We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a group getaway”
Review of Fraoch Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fraoch Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed November 6, 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights, with a group of 9 other cyclists. We were the only people staying at that time, so we had the house to ourselves. I stayed in the main house, in the triple room upstairs, which had use of a shower room shared with the double room across the corridor.
The bedrooms and shower rooms were warm, clean and comfortable.
Andy, who also arranges a variety of mountain/ walking tours, was a great host and a very interesting guy, who enjoys chatting with guests. Rebecca is in charge of the catering. We opted for evening meals and breakfast, which were good. A great place to stay with a large group of friends. Great value for money.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the main house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ali M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (133)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 133 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2012

would reccomend a stay here very friendly and helpful owners, I spent 3 nights recently as part of a cycling group, we were made to feel very welcome, lovely warm comfortable rooms and delicious food, Andy the owner was a great host, the Froach Lodge is excellent value for money will definately make a return visit

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ciclista w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Went with our cycling group for 3 days and had a wonderful time.Andy and Rebecca were so welcoming and friendly and joined in with all the fun we had planned for our evenings. Even their lovely wee lad Gregor joined in. The rooms were clean, warm and cosy and the beds very comfortable. As for the food...wow!! Lots of choice, the best sticky toffee pudding ever...and everything was so fresh and locally sourced. Breakfast of porridge and home made bread and jams and marmalades set us up for some fabulous cycling. What a lovely find...and I have stayed in my many outdoor centres in this area, but this gets my top vote!!!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank owenEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Went with a group for a geology weekend. Warm welcome followed by a delicious meal (Rebecca was gathering the vegetables just before they were cooked!) and a very comfortable night. Everything seemed to be no trouble to our hosts. Breakfasts were really good too! Have recommended it to several people already and hope to go back myself!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiona S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

I stayed here with a group, the hosts went out of their way to make us welcome and comfortable and Fraoch Lodge has much more to offer than a typical hostel with comfort and service - tea and cake, lovely fire, advice and local information. Food was excellent.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angus M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

I stayed at Fraoch Lodge for five nights and I absolutely recommend it. It is a family run B&B with strong emphasis on being eco-friendly; rooms are very simple, clean and cozy; bathrooms are shared but well maintained and clean; breakfast is good with excellent home baked bread and home made marmalade and there is an option to choose a cooked breakfast. The dining room and lounge are cozy and convivial with stoves and fireplace and there is a kitchen at guests disposal if you wish to cook.
Yes there is a 'no-shoes' policy, waste recycling rules and you have to strip your own bed on departure, but owners Andy and Rebecca are welcoming, friendly and helpful and show genuine interest in their guests.
Andy is a fantastic guide if you want to explore the Cairngorms and Scotland and if you have the opportunity try Rebecca's great cakes and dinners.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2011

We have stayed here at Fraoch Lodge many times and have always found the owners to be friendly and attentive. The home made cooking is excellent and a lot of love and care quite obviously goes into it as you'll find Rebecca's recipes are very unique and original.
The 'light' breakfast does what it says on the tin, personally we love being treated to home made bread and jam and have stayed in many places where they will not even consider you making porrige!
Andy is a fountain of knowledge about the area, the mountains, the flora and fauna, there isn't a subject you can't discuss with him.
On our recent stay, the rooms were very clean, homely and cosy, it took 2 mins to strip our bed, no problems if it helps to maintain those fab prices staying in such a beautiful area. Cosy fires were lit for us, tea on the brew all the time!
We couldn't ask for more, many thanks.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Polly431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boat of Garten
0.4 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,317 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
3.0 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Nethybridge Hotel
Nethybridge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Nethy Bridge
574 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Boat House
The Boat House
#2 of 2 in Boat of Garten
101 reviews
4.4 mi away
Silverglades Holiday Homes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fraoch Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fraoch Lodge

Address: Fraoch Lodge Deshar Road, Boat of Garten, Aviemore PH24 3BN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Aviemore > Boat of Garten
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Boat of Garten
Price Range: $64 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fraoch Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite guests in to our home, Fraoch Lodge, to use as if it were their own. You can sit in our lounge in front of the open fire, join us for meals (or cook your own); share stories of your adventures or play board games. We have chosen not to put a TV into the Lodge, but instead supply games and books. We also offer guiding services for walks and tours around our local area showcasing places which enhance your knowledge of our area; some of which you may well not have heard about. We have a single room and a triple room, but most of our rooms are twins. 2 Rooms have private bathroom facilities. Some rooms can be combined to offer as family accommodation areas. We hope to see you in the Highlands of Scotland shortly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Fraoch Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fraoch Lodge Boat Of Garten, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing