We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“lovely cottage in a scenic area”
other travelers have booked this property
The patio and conservatory
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The patio and conservatory
Master bedroom The twinn room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
42 reviews
The patio and conservatory
Master bedroom
The twinn room
Heath Cottage
Bright and airey living room
The second duoble bedroom
Heath Cottage
dining conservatory
breakfast bar
Master bedroom
Well equiped kitchen
Landmark Forest Park - just 4 miles away a must for the kids
Cairngorm Ski area in winter. 12miles away and you can visit the mountain all year round
Beautiful Loch Garten , juts a mile away and home to the famous Osprey and RSPB reserve
Green Loch near Glen More - well worth the walk or ride in
Loch Morlich and the Cairngorm Mountains in winter
A great area to mountain bike - you can hire in Boat of Garten
Avielochan
City of Inverness - capital of the highlands - just 30 minutes away
Red Deer Stag - part of the local wildlife
Urquhart Castle and Loch Ness - just 45 minutes to see the monster!
Glen Affric
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Boat of Garten, Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 42 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
froggy64
Chorley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“lovely cottage in a scenic area”
Reviewed June 7, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Had a lovely stay at Heath Cottage, it was clean, comfortable and had everything we needed, the cottage backs onto a peaceful forest where we enjoyed looking for capercaillie etc., and was a few minutes walk from local shop, cafe, restaurant, post office and pub etc., also within easy reach of Aviemore, the vintage steam train is at the bottom of the road which is well worth a nostalgic tour on, a great area for cycling and bird watching and enjoying peace and beautiful scenery, also visited Inverness and Cawdor Castle, the Findhorn valley and so on while we were there, easy to find the place on arrival too. Would recommend the place to anyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location
Liked least: The kitchen door which was in an awkward place thats all!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 19, 2017
Thanks for sharing your thoughts on our cottage, we are pleased you liked it as much as we do. Look forward to welcoming you back. Best wishes Nick and Heather
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cmoore7
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great cottage in a great location.”
Reviewed May 26, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Nice cottage in a great location, well equipped with everything you need. Owners very helpful, local shop and facilities close by and keep bird feeders full for birds and red squirrels. Will definitely visit again, thanks.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 23, 2015
Thanks for sharing your thoughts on our cottage. Look forward to welcoming you back.

Best wishes

Nick and Heather
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lynnie392...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“A comfortable, cosy welcoming cottage”
Reviewed March 8, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We have just spent a lovely week at Heath Cottage which was warm and welcoming and had everything you could need. The cottage is handy for local shops and exploring the area and the owners are very accommodating. You can do woodland walks from the back garden and there is a variety of wildlife to be seen .

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 23, 2015
We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay at Heath Cottage.
We do hope to see you again.

Best wishes

Nick and Heather
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huskytrav...
East ALER
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent accommodation”
Reviewed January 26, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Our 2nd year staying at Heath Cottage and cannot praise it enough. Superb location with woodland walks on your doorstep, excellent facilities, lovely location. Perfect in every way.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 27, 2015
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay again this year. Glad you had snow to for the Husky races, that must have been exciting. Hope to see you again next year.
Nick and Heather
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
917rachel...
Inverness, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent holiday accomodation”
Reviewed January 21, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

Excellent location. Great for walks in the woods. Very well equipped. Clean. Warm . wi-fi/internet. Parking. Really enjoyed our holiday. Owners very helpful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location, the wi-fi/internet, warm and comfortable ,had every thing we needed
Liked least: Only one tv in the property and it was a very small one
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 27, 2015
We are really pleased you enjoyed Christmas in Heath Cottage and the beautiful Cairngorm National Park. We hope to welcome you back again.

Nick and Heather
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian N
Hereford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Everything we needed!”
Reviewed May 27, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage was a little difficult to find, tucked away behind other houses, but, having said that, it was modern, well-maintained and comfortable.
Everything was clean and in good condition, and the cottage contained everything we needed for a comfortable stay.
Very convenient to local amenities - the shop opposite was very handy, and the owners could not have been more friendly - same could be said about the post office down the road.
This was our second visit to the area, and we definitely will return.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 21, 2014
Hi

We are really pleased you enjoyed you stay with us and in the village. We are sorry that the directions were not clear - we have not had that problem before but we have refreshed them anyway. I guess the beauty of the situation is that as the cottage is tucked away you do get the great peace and quiet of backing onto the woods and all the wildlife that brings with it.
We hope to see you again soon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandy6120...
Skipton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrific!”
Reviewed May 3, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Heath Cottage was such a lovely home from home, very well furnished and equipped and we wanted for nothing. The cottage owner (s) telephoned us on the evening of our arrival to make sure everything was ok and said we could ring them anytime with any queries. This was a very personal touch. The cottage was clean and comfortable and the back garden was lovely with daily visits from red squirrels. The local shop was very well stocked and not expensive, the staff there were friendly and helpful. The local hotel The Boat was also very accommodating, we dined out there twice and the second time they squeezed us in as we hadn't booked, but they didn't rush us at all, the food was brilliant. The cottage itself was central to all the wonderful attractions in the Cairngorm National Park, the funicular railway up the Cairgorm mountain was a fab day out, we also visited castles and lochs. Lochindub and Loch an Eilien were wonderful places, both have castles in the loch, the first is a good place for birdwatchers with Black throated Diver and Osprey, the second a lovely place for families who like picnics and woodland walks. I can only say thankyou so much to the cottage owners for having this place for holiday rental, it was a wonderful weeks holiday :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The personal touch
Liked least: Can't think of anything negative to say
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 9, 2014
We are delighted you enjoyed your holiday in our cottage and appreciate the time you spent to let other know how Heath Cottage was for you. Some great tips for other holiday makers too. We do hope to welcome you back soon.
Nick and Heather
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing