We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Blissful!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Docharn Lodge Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Blissful!”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

I stayed for 3 nights here while on a training course at the end of November/beginning of December, never a good time because of snow. The weather was freezing but the temperature in the house was well balanced without being dry from central heating. When Catriona opened the front door, my eyes said "oh wow" and when I saw my room the same again. I never sleep well away from my own bed but this was the most comfortable bed next to my own and I slept like one of the logs on the wood burning stove! The en suite was the last word in luxury with Moulton Brown toiletries. I could have been on another planet. Catriona and Neil were such attentive hosts, nothing was too much trouble. I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again. 100% recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pamie21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nmm753, Owner at Docharn Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
It was a real pleasure to meet you and have you stay with us at Docharn. We enjoyed your company and our little chats in the evening and hope that you will return to see us soon. Thank you so much for your kind comments.
Regards, Catriona & Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
100
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 15, 2012

I stayed for one night at the Docharn lodge and really enjoyed it. I arrived quite late and had to leave early in the morning so it was really quick! I really want to come back in the summer when there's longer days so I can explore the area some more.
The hosts were great and my room and the public areas were great. Very modern and clean!
If I'm going up to the north of Scotland I'm definitely staying there again!
Thanks Johanna

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank j0hann4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nmm753, Owner at Docharn Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments. Yes, it would have been great to have you stay a bit longer, but we look forward to meeting you again soon. Glad you made it o.k. through the snow to the airport - thanks for texting to let us know.
Regards Catriona & Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northants
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We feel very lucky to have found Docharn Lodge. It is absolutely superb. Our room was high tec and high spec. We particularly enjoyed the tea and homemade cake on arrival and the wonderful breakfast. Neil and Catriona are the perfect hosts.
Thankyou R & H

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RedwoodNorthants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nmm753, Owner at Docharn Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Thank you both. We thoroughly enjoyed your company while you were here in October and look forward to meeting you again in the future.
Regards, Catriona & Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

What a lucky choice we made here. A wonderfully modern room with all the latest gadgets and home comforts. The location is good too a few miles from Aviemore but very convenient for Loch Garten and also places like Carrbridge. Great views of the Cairngorms, and Red Squirrels in the garden to keep you amused. Neil and Catriona were great hosts, very helpful and friendly. Would recommend 100% if you're heading up that way!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yorkshirerob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nmm753, Owner at Docharn Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us in October. Thanks for sending your website with all your glorious autumn photos.
Regards, Catriona & Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed August 31, 2012

This has to be the most fabulous guest house in Scotland! If Carlsberg made hosts... then they'd definitely be Neil and Catriona! Welcoming, friendly, helpful, and relaxed - what more could we ask for.
The steading is fabulous, no corners cut at all in the design and build - wonderful oak beams, stunning rooms, and beds so comfortable there's no worries of getting a good night's sleep - only problem is forcing yourself out of it in the morning! And a lovely relaxing shared lounge area with fabulous views of the Cairngorms....oh and the best breakfasts ever!

Thoroughly recommended - we'd say it was just like home, but it's not - home isn't as good!! (5 star ratings not enough!)

Thanks for a fabulous few days (L & S)!

Room Tip: All rooms were fab, so any would be a delight! Room 1 has door onto private patio area, but all are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank orchidsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nmm753, Owner at Docharn Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Many thanks for your kind words, we are so pleased you had a good experience here. It was a real pleasure to have you stay . We look forward to seeing you both again soon. Hope the dogs & horses were OK on your return.
Catriona & Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We stayed here when visiting Aviemore because we wanted somewhere a little quieter.
What a find. Absolutely stunning. Neil & Catriona were so welcoming, & their home is stunning.
The breakfasts were excellent, with the best fruit salad we have had. Homemade breads & jam too!
The lodge is in a lovely position with fabulous views. Easy to find even at night, as there are small lights around the roof. Also a welcoming wood burning stove for those chilling evenings.
Ample & good parking.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nmm753, Owner at Docharn Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Well, thank you both for this, you are so kind. We thoroughly enjoyed your company last week as did our other guests. We would love to see you again soon.
Kind regards
Catriona & Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 23, 2012

My husband and I stayed here with a couple of friends for a golfing break in the Highlands at the end of May. We were most impressed with this stunning property which has a spacious, airy feel and wonderful views over the valley to the mountains beyond. The owners built the house themselves and have created a lovely home with all the best fittings and furniture. Chocolates and wine greeted us in the bedroom on arrival, the breakfast menu was extensive and we felt thoroughly spolit by Catriona and Neil who took great care of us. We were able to watch an Oyster catcher which was nesting in the garden through a webcam linked into the house. I'm not easy to impress ( and this is my first review on Tripadvisor ) but it was a first class place.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nmm753, Owner at Docharn Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Hello to you all and thank you for your kind words. We were delighted to meet you and have you stay with us. It was a great weekend. So glad you enjoyed the golf at the 'Boat'.
Best regards
Catriona & Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boat of Garten
1.8 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,230 reviews
2.2 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
5.9 mi away
Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Muckrach Country House Hotel
Muckrach Country House Hotel
#2 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
4.6 mi away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#2 of 11 in Aviemore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
2.1 mi away
Carrmoor Guest House
Carrmoor Guest House
#2 of 8 in Carrbridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Docharn Lodge Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Docharn Lodge Guest House

Property: Docharn Lodge Guest House
Address: Docharn Lodge Boat of Garten, Boat of Garten, Aviemore PH24 3BT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Aviemore > Boat of Garten
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Boat of Garten
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your hosts Catriona and Neil would like to extend a warm welcome to you at Docharn Lodge. Our home is a recently restored steading with spacious oak framed extension and has the latest in sustainable and efficient hi-tech energy systems. Docharn Lodge was designed on a beautiful elevated position to take in the unfolding panorama of Strathspey and the Cairngorm Mountains and maximize the views. If you are looking for that special place to stay in the Cairngorms National Park, then Docharn Lodge is for you. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Docharn Lodge Guest House Boat Of Garten, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing