Address: Deshar Road, Boat of Garten, Aviemore PH24 3BN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Aviemore > Boat of Garten
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Boat of Garten
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Boat Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arriving at The Boat Hotel for the first time can be compared to returning as house guests of a close friend, where needs are anticipated before arrival and the welcome is genuine. Where else can you wear your Hunter wellies at 8am, golf spikes at 3pm and dress up or down for dinner? But while we offer our guests comfort, some luxury and indulgence, this is not a stuffy hotel where you can’t sit on the furniture or let your kids enjoy themselves. Nestled in a tranquil picturesque setting deep within the heart of the Cairngorms National Park, near Aviemore, lies the historic and unique award-winning Boat Hotel & Bistro. Adjacent to the renowned Boat of Garten Golf Club, we boast 2 AA Rosette food and stylish yet relaxing accommodations with exhilarating views. The Boat Hotel is a place where you can relax and enjoy your well deserved leisure time, then put your feet up. Hotel Highlights: * Dining options - 2 AA Rosette Bistro & Bar Dining * Range of guestrooms including king bed, deluxe garden terrace & four poster junior suites * Child friendly hotel near Landmark Forest Adventure Park and kids stay & eat free * Meeting & events facilities for up to 65 * Close to the Cairngorm Ski Resort and adjacent Boat of Garten Golf Club Events Diary. Whether you're looking for an active or relaxing break, an inspirational meeting or private dining venue for your next event, planning a fabulous wedding, looking to indulge in a glass of your favourite tipple by the log fire or simply join us for some of the best food in the Cairngorm National Park. The Boat Hotel & Bistro combines historic charm with modern facilities to provide the leading destination and first choice country retreat hotel in the Aviemore area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Boat Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boat Hotel Of Garten
The Boat Hotel Boat Of Garten, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing