We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hidden Gem”
Review of The Boat Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Boat Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Boat of Garten
Erskine, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Stayed here on a voucher offer, I expected the usual older highland hotel and that was what we got, creaky floorboards rooms a bit tired round the edges but all in keeping with the age of the hotel. The welcome we received was good and were given an upgraded room on the first floor as requested, not the best view but the room was of a good size and clean and welcoming, the bathroom was large with a roll top bath and separate shower all very clean and really quite smart, we slept very well in the comfortable bed. The Bistro bar and lounge were very comfortable to sit in (bar prices a bit high-on par with city hotels) but the service was great from very pleasant staff and decided to dine there instead of going through to restaurant. We enjoyed the food especially the 'curry night special'. The breakfast choice was great, I had the scrambled eggs with smoked salmon mmm, my husband had the full Scottish one morning then the smoked haddock with poached egg the next , both were excellent, great service again from the staff. We enjoyed our stay here and also had a trip on the steam railway, great stuff.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluebell1778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    420
    420
    228
    136
    66
See reviews for
188
786
29
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

The staff were friendly and the food was fine but the room left a lot be desired! The outlook from room 115 was onto a set of wooden steps leading up to garden rooms. A garden store under the stairs had been left open and banged in the wind all night although I had phoned reception and asked for it to be closed. The room itself was very small, the net curtains were dirty at the bottom and there was mould on the paintwork of the window. The bathroom was also badly in need of updating with the bath panel peeling off at one end showing a damp spongy patch underneath. The lighting was inadequate in both the bedroom and the bathroom. The net curtains in the bathroom were also dirty at the bottom!
Altogether the accommodation was unacceptable for a well known hotel in the 21st century!

Stayed September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

This wonderful hotel has everything you could wish for and more. Friendly staff, great bar and restaurant with outstanding food. Lovely rooms and overlooks railway where Strathspey Steam Railway running most of year you can even jump on and go back to the age of steam on a return trip to Aviemore. Just one thing you want to return before you check out!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lochnagar1461
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We would come back to this hotel tomorrow. We were given an excellent room lovely bed (complete with swan towel display), roll top bath and an additional shower, free biscuits! We loved that the steam railway was right next to the hotel, which was a nice suprise when we pulled up and a train rolled in. The bar area is lovely and cosy, which is great after a day in the scottish rain. We also took drinks back to the room. Free dvd rental if you just want a night in after all the walking and sightseeing. Lovely little shop over the road selling pasties, sandwiches and cakes etc. We got a packed lunch from there everyday. Very professional staff at the hotel, and we stayed here through a kgb deal so we werent expecting to be given as nice a room as we were. Great location for driving into aviemore etc

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kir87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boat Hotel M, Manager at The Boat Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you very much for your comments.

We are very pleased that you had a wonderful stay wih us & would be very happy to welcome you back when you decide to visit this area again.

The next time you stay with us our skilled receptionists would enjoy parting their knowledge so you can find the treasures of things to do within the surrounding area.

Kindest Regards,
Dani Limb
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Berwick, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Booked in on the basis of a discount voucher and were shown to our room, a "classic double room". It was small, closer to a single room in size, 'filled' by a double bed, with a smaller than standard en suite. We made the mistake of not seeking a change, our usual approach perhaps affected by the fact this was our first voucher deal. We later noted substantially larger rooms at the same rate.
Food above average, service conscientious and overall stay good, but enjoyment tempered by the tiny room (204). If letting rooms of this size it is important to alert prospective guests, and/or also consider reducing the cost in relation to larger, visibly better rooms. Hence the review rating is less than the other aspects of our stay might have merited

Room Tip: Challenge the 'classic double' definition.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ARoss42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We didn't stay overnight, luckily, but did stop for lunch after a lovely walk round Loch Garten.
Having not been in Boat for a few years it looked like the hotel had been done up from the outside. It has not! The bar was tired and dirty, in need of some tlc and the food was really quite awful.
The menu is dated and uninspiring and very expensive for what it is. We just wanted a nice lunch but the hotel massively failed to deliver. We both had a sandwich, not hard to do that well, however the tuna was dry, not mashed up and a rip off. My husbands was not much better with the soup which reminded me of school dinners.
There are much nicer places to eat in the area, we wished we had gone to Andersons along the road, much nicer and better value!
You live and learn, but really is annoying that a place can take your money for such poor effort.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cazzy100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boat Hotel M, Manager at The Boat Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to give us your valued feedback.

However we have been awarded 2 AA rosette 12 years in a row for our excellence in food and service.

We have taken note that this is you first comment on Trip Advisor and we are very concerned with your individual opinion of our highly rated Bistro, we always strive to maintain our exceptionally high standards and we would like to invite you to meet with ourselves to discuss your thoughts on our service further.

We do appreciate your review and we would like to take opportunity to rectify your thoughts and have you back as a satisfied guest.

Kind Regards

Dani Limb
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lairg, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We had a over night stay previously and were so impressed with the hotel, the friendly staff and the lovely decoration of the hotel.
We returned for our wedding day and had a excellent day, staff were great could not of asked for better.
Food was first class, drink excellent to, very good value for money would highly recommend this hotel for a wedding or staying over, we will be returning for another stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank james l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boat Hotel M, Manager at The Boat Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Thank you for your comments about The Boat Hotel, The Owners, The Management Team and all the staff strive to make The Boat Hotel a venue were memories are made and cherished and we were all very happy to assist making your special day exquisite and we wish you the very best for the future and hope to see you again soon.

kind regards,

Dani Limb
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boat of Garten
3.3 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
242 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
3.3 mi away
Fairwinds Hotel
Fairwinds Hotel
#2 of 3 in Carrbridge
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Muckrach Country House Hotel
Muckrach Country House Hotel
#2 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
520 reviews
7.4 mi away
The Craiglynne Hotel
The Craiglynne Hotel
#7 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
661 reviews
3.8 mi away
Nethybridge Hotel
Nethybridge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Nethy Bridge
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boat Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boat Hotel

Property: The Boat Hotel
Address: Deshar Road, Boat of Garten, Aviemore PH24 3BN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Aviemore > Boat of Garten
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Boat of Garten
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Boat Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arriving at The Boat Hotel for the first time can be compared to returning as house guests of a close friend, where needs are anticipated before arrival and the welcome is genuine. Where else can you wear your Hunter wellies at 8am, golf spikes at 3pm and dress up or down for dinner? But while we offer our guests comfort, some luxury and indulgence, this is not a stuffy hotel where you can’t sit on the furniture or let your kids enjoy themselves. Nestled in a tranquil picturesque setting deep within the heart of the Cairngorms National Park, near Aviemore, lies the historic and unique award-winning Boat Hotel & Bistro. Adjacent to the renowned Boat of Garten Golf Club, we boast 2 AA Rosette food and stylish yet relaxing accommodations with exhilarating views. The Boat Hotel is a place where you can relax and enjoy your well deserved leisure time, then put your feet up. Hotel Highlights: * Dining options - 2 AA Rosette Bistro & Bar Dining * Range of guestrooms including king bed, deluxe garden terrace & four poster junior suites * Child friendly hotel near Landmark Forest Adventure Park and kids stay & eat free * Meeting & events facilities for up to 65 * Close to the Cairngorm Ski Resort and adjacent Boat of Garten Golf Club Events Diary. Whether you're looking for an active or relaxing break, an inspirational meeting or private dining venue for your next event, planning a fabulous wedding, looking to indulge in a glass of your favourite tipple by the log fire or simply join us for some of the best food in the Cairngorm National Park. The Boat Hotel & Bistro combines historic charm with modern facilities to provide the leading destination and first choice country retreat hotel in the Aviemore area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Boat Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boat Hotel Of Garten
The Boat Hotel Boat Of Garten, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing