We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overnight stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Docharn Lodge Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 26, 2013

just back from an overnight stay here, absolutley fantastic, close to aviemore etc but also just far enough away for the peace n quiet we were looking for, views amazing, catrina was a great host and couldnt have done any more for us, breakfast was exceptional, and didnt feel rushed at all, will definitely recommend to friends and we will be back for a longer stay without a doubt :)

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynj2211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nmm753, Owner at Docharn Lodge Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Thanks for this. Although (this time) your visit was short, I thoroughly enjoyed having you stay and hope its not too long before you return. I'm sure your dogs missed you and were pleased to see you when you returned home.
Best regards, Catriona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (163)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

141 - 147 of 163 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2013

My partner and I booked this B&B for while we were on a few days climbing in the Cairngorms. It might further away than other accommodation around the Aviemore and ski centre but this did not detract from a beautiful building and location. The room was large and clean and modern, as was the bathroom. The breakfast was generous and delicious with homemade bread and jams and locally sourced items. For me the real gem here is Catriona and Neil. They were wonderful hosts who put in a lot of effort to make you feel at home and go the extra mile to make your stay as comfortable and as relaxing as it can be. And after day out on the cold, snowy mountains it was hard to beat the roaring, cozy log fire. When I am in that area again I will definitely return.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David_Bettley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nmm753, Owner at Docharn Lodge Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope we might welcome you again when you are next climbing in the Cairngorms. Thank you for this review. Best regards to you both.
Catriona & Neil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

This was so nice here.
Especially as I live in Birmingham and have never been to Scotland before.
The Lodge is Beautifull, clean,quiet, the view of the mountains is excellent. and a nice location.
Breakfast was great, it filled me up all day, especially helpfull for keeping my energy levels going for my first try at Skiing!
Neil and Catriona were very friendly, natural and helpfull with everything.
I will be definately going back, especially now I have the equipment which they both found for Me. Thank you very much. Dariusz

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dariuszdabrowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nmm753, Owner at Docharn Lodge Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Thank you for your kind review, we are pleased you enjoyed your day skiing and hope that you will give it a go again next year. We look forward to welcoming you back to Docharn in the future.
Best regards
Catriona & Neil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We had a really enjoyable stay at Docharn Lodge, the proprietors were warm, genuine and very hospitable. Breakfast which was a very high standard , and mostly local produce a good range of choice, sustained us for the whole day.
As for the room, the bed crispy cotton bed covers and how big was the bed? Bathroom, ultra stylish, the small details including with the toiletries and complimentary gifts made me feel valued.
Have to also add loved the under foot warmth of the underfloor heating!
Oh, and the coffee and home made cakes upon arrival. Enough said!
Definitely going back.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandyyoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nmm753, Owner at Docharn Lodge Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Since you were here, we have had some really great skiing weather! So glad you enjoyed the
Cairngorm Mountains - we're on the lookout for some skis for 'Edski the Eagle'
Thank you for this great review, we look forward to seeing you again later in the year.
Best regards
Catriona & Neil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Fantastic B&B, we couldn't have wished for anything more; the bed was extremely comfortable, everything immaculately clean. Would recommend and would love to return. Thanks to our wonderful wonderful hosts Catriona and Neil.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gemmahartbeeps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nmm753, Owner at Docharn Lodge Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

We hope you returned home safely last weekend. Thank you for your positive review, we really appreciate it, It would be lovely to have you come and stay with us again. We'd also like to wish you luck with your new arrival (boy or girl) in July.
All the best, Neil and Catriona.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

One night away in this amazing guest lodge and my husband and I came away feeling like we’d been away for weeks. From the moment we arrived Catriona and Neil were the most wonderful hosts, so welcoming and willing to cater for our every need (should we need anything), nothing was too much trouble.. the tea and cake on arrival was an added surprise! It’s clear to see that Catriona and Neil have thought of everything and the property reflects all their hard work to create a stunning guest house. Our room was fantastic, the bed was so big I literally never wanted to get out of it. Docharn has the most spectacular views from every angle, it’s the most tranquil, beautiful place we’ve ever stayed at and we’ve already booked another week for later in the year. I cannot recommend this place enough.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barra10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nmm753, Owner at Docharn Lodge Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review, you are so kind. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to your return in May - along with the bikes for your 'intensive' training week, and maybe a bit of golf?
Best regards, Catriona and Neil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

My wife and I have just spent four nights at Docharn Lodge. When we arrived Catriona made us very welcome with a cup of tea and a lovely piece of home made cake. Our room was lovely and the views from the lounge are superb. We got a great breakfast in the morning which kept us going all day. We will be going back.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Redthroat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nmm753, Owner at Docharn Lodge Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

I really enjoyed your visit last week and would like to thank you for taking the time to send this great review. Neil was sorry he missed you and looks forward to a good "blether" when you come next time.
All the best
catriona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boat of Garten
1.8 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,353 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
2.2 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
The Old Ministers House
The Old Ministers House
#7 of 28 in Aviemore
55 reviews
4.7 mi away
Ardlogie Guest House
Ardlogie Guest House
#1 of 28 in Aviemore
532 reviews
2.3 mi away
An Sealgair
An Sealgair
#1 of 8 in Carrbridge
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Docharn Lodge Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Docharn Lodge Guest House

Address: Docharn Lodge Boat of Garten, Boat of Garten, Aviemore PH24 3BT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Aviemore > Boat of Garten
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Boat of Garten
Price Range: $134 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your hosts Catriona and Neil would like to extend a warm welcome to you at Docharn Lodge. Our home is a recently restored steading with spacious oak framed extension and has the latest in sustainable and efficient hi-tech energy systems. Docharn Lodge was designed on a beautiful elevated position to take in the unfolding panorama of Strathspey and the Cairngorm Mountains and maximize the views. If you are looking for that special place to stay in the Cairngorms National Park, then Docharn Lodge is for you. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Docharn Lodge Guest House Boat Of Garten, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing