We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect, just perfect”
Review of Fraoch Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fraoch Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed April 13, 2014

OK, so:

bed: comfy
shower: always hot
rooms: clean
wifi: free
breakfast: delicious
owners: lovely and welcoming
location: incredible for walking, birdwatching, cycling etc
nearby: anderson's restaurant has delicious food
also: kitchen for self catering with loads of pots, pans etc, quality walking advice

I don't think I've stayed anywhere better. ever.

Room Tip: they all seemed lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cmbe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebsf1, Owner at Fraoch Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2014

Thank you - so happy to hear that you were comfortable and enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (133)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 133 reviews

Reviewed March 21, 2014

The whole family made us all feel welcome. Great food. Very comfortable and hospitable. Used the Lodge as basis for ski touring and walking for a weekend. It worked very well and Andy was a great resource. I liked the way the family joined us for meals. Nice touch.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SimonM2110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebsf1, Owner at Fraoch Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2014

Thank you for your feedback. We feel that sitting and eating with our guests is invaluable. We enjoy it and we're glad to hear that you do too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014

Great place to relax after a day in the hills, good home cooked food, real fires and cake o'clock. It's just what you need!

The hosts Andy, Rebecca and Gregor all go out of there way to make your stay as comfy as possible.

For me, it's home from Home.

Well priced and good weather & route advice is always available from Andy.

Andy W

Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
Thank Mcchopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebsf1, Owner at Fraoch Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2014

Thank you - I'm glad we managed to make you feel at home as this is our primary aim for all our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

If you want to experience the ultimate in Arctic Winter conditions in the Cairngorms with expert navigation, Andy Bateman is your man, you will not find anyone better in this environment. He is an expert in his field, he has many years experience in this specific area and his knowledge of the Cairngorms is immense.
The Scot Mountain Team go out of their way to provide you with that little bit of extra personal service and care to make your holiday an enjoyable and memorable experience. The food provided and home cooked by Rebecca is exceptional! the accommodation is warm and friendly. You would be foolish to go anywhere else.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebsf1, Owner at Fraoch Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2014

Thank you - hope you make it up again. Always a pleasure to see you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Still relishing the warm glow from yet another fantastic stay at Fraoch Lodge. Wee Gregor, Rebecca and Andy truly make it feel like a home from home. This time my 13 year old daughter and I enjoyed 5 days of Andy's expert tuition on the hills, where he'd arranged bags of snow, wind, sun and white-out conditions - depending on the skills on offer for each day. It took no time for us to get used to returning for cake-o-clock and having a wholesome evening meal cooked for us each night.
Being of the adventurous persuasion, I never normally go to the same place twice. I guess there are many good reason why I make an exception here!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Max L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebsf1, Owner at Fraoch Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2014

Thank you, Max. Next stop - snowholing!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

My friend and I spent a very enjoyable 4 nights at Fraoch Lodge in January. The lodge was warm, comfortable and deceptively large. The food was excellent and there was ample for everyone. The owners and their son were very welcoming and so were the other guests. There was lots of interesting conversation. I'd definitely go back.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebsf1, Owner at Fraoch Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to give us such excellent feedback. We hope to see you again when the snow returns.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Had a lovely stay in the home of Andy and Rebecca where you really did feel part of the family; sharing dining and living space with wood burners and open fires, and Rebecca's wholesome homegrown food. Lovely cosy place with firm beds, and did I mention the food? 'Cake o'clock' is a great tradition I may try and start at home - a lovely vision to pull you on when the legs are tiring out on the mountain. Excellent guiding by Andy who took our relative winter walking inexperience into account to provide a walk that was exhilarating but well within our capabilities. Overall a great value place with great green credentials too - comfort with a conscience, what more could we want?

Room Tip: We stayed 'upstairs' which was cosy - some rooms have a separate entrance to the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolehdb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boat of Garten
0.4 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,317 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
3.0 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Nethybridge Hotel
Nethybridge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Nethy Bridge
574 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Boat House
The Boat House
#2 of 2 in Boat of Garten
101 reviews
4.4 mi away
Silverglades Holiday Homes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fraoch Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fraoch Lodge

Address: Fraoch Lodge Deshar Road, Boat of Garten, Aviemore PH24 3BN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Aviemore > Boat of Garten
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Boat of Garten
Price Range: $64 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fraoch Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite guests in to our home, Fraoch Lodge, to use as if it were their own. You can sit in our lounge in front of the open fire, join us for meals (or cook your own); share stories of your adventures or play board games. We have chosen not to put a TV into the Lodge, but instead supply games and books. We also offer guiding services for walks and tours around our local area showcasing places which enhance your knowledge of our area; some of which you may well not have heard about. We have a single room and a triple room, but most of our rooms are twins. 2 Rooms have private bathroom facilities. Some rooms can be combined to offer as family accommodation areas. We hope to see you in the Highlands of Scotland shortly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Fraoch Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fraoch Lodge Boat Of Garten, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing