We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Last Minute Jackpot!”
other travelers have booked this property
Relax with all the comforts of home
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Relax with all the comforts of home
Fully equipped kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
40 reviews
Relax with all the comforts of home
Fully equipped kitchen
Awake refreshed, ready for a new adventure
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Boat of Garten, Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 40 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Maureen T
Lancashire
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Last Minute Jackpot!”
Reviewed July 24, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Considering we booked this last minute and had looked at several other holiday rentals, this was by far superior to any other available - we couldn't believe our luck! Super location for the Cairngorms, luxury accommodation, only two of us so very spacious, spotlessly clean and every conceivable thing one could want. Quiet site (at least whilst we were there), we even had superb weather. Douglas very kindly provided a very generous grocery pack for our arrival. We were able to do do several very pleasant walks from the site but no problem to get to Aviemore, the funicular up to the Cairngorm plateau, Lake Morlich, again a lovely walk round the lake and up to Grantown on Spey. The WiFi was a bit hit and miss and at £2.50 a day (not sure that has anything to do with Douglas) a bit pricey but at least we were able to keep in touch with family. We went with the hope of seeing some wildlife but that really didn't happen, a red squirrel on our last afternoon, a shrew on a forest walk, a pair of baby red grouse on the moors, we think we saw crossbills and crested tits but we did see on several occasions the steam train that passes through Boat of Garten. Thoroughly enjoyed it and would certainly return and recommend it

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 26, 2017
Thank you for your kind words and for looking after Osprey Lodge so well. We hope you had a safe journey home and would be delighted if you chose to return to stay.
Douglas and Columba
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jun 26, 2017
Thank you for your kind feedback. We're delighted you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
186530Dav...
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Relaxing, comfortable & enjoyable short break in the Highlands”
Reviewed June 12, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Peaceful and ideal base location to tour the surrounding area. Chalet is very clean, well equipped and pretty spacious for a 3 bedroom chalet. Everything in good working order with good power shower and the blue-tooth speakers were a useful unexpected addition. Welcome pack was also a nice touch and enjoyed! Great location for walking, touring or just relaxing in lovely peaceful surroundings. Good for golfers with excellent course just minutes away. Golf Club bar is also nice place to relax overlooking a stunning course & scenic backdrop; serving some good food (look out for the burger nights) and good value too. Look out for the steam train passing by - Worth a visit! There were other restaurants nearby, but did not try during our stay. No complaints, and thanks for a lovely short break!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 13, 2017
Thank you for your kind words. We're pleased you enjoyed your stay and we hope you had a safe journey home.
Douglas and Columba
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jun 5, 2017
Thanks very much for your kind feedback which is very fair. We're pleased you were able to see so much and hope you had a pleasant journey home.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 20, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
May 25, 2017
Thank you very much for your kind words and we're pleased you enjoyed your stay. We'd be delighted to have you back.
Douglas and Columba
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Norma May...
1 review
“Lovely accommodation in perfect location.”
Reviewed April 12, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Short Easter holiday break with my sister and our children (2 x 10 year old and 1 x 9 year old). The lodge is very clean and well equipped throughout. Fresh groceries supplied on arrival very much appreciated. Good location near Aviemore, Landmark, lots of walks etc.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 14, 2017
Thanks Norma. We're delighted you enjoyed your stay and thank you for looking after the lodge so well. Hope to see you again.
Douglas and Columba
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kunder201...
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place to stop whilst exploring the area”
Reviewed February 21, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We had a great stay at this lodge. We booked it for the children's half term week so we could go skiing. Luckily the weather was good to us and we enjoyed 5 days skiing. The lodge is situated 5 miles from Avimore and about 10-12 mile from the mountains. If you are looking for a family friendly pub with a good atmosphere I would recommend the Bridge in Avimore. Also the pizza restaurant is great value for money. In Boat if Garton there are two places to eat and we tried both. If I am honest Anderson's is lovely and well worth a visit. We did not have the best experience in the other place which was the boat hotel. This was due to a two and half hour wait for food. They were extremely sorry and gave us a couple of free drinks, so not all bad! We really appreciated the location of the lodge it is in such a beautiful area... We even had a trip to loch ness which is about 45 minutes away. There is so much to do in the area in all seasons. Douglas who owns the caravan is wonderful, any questions you have he will answer quickly and in detail. The caravan Is clean, cosy and has everything you need including a lovely little food hamper to get you started.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 22, 2017
Thank you very much for your kind words and for staying at our lodge, and taking such good care of it. Sounds like you had a busy week and got to see lots. Douglas
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing