We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended!”
Review of The Boat Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Boat Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Boat of Garten
Arbroath
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Highly recommended!”
Reviewed February 22, 2008

We stayed at The Boat Hotel for our honeymoon and it was the perfect relaxing and tranquil retreat.

We arrived at the hotel around 7pm and were greeted by the lovely receptionist. Check in was sift and easy.

Our room surpassed our expectations it was divine! We had booked the suite and it was a lovely room with separate living area then a step up and double doors leading to the bedroom. The bathroom was beautiful with a free standing bath and separate cubicle shower. One little point was that the shower pressure was not great, however still made for a comfortable experience. Towels were plentiful likewise the toiletries. The lounge area had a TV, DVD and CD player. A selection of Chill Out CD's were also available - nice touch! There was a separate flat screen TV in the bedroom.

We dined in the bistro restaurant each night as the food was superb! Great menu and very generous portions.

The staff were exceptionally attentive and friendly, nothing seems like too much trouble. Each time we passed reception the ladies always had a friendly chat with us!

I would highly recommend The Boat Hotel for any couple looking for a romantic get -away. You would be hard pushed to find a more welcoming hotel.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank LouiseP75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    420
    420
    228
    136
    66
See reviews for
188
786
29
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Skye
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2008

We stayed at the Boat Hotel on the 25th Jan 2008 and on our arrival we were warmly greeted by Diane at reception who was incredibly helpful and professional. We were very impressed that our old dog was treated as warmly as we were.

As it was in the evening when we arrived, we decided to have a drink in the attached, relaxed and freindly bar before our meal through in the hotel bistro. We enjoyed ourselves and were warmly welcomed by the locals.

Our bistro meal was delicious, and the waiter, very attentive. Upon finishing our meal, we returned to the bar to complete our evening.

The room was very comfortable with everything you could need and also a few thoughful touches. It was a very good size with a lovely modern bathroom with a roll-top bath and separate shower cubicle. The bed was comfy and offered a peaceful nights' sleep.

In the morning we enjoyed a hearty, cooked Scottish breakfast which set us up for the day.

We would very much like to have stayed another night, but needed to return home to the Isle of Skye.

All in all, we would highly reccommend the Boat Hotel for a genuine Highland Welcome and it's warm hospitality, as well as very comfortable surroundings.

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank Rusty_McClure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2008

We'd set off on Friday night knowing only that we fancied heading up to the Cairngorms! On route, we flicked through a few reference books and decided on Boat of Garten, and subsequently chose the Boat Hotel. We called ahead and reception confirmed that they had a room, and we could confirm when we got there if we wanted to stay for 1 or 2 nights.

We arrived a bit later than expected, just before 9pm, and the welcome was perfect! An open fire blazed in the hall, and Diane on reception welcomed us with a beaming smile! She said that as we were a bit late she'd taken the liberty of reserving us a table if we wanted it - we did!!

The room was perfect - beautifully decorated, clean & modern bathroom (shower & bath) and a lovely comfy bed!! Plus the added extras of CD player, couple comfy seats and a cracking view of the hills! The hotel itself was good - for drinks you could either sit in the sofa's in the entrance hall (very cosy with the fire!) or if you fancy being a bit more sociable, there's a small pub attached to the hotel.

We ate both breakfasts and dinners at the hotel, and each meal was spot on. Huge fry ups in the morning (there were other options but we were greedy!), well cooked simple food in the evening! I believe a new restaurant is opening soon, however we ate in the Bistro which is a warm, simple room.

All the staff we met were genuinely friendly and couldn't do enough to help with any queries we had.

All in all - it fitted what we were looking for and added to a top weekend!

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathydoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buxton
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2007

we had a most enjoyable three-day stay at the hotel. The staff could not have been more helpful and friendly from the Manager to the cleaner who looked after our room. We would recommend it most highly. Our suite of rooms were most comfortable and we thoroughly enjoyed our meals. When we arrived the receptionist was on the top of her game in every way.

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
Thank FelicitasBuxton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2007

What could pass for quaint at other hotels is instead old and dirty at the Boat Hotel. The rooms are clean, but in dire need of repair; the staff is generally rude and not accommodating; and the food is mediocre at best. Many locals in the area lamented the downward spiral of the hotel since new management took over. If you want to stay in this area, save your money and book a B&B in town (many are available and much nicer and cheaper).

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank adammfreed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boat of Garten
3.3 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
242 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
3.3 mi away
Fairwinds Hotel
Fairwinds Hotel
#2 of 3 in Carrbridge
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Muckrach Country House Hotel
Muckrach Country House Hotel
#2 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
520 reviews
7.4 mi away
The Craiglynne Hotel
The Craiglynne Hotel
#7 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
663 reviews
3.8 mi away
Nethybridge Hotel
Nethybridge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Nethy Bridge
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boat Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boat Hotel

Property: The Boat Hotel
Address: Deshar Road, Boat of Garten, Aviemore PH24 3BN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Aviemore > Boat of Garten
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Boat of Garten
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Boat Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arriving at The Boat Hotel for the first time can be compared to returning as house guests of a close friend, where needs are anticipated before arrival and the welcome is genuine. Where else can you wear your Hunter wellies at 8am, golf spikes at 3pm and dress up or down for dinner? But while we offer our guests comfort, some luxury and indulgence, this is not a stuffy hotel where you can’t sit on the furniture or let your kids enjoy themselves. Nestled in a tranquil picturesque setting deep within the heart of the Cairngorms National Park, near Aviemore, lies the historic and unique award-winning Boat Hotel & Bistro. Adjacent to the renowned Boat of Garten Golf Club, we boast 2 AA Rosette food and stylish yet relaxing accommodations with exhilarating views. The Boat Hotel is a place where you can relax and enjoy your well deserved leisure time, then put your feet up. Hotel Highlights: * Dining options - 2 AA Rosette Bistro & Bar Dining * Range of guestrooms including king bed, deluxe garden terrace & four poster junior suites * Child friendly hotel near Landmark Forest Adventure Park and kids stay & eat free * Meeting & events facilities for up to 65 * Close to the Cairngorm Ski Resort and adjacent Boat of Garten Golf Club Events Diary. Whether you're looking for an active or relaxing break, an inspirational meeting or private dining venue for your next event, planning a fabulous wedding, looking to indulge in a glass of your favourite tipple by the log fire or simply join us for some of the best food in the Cairngorm National Park. The Boat Hotel & Bistro combines historic charm with modern facilities to provide the leading destination and first choice country retreat hotel in the Aviemore area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Boat Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boat Hotel Of Garten
The Boat Hotel Boat Of Garten, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing