We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect pie and a pint!”

Anderson's Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $25
Cuisines: Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: WelcomeWhether you've something to celebrate, are at the end of a hard day's walking in the hills, or simply fancy a break from cooking at home, it is our wish at Anderson's that you all feel welcome. Forget pretence, the atmosphere here is relaxed and informal, so sit back, switch off, and savour the pleasure of great food and drink. Local Produce At Anderson's we are committed to using local Scottish produce when it is in season, so needless to say, our menu changes each month, along with our daily specials. Each dish is lovingly prepared and bought together in such a way as to bring out the very best of truly great, fresh ingredients. Although our menu is creative, our aim is simple, to present you with food that we are confident you will enjoy, and that tastes fantastic.Family Friendly The whole family is welcome at Anderson's, and it is important to us that everyone can tuck into something they will enjoy. So for children we can either offer half portions of anything on the menu, or for specific likes or dislikes, please feel comfortable to say, and the chef will be happy to come up with something to suit- within reason! Similarly please make us aware of any special dietary requirements you may have.“It’s great to see a restaurant like Andersons opening up in Boat of Garten. Owners Steve and Claire have put a huge amount of thought and effort into their set up, and their intended philosophy of utilizing the best of Scottish produce should be a real boost to the local restaurant scene. I wish them every success for the future.” Nick Nairn
Reading
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A perfect pie and a pint!”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Book ahead! This restaurant is just the ticket. They do a great pie and pint of local ale deal during the week. The service was excellent, really friendly and seems to be popular with the locals.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Louise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    527
    152
    29
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenlaw, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Special Find”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Recommended to me when walking my dog in Aviemore! .......and did not disappoint at all. Boat of Garten is a short drive or steam train ride away and Andersons is a brilliant find whether for lunch or dinner. It is popular and I booked. The lunch menu was absolutely gorgeous. My wife has not stopped raving about the seafood risotto until she got back into the garden when we got home. The home made ice cream was exciting with flavours like raspberry and black pepper! A potato flavour was listed but I gave that a miss. Best food in the area. Finally, the best surprise - a very reasonably priced meal with drinks.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kim516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“What a find !”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We were recommended to try this restaurant. We did try the Boat Hotel but it was expensive and nothing special. Anderson's however ticks all the boxes, small, friendly & excellent food & service. One not to miss.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank camvad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Superb!!”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Couldn't fault the place - great food with plenty of local ingredients; friendly and attentive staff; bright and fresh décor. BYOB on a Sunday evening - excluding July and August - and the Wednesday 'Pie Night' are big winners. Would definitely book in advance as the restaurant is VERY popular and rightly so - don't miss it!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JGSF5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely food, great service and cosy ambience”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We went to Andersons to celebrate a family birthday with a party of fourteen. From the start of the evening the service was very friendly and the food was excellent. The young staff were very obliging and were well trained and the restaurant had a nice family owned feel to it. All the courses arrived at the same time, which in small restaurants doesn't always happen for a large party.
I would really recommend Andersons, and will definitively return when I am in this area again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Iain S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anderson's Restaurant also viewed

Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 

Been to Anderson's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing