We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Winter break 2011”
Review of The Boat House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Boat House
Reviewed December 29, 2011

Wahaay the Boat House,

Thanks again for a wonderfull stay. Spotless clean and comfy as usual and breakfast!!!!!!
Still the perfect place to stay in that area with plenty to do in close proximity.
Richard will be in touch about Easter.Keep us some snow.

John Vi @kids @ dogs

Room Tip: Great family room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 10, 2012

we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us hope to see you again soon

Harry Hancock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (100)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 100 reviews

Reviewed December 28, 2011

I write this review following our second stay at The Boat House. Our first was during the heavy snowfall at the end of 2010 and although the Scottish scenery and temperatures were different this time all things at The Boat House were thankfully unchanged. Once again we were greeted by a warm family welcome and genuine hospitality by the owners Ez and Harry.

The Boat house is set in an ideal situation for visiting the local attractions without paying the premium prices of accommodation at neighbouring Aviemore. There's plenty to do and see all within a short car journey - If you're stuck for ideas just ask Harry he'll offer suggestions and formulate a good day out for you whatever the weather.

Upon our arrival I noted that there's ample off-road parking which Harry meticulously kept clear of snow with a snow-blowing contraption. In fact, it's obvious that the owners keep this property scrupulously clean and well maintained throughout. The bedding smells fresh and clean and there was not a trace of dust in our bedrooms which we found both airy and well equipped. The en-suite showers are really powerful and come with a complimentary selection of soaps and shampoos which is a nice touch. We found the rooms and beds warm and comfortable and always slept well.

Aside from the hospitality the best thing about The Boat House surely must be the hearty breakfast. Ez provides an excellent selection of fresh tasty home-cooked food and even haggis! Fantastic. There's one thing for sure - you won't starve at the Boat House.

To the rear of the guest house there's a quiet garden to enjoy the Scottish wildlife which flock around the well-stocked bird tables - red squirrels and finches in abundance!

Once again we had a delightful stay. Great value for money. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrAngry1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 10, 2012

thank you for your review , it was a pleasure having you stay here with us , we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and hopefully we may get the chance to accomodate you again sometime soon

Harry Hancock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2011

This is a fantastic guest house. Family run which gives it such a homely, welcoming feel. The owners, Harry and Essey are so hospitable, they couldn't do enough for us. The rooms are very comfortable and spacious. Exceptionally high standard of cleanliness and lots of attention to detail (e.g. shampoo, conditioner, shower gels etc).
Breakfast is stunning. Lots of choice and a 'Full English' is most definitely a "Full English" and absolutely delicious!!!!
It is a quiet location but lots to do in close proximity - there is something for everyone and its a very beautiful area.
Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Advisable to book early - we were lucky to get a room as so busy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jersey1812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 10, 2012

many thanks for the review , we are so very pleased that you had a good holiday and stay with us , and glad you enjoyed the full scottish breakfast and highland hospitality , hope to see you again soon

Harry Hancock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2011

I reluctantly have to rate this hotel as lower than average for the following two reasons -
1. We booked a 4 poster room through visit scotland. On arrival the owner claimed to know nothing of the booking and informed us that the room was not available. She said there was nothing she could do and it was not her fault. After some discussion she offered us a room with single beds but insisted it would be the same price. After heavy persuasion, she agreed to offer it for the room it was advertised for on visit scotland. Hardly a bargain!

2. When it came time to check out, the owner claimed that despite the online booking confirmation clearly stating that the balance due was the cost of the booking, minus the deposit paid, we must pay the full cost of the booking. She insisted that the deposit is a commission that the visitor must pay for the luxury of booking through visits scotland. Remember, this was despite the room we booked being unavailable! I tried in vain to explain that the deposit was the commission due to visit scotland for advertising the rooms on her site and was obviously her responsibility. Eventually I just left the balance which she was very unhappy with.

At no time did she accept any responsibility, instead blaming, variously, visits scotland, british telecom, the internet, and me for not booking by phone.

On the plus side, the location is good; the rooms clean, although the beds in our room had very lumpy, cheap mattresses and the breakfast large.

All in all, if it hadn't been for the very unprofessional way in which the mistakes with the room booking and the lack of understanding of the billing process were handled I would have given the place an average rating. It provides basic accommodation at a reasonable cost, but due to the problems I mentioned, I'm sorry to say that I believe that my less than average rating is fair.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gagaryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theboathouse, Owner at The Boat House, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2011

once again we apologise for the mix up .
firstly may i piont out that it was not our fault that we had not received your booking conformation this was due to the internet being down thanks to british telecom up grading the local cables within the village , however on your arrival the 4 poster room you had booked (un beknown to us at the time) was already ocupied so my wife offer you a ensuite family room as an alternative as we had no doubles left.
my wife agreed a lower rate than you origonally booked for due to the mix up , the origaonal rate was £30 per person per night you had booked for 3 nights stay ( and still stayed for 3 nights) this was the rate you booked with visit scotland through their web site you paid a deposit of £14.40 to visit scotland leaving a balance of £165.60 to pay us, my wife had agreed to you a lower rate of £150 due to the mix up not the £165.60 however on your departure and with other guests around you paid £135 and when my wife said that this was not the amount agreed you left refusing to pay the rest of your bill my wife decided not to discuss this further due to other guests.
then around a week later we received a phone call from visit scotland following a phone call from yourself in which it was explained to me that you had stated you had paid the full amount and wanted your deposit back lets be HONEST £135 is not £180 there for i find it astonishing that you have the audasity to write a reveiw as you have normally a family room is the same rate as the four poster not only did you get offered a discount you took it upon your self to have another then tried to get your money back by accussing us of overcharging

we are glad you found our guesthouse clean and tidy and enjoyed your breakfast sorry you found the beds lumpy as for our matresses being cheep thats a matter of opinion

my only regret is that i went to bed at 8.30 that morning after a 12 hour overnight drive back up from somerset wish i had stayed up a little longer to meet you and resolve the confussion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2011

This was a lovely hotel. We booked out a room in the new part of the hotel that had its own balcony. The room was lovely and modern and was cleaned to a high standard. We had a great stay here and would highly recommend it! Breakfast was also really nice!

Room Tip: Paid a bit extra for one of the rooms in the new wing of the hotel - worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Whyte1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theboathouse, Owner at The Boat House, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2011

we are glad you enjoyed your stay in boat of garten , however i think judging by what you have said you were at the boat hotel not here the boathouse guest house ( we don't have any balconies

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2011

My partner and I went to Aviemore with our children to celebrate our sons first birthday, finding the boat was fantastic! Clean, comfortable, good size family room, pet friendly, brilliant breakfast! Everything we could have wanted but there was more.. The owners. Probably the nicest people we have met in ages! They even bought our son a teddy for his birthday, played with our children, recommended good places to eat. Just brilliant! Be confident and assured that choosing this b&b is a good decision! We hope you enjoy as much as we did!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Riley07456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theboathouse, Owner at The Boat House, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2011

we so very happy that your enjoyed your stay with us , we did nothing out of the norm other than my wife taking a shine to the wee one and couldn't resist the temptation , i have to point out that gifts aren't the norm however you were lovely people and we couldn't help ourselves see you again soon hopefully

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2011

A lovely place, very quiet location, easy to find, not too far from Inverness.
The owners were very friendly and helpful.
I had the four poster bedroom but wasn't charged any extra for single occupancy (unlike some other places), this room was clean and tidy, as was the whole place.
The full Scottish breakfast was unlike any I had seen before, enough food to keep you going until teatime!!
would recommend a stay there and I hope to go back there in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tracy_tdm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theboathouse, Owner at The Boat House, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2011

we are glad you enjoyed your stay here , hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boat of Garten
0.3 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,342 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
4.9 mi away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#1 of 11 in Aviemore
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Fraoch Lodge
Fraoch Lodge
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
133 reviews
4.4 mi away
Silverglades Holiday Homes
4.9 mi away
Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boat House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boat House

Address: Deshar Road, Boat of Garten, Aviemore PH24 3BN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Aviemore > Boat of Garten
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Boat of Garten
Price Range: $76 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Boat House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly family run guest house located within the Cairngorm national park near to ski,golf, fishing,wildlife, rspb ospreys,steam railway, climbing, and everything Aviemore and the Cairngorms has to offer etc the list goes on pet and child friendly etc. 1/2 hour from Inverness airport with good bus and rail links too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Boat House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Boat House Boat Of Garten, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing