We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Boat Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Boat Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Boat of Garten
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2011

We have stayed at the Boat before and went for a meal tonight as we were staying in the area. Really disappointed with the food both our meal were really greasy and not worth the expense. The staff are very pleasant but there is a real atmosphere of unhappiness about the place and it was a nice local feeling before. Don't go would be my suggestion. I think must have changed hands and the new owner has got it wrong wrong wrong !

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FeebieT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    411
    405
    209
    123
    59
See reviews for
175
749
25
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2011

Had a really enjoyable overnight stay here. Excellent service from start to finish, the staff really did make an effort to make sure you had everything you wanted. Thoroughly enjoyable meal in the Bistro, I would definitely recommend the fillet steak with the Glayva sauce...wow!

Room Tip: Room 306 (see pic!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank colmunro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
186 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2011

Wanted to write this review to balance some of the poor ratings. We stayed for three days in a beautiful room - a four poster junior suite. The bed was very comfortable, the free standing bath was super and there was a separate power shower. Our teenage son slept in the lounge area on the sofa bed (a proper sofa bed) and had the large flat screen TV. Reading the other comments - I guess that the standard rooms are not as nice - so my tip is - if you book here - go for a deluxe room.

Food-wise, there was a great choice for breakfast. We ate in the bistro bar one evening and in the restaurant on the other two days. Food was good in both -though service could a bit slow at peak times.

The staff were great. They charged teenage sons ipod at reception (and let him know when it was ready - averting teenage melt-down). There was good internet access in the reception and the bistro - but less good elsewhere.

There was lots to do in the area - the Strathspey stream railway, which has a station just behind the hotel is a must. There were also bikes for hire next door. We went to Aviemore.We planned to go riding at Rothiemurches but the weather turned wet so we took the cable car up Cairngorm instead.

I thought that the Boat Hotel was a lovely place - good rooms, good food, good service, roaring log fires and near stunning scenery - just what a Scottish Highland hotel should be.

Room Tip: Book the deluxe junior suite or garden rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuzieS57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2011

NIce time in the Boat Hotel. friendly welcome at the reception desk, very good room
and execellent service.

I really had a good stay, Thanks to Zsolt, Noemi and Marc.

Room Tip: Garden Deluxe room, Room 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VittorioLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2011

We stayed in the Boat for three nights over the April Easter Holiday. We stayed Friday night, Saturday night and Sunday night, and got a good deal buying two nights and getting one free.

When we booked the Hotel we had read some pretty mixed reviews about it and were a little worried as to what we would be met with when we arrived, but we were very pleasantly suprised and, in our opinion, the negative reviews aren't justified and people should not be put off staying at this hotel based on these.

The room we had was a standard double room, and to be fair it was a little dated, but everything was clean and there was no problem with towels and refreshments being replenished daily.

We ate in the Bistro at the Hotel for Breakfast and also had two evening meals there. For us, the restaurant, both in terms of food and service, was the highlight of the Hotel. The waiter service at both breakfast time and in the evening was second to none; we could not fault it. The food was very good, the portion sizes were ample and the meals were priced fairly, especially considering the prices at other pubs/restaurants in the area.

The Reception staff were also helpful.

All in all, we would recommend this hotel to other couples.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danbillingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2011

Visited the Osprey Bistro "informal dining experience" of the Boat Hotel. Being vegetarian we phoned ahead to check what was on offer and was delighted to find 3 choices to choose from! Infact the helpful staff who answered our call was not sure and offered to phone us back... and did so promptly. So table booked we ate in delightful surroundings, log fire, wood panelling, our table was in the bay window alcove, slightly too close to the other couple dining there - but on the all atmosphere was enjoyable. The bistro is advertised as "informal" dining but the staff were quite formal in their service. They were polite, attentive but reserved. Starters were tasty and good. Cured salmon for my husband and the soup, carrot-ginger-honey a gamble but one that paid off for me. Main courses came and again we were not disappointed with the quality. Lamb shank for the meat eater was good and my veggie spinach/ricotta cheese gnochi in tomato-basil sauce was plentiful and tasty. The only problem was when ordering I asked if my main course came with any side order and was told no so I ordered a green salad. The salad came - a whole bag of rocket topped with a few slices of cucumber and green pepper. This in itself was too much rocket for one person and was further complicated by the main course being garnished with a plentiful supply of yes you guessed it rocket!! Needless to say if I had had a food bag I would have taken the rocket home! However I just pointed out the rocket overdose was not needed and to be fair the waiter did agree and confirmed he would point this out to the kitchen. Unfortunately we did not have room to try the desserts but finished with a cafitiere of coffee which rounded the meal off. I am happy to recommend the Bistro dining experience - it was a good substitute for Andersons (restaurant up the road) - that being closed as it was Monday!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OnSafariAgain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2011

Stopped there for lunch on 10/03/2011 and with the fire roaring and the snow coming down outside the view framed by the big picture windows was wonderfull. My wife and I both had two starters and the scallops were cooked to perfection and then the carpaccio of Venison was also fantastic. To add to the quality of the food the waiting staff really helped to ensure that it was an excellent lunch.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PandNorthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boat of Garten
5.5 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
3.3 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
5.1 mi away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#2 of 11 in Aviemore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
3.3 mi away
Fairwinds Hotel
Fairwinds Hotel
#2 of 3 in Carrbridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
4.8 mi away
Muckrach Country House Hotel
Muckrach Country House Hotel
#1 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boat Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boat Hotel

Property: The Boat Hotel
Address: Deshar Road, Boat of Garten, Aviemore PH24 3BN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Aviemore > Boat of Garten
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Boat of Garten
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Boat Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arriving at The Boat Hotel for the first time can be compared to returning as house guests of a close friend, where needs are anticipated before arrival and the welcome is genuine. Where else can you wear your Hunter wellies at 8am, golf spikes at 3pm and dress up or down for dinner? But while we offer our guests comfort, some luxury and indulgence, this is not a stuffy hotel where you can’t sit on the furniture or let your kids enjoy themselves. Nestled in a tranquil picturesque setting deep within the heart of the Cairngorms National Park, near Aviemore, lies the historic and unique award-winning Boat Hotel & Bistro. Adjacent to the renowned Boat of Garten Golf Club, we boast 2 AA Rosette food and stylish yet relaxing accommodations with exhilarating views. The Boat Hotel is a place where you can relax and enjoy your well deserved leisure time, then put your feet up. Hotel Highlights: * Dining options - 2 AA Rosette Bistro & Bar Dining * Range of guestrooms including king bed, deluxe garden terrace & four poster junior suites * Child friendly hotel near Landmark Forest Adventure Park and kids stay & eat free * Meeting & events facilities for up to 65 * Close to the Cairngorm Ski Resort and adjacent Boat of Garten Golf Club Events Diary. Whether you're looking for an active or relaxing break, an inspirational meeting or private dining venue for your next event, planning a fabulous wedding, looking to indulge in a glass of your favourite tipple by the log fire or simply join us for some of the best food in the Cairngorm National Park. The Boat Hotel & Bistro combines historic charm with modern facilities to provide the leading destination and first choice country retreat hotel in the Aviemore area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Boat Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boat Hotel Of Garten
The Boat Hotel Boat Of Garten, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing