We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trip "Complete Cairngorms"”
Review of Fraoch Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fraoch Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed August 16, 2014

We had 5 lovely days, the scenery was magnificent, the walking was not strenuous, the off road walks were beautiful. We learned a lot about the counry side, Scotish history and geology. What ever topic, Andy could give an answer.
The cake o'clock was an fine way to close the walking day, Rebecca's meals were tasty and very good.
Just one small inconvenience, the beds are all 2 m. Which is barely enough for a guy of 1.95 m.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebsf1, Owner at Fraoch Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review for us. We always appreciate the feedback and are delighted that you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (133)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 133 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

We booked a stay here as part of 2 day hike in the Cairngorms. They were great hosts and the food was very good.
The hike was also a lot of fun and educational - we got to learn a few winter hiking skills.
Strongly recommend it. But might not b the best option for a family with young kids. Teens and above would probably b the best option.

Stayed: January 2014
Thank J_harazi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebsf1, Owner at Fraoch Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your winter trip with Scot Mountain Holidays. I know you are referring to your winter experience when you say it may not be suitable for young families as we have a lot of people visiting with the kids of all ages from babies upwards during the summer months when there is no snow in the village and we don't have to light a fire in the lounge!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2014

Stayed 5 nights there in july 2014. I found them very friendly.
The accomodation was basic, but you've got to see it in perspective with the price so for me it was ok. Don't expect the same qualtiy as an 70 £ B&B. I had no complaints. For me it was ok.

Pricing of the meals was confusing. 12£ for 2 courses and 15£ for 3 courses. Hadn't had any 3 courses (only 2) but still 15 £ was counted. Didn't made a point of it, because the pakked meals were 5£. That was very reasonable, and I liked the cooking so I was satisfied.

Didn't went hiking in the mountains because I was on a motorbike trip.
I loved the cooking of Rebecca, and the story's of Andy, and of course the story's of Gregor ;-)

Would go back there. Surely.

Regards,
Johan (Belgium)

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Johan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebsf1, Owner at Fraoch Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to respond to us. I have looked through our paperwork and can't find any reference to evening meals being £12. We have been charging £15 for at least 2 years now. I would be very interested to know where we advertised the meals at £12 so I can correct the prices. We do have a current price list by the doors which clearly states £15 for 2 courses; this is also the price listed on our confirmation email for all bookings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2014

Day 1 staying at Fraoch Lodge. Feeling very much like part of the family. Tired after canoeing and looking forward to the delicious dinner smells coming from the kitchen..... :o)

Day 2 - mountain biking, Osprey spotting and a trip home on a steam train. Topped off with delicious home made lasagne, yum !!

Day 3 - hiking, mushroom foraging (porcini) found, then children's theme park getting very sick on rides !

Day 4 - fantastic trip to a cooperage, whiskey tasting at The Glenlivet distillery, then back to Fraoch Lodge for neeps, tatties & haggis in full tartan regalia

Day 5 of our Scottish holiday - cycling and making a pot at the pottery followed by delicious home cooked meatballs.

Last day of our holiday with Andy & Rebecca. Today we did Loch Ness and all it's mysteries, followed by Urquart Castle, then far too hot to go hiking, so we settled for a beer in a pub overlooking Loch Ness.

For a home-to-home experience, you can't beat the welcome at Fraoch Lodge. Rebecca and Andy go above and beyond the call of duty to make sure that their guests can fully enjoy their stay in Scotland. If you're a family with energetic kids then this is the holiday for you !!

Room Tip: Usually in hotels adults & children have to stay in the same room, but this lodge felt so safe t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebsf1, Owner at Fraoch Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2014

Thank you for the feedback. We are very pleased with how the Family Adventure turned out for you. So glad you enjoyed the opportunity to get kitted up as as a genuine Scot. What a great mix of activities it turned out to be.
Hope to see you again in the Highlands again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Just returned from second visit to Fraoch Lodge. It was a great experience once again. Delicious homemade food and a warm family atmosphere. The lodge offers an excellent package for those wishing to walk the Lairig Ghru or Lairig an Laiogh passes in the Cairngorms.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank 107Melly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebsf1, Owner at Fraoch Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2014

Delighted to have seen you back at Fraoch Lodge. It's a shame the rest of the family weren't able to join you, especially as you were blessed with such glorious weather again! Did the photos turn out well?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014

I needed a place to stay for a single night. The website offers two rates: £21 per night if you stay multiple nights and £25 if you stay only one night. The extra £4 seemed fine. After inquiring by e-mail I was told that I could only book a single night if I also booked dinner (£15), bringing the real cost for one night is £40 (almost as much as booking two nights at the £21 rate). Yes this £40 includes dinner, but let me get to that next.

The meal was pasta with a cream sauce and little bits of ham, a salad from the garden, and two scoops of ice cream. It was a decent home-cooked meal and I am attaching a photo. That said, the meal was not worth £15. I shared the meal with the hosts and I would be surprised if the entire meal for the three of us cost more than a couple of pounds (salad was from the garden, pasta is cheap, and I don't think ham is particularly expensive either). I agreed to pay the £15 for dinner because they required it and I have been very impressed with Scottish cooking. This meal was definitely tasty, but not what I expected for the price.

The rooms were ordinary. The place advertises its "green" status often. From what I can tell, this means that they cut back on some amenities that you might usually expect (e.g. towels, soap, heat).

I also had difficulty making my booking. The host was not very responsive to e-mail and did not answer the phone the two times I called. I left a voicemail with a number to call back, but was never called. My only assurance that I had a confirmed booking was that they e-mailed me a bill prior to my arrival.

I do not recommend this place, especially if you are looking for a place to stay for a single night. I should add that it was not particularly busy when I went (I was the only one staying in the annex), so the penalties for staying a single night made even less sense. You’d think that with so many empty beds they would do more to draw customers in rather than try to squeeze the ones who do come for every penny. As other reviewers have stated, this seemed particularly short-sighted.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AM_0205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebsf1, Owner at Fraoch Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2014

I'm sorry that I forgot to offer towels; we must improve our signage and offer guest information folders so that it is obvious we can provide towels though we choose not to provide them as a matter of course in the rooms.

Our pricing structure is what it is. It is more work to change rooms on a daily basis, which creates more laundry and hence costs more - therefore we charge more. We do however offer free accommodation to under 5s who stay more than one night with their parents. Children aged 5 - 11 are then half price.

Most of our guests also genuinely appreciate the fresh, hand picked produce which is offered as a part of the meals.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2014

This was my second stay at Fraoch Lodge. The first time I was a Wwoofer and now a guest. Rebecca and Andy are wonderful. The Lodge is welcoming and a perfect place to start hiking tours in that area or day trips to towns and Distilleries in the surrounding. Rebecca's cooking is great. And you are also able to cook your own food in the self catering kitchen.
I traveled with 5 friends and it was fabulous to have the annex with its three rooms for our own.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KonstanzeZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebsf1, Owner at Fraoch Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2014

It was wonderful to have the opportunity to meet your friends and catch up with you again. We are so happy that your first experience of Fraoch Lodge was enjoyable enough that you decided to return on this trip to Scotland.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boat of Garten
0.4 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,317 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
3.0 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Nethybridge Hotel
Nethybridge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Nethy Bridge
574 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Boat House
The Boat House
#2 of 2 in Boat of Garten
101 reviews
4.4 mi away
Silverglades Holiday Homes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fraoch Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fraoch Lodge

Address: Fraoch Lodge Deshar Road, Boat of Garten, Aviemore PH24 3BN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Aviemore > Boat of Garten
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Boat of Garten
Price Range: $64 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fraoch Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite guests in to our home, Fraoch Lodge, to use as if it were their own. You can sit in our lounge in front of the open fire, join us for meals (or cook your own); share stories of your adventures or play board games. We have chosen not to put a TV into the Lodge, but instead supply games and books. We also offer guiding services for walks and tours around our local area showcasing places which enhance your knowledge of our area; some of which you may well not have heard about. We have a single room and a triple room, but most of our rooms are twins. 2 Rooms have private bathroom facilities. Some rooms can be combined to offer as family accommodation areas. We hope to see you in the Highlands of Scotland shortly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Fraoch Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fraoch Lodge Boat Of Garten, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing