We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Delightful Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Docharn Lodge Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
“A Delightful Stay!”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

My husband and I took our 11 year old son to Docharn Lodge for three nights and we had a delightful stay with excellent hosts, Catriona and Neil. The accommodation on offer is exceptional and not at all what we expected of our first experience staying at a B&B and puts some top end hotels in the shade. Every detail has been carefully thought out to make your stay a memorable experience. Comfortable beds, beautiful decor and luxury bathroom with our own private patio area and the most delicious breakfasts made our stay one which we will want to do again. A great location with all local attractions close to hand. We look forward to our return trip.

Room Tip: We had Room 1 wich private patio area which was ideal for a couple with one child. All rooms are b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2001Angela2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nmm753, Owner at Docharn Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thanks Angela for a lovely review. We are pleased that your stay with us was so memorable and it has changed your mind about staying in B and Bs generally. Hopefully you will stay with us again when you are next in this area.
Kind regards
Neil and Catriona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
100
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

One of the best b&b we have ever been to. Lovely place. Nice room (nr 1 of 3) with direct access to patio and garden. Stunning view. Bathroom a dream. Good breakfast menu, a lot of choice. Strongly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reinhar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nmm753, Owner at Docharn Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope you had a good trip back to Berlin.
Thank you for taking the time to write this review.We hope to meet you again sometime.
regards
Cariona and Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dortmund
1 review
Reviewed July 8, 2013

What a delight to stay at Docharn Lodge! Catriona and Neil were wonderful hosts who were very attentive, generous and charming. We came over from Germany to spend our first holiday in Scotland in June and are very happy to have chosen Docharn Lodge for a three-day stopover which is a wonderful location to relax and explore the Cairngorms. The area offers great mountain bike and hiking trails.

We had a fantastic room with an extremely comfortable bed and a high-tec bathroom. The breakfast was very delicious with a wide variety of fresh and home-made ingredients and a perfect americano. Catriona and Neil, thank you for your warm welcome and great hospitality. We really enjoyed our stay in your beautiful house and we would love to see you again. Docharn Lodge is a must on a trip through the highlands! Barbara and Edwin from Germany

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Barbara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nmm753, Owner at Docharn Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Hello Barbara and Edwin
Many thanks for this excellent review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us recently, especially as its your first visit to Scotland. Lets hope the first of many.
Best regards
Neil and Catriona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 7, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Dochard Lodge in June.It was a wonderful experience the house was beautiful and attention to detail was first class. The breakfast was excellent. Neil and Catriona were excellent hosts nothing was too much trouble and made you feel welcome. We are looking Forward to visiting again. I would recommend the Dochard Lodge to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank f1r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nmm753, Owner at Docharn Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
HI to you all
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us,we enjoyed very much having you here. Our evenings talking about your family tree were great and to think so many came from this area. Neil also enjoyed his round of golf with Malcolm.
Best wishes
Catriona & Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dijon, France
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We stayed a couple of days in Docharn Lodge Guest House and enjoyed every minute of it. The place is luxurious, comfortable and cosy. Catrina and Neil are so nice people. Great breakfast. Excellent value for money. Mylène and Jean Louis

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MyleneCoster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nmm753, Owner at Docharn Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write this kind review, we really appreciate it. We hope you enjoyed your visit to Edinburgh on the way back home and look forward to meeting you again in the future.
Best regards Catriona and Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boyle, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Docharn for 5 days recently. Any traveller to the Highlands must experience this absolutely beautiful house and amazing owners - Catriona & Neil. The genuinely warm welcome, attention to detail and peaceful environment along with the stunning views from your breakfast table is what Docharn is all about. The rooms are not only beautiful but have every possible technology. Add to this a breakfast which is just a culinary delight and we were in Highland Heaven! This place has everything. We can't wait to revisit. If you are travelling to the Highlands, don't even consider anywhere else. Fran & Liam from Ireland.

Room Tip: Just ask Catriona & Neil & they will look after you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frances T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nmm753, Owner at Docharn Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Your kind review is truly appreciated. It was a real pleasure to have you both stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again when you are back in June.
Best regards Neil and Catriona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Couldn't be better. The room was really modern with beautiful furnishing, comparable to a 5 star hotel. The location is 5 minutes from Aviemore by car with a really nice view of the Cairngorms. Breakfast was delicious with plenty of choices and really fresh ingredients. Absolutely fantastic job by the couple who run it, not a single thing I could suggest to improve it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nmm753, Owner at Docharn Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review. We're pleased you enjoyed your first trip to the Highlands - a wee bit different to Perth, Australia! Hope to see you both again.
Best regards, Neil and Catriona.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boat of Garten
1.8 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,228 reviews
2.2 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
5.9 mi away
Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Muckrach Country House Hotel
Muckrach Country House Hotel
#2 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
4.6 mi away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#2 of 11 in Aviemore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
2.1 mi away
Carrmoor Guest House
Carrmoor Guest House
#2 of 8 in Carrbridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Docharn Lodge Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Docharn Lodge Guest House

Property: Docharn Lodge Guest House
Address: Docharn Lodge Boat of Garten, Boat of Garten, Aviemore PH24 3BT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Aviemore > Boat of Garten
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Boat of Garten
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your hosts Catriona and Neil would like to extend a warm welcome to you at Docharn Lodge. Our home is a recently restored steading with spacious oak framed extension and has the latest in sustainable and efficient hi-tech energy systems. Docharn Lodge was designed on a beautiful elevated position to take in the unfolding panorama of Strathspey and the Cairngorm Mountains and maximize the views. If you are looking for that special place to stay in the Cairngorms National Park, then Docharn Lodge is for you. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Docharn Lodge Guest House Boat Of Garten, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing