We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful cottage in lovely peaceful location”
other travelers have booked this property
The Old Granary.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Old Granary.
Front door to cottage Devon cream tea
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
39 reviews
The Old Granary.
Front door to cottage
Devon cream tea
Granary lounge
Wood burning stove
Kitchen
Morning coffee
King size bed
Spiral staircase
relax on the balcony
En-suite shower room
steamers in the private garden
Views from the garden and balcony
Welcome flowers from the gardens
Some essentials provided in welcome pack
Morning coffee.
Done roaming!
Sunset from the Granary bedroom window.
Uninvited guests!
Relax in the garden.
Owlacombe Mill.
Owlacombe Mill thanks to google earth.
The new pond is filling nicely.
February 2018 snow in the valley first since 2013.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Winkleigh, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Hilary S
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful cottage in lovely peaceful location”
Reviewed September 16, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

If you love the countryside and peace, this is the place for you. The cottage is lovely and next door to the owners' property. The owners are great and couldn't be more helpful and friendly. It is a wonderful place to relax and, although very secluded, it is easy to get to lots of beautiful places for days out. We particularly enjoyed seeing the amazing variety of birds out of the windows, on the feeders. This was our second visit and the cottage is always very welcoming (with delicious scones) and extremely clean. We would definitely return.

Date of stay: July 2016
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 17, 2016
Thank you for the great review. We very much look forward to welcoming you both back very soon. I may even have worked out a recipe for the scones by your next visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 9, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Date of stay: September 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: there is some damp in the walls but a de-humidifer is provided
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Sep 12, 2016
Thank you for your review. Sorry about the poor wifi sadly the joys of rural living. Nice excuse to have a few days disconnected from the outside world! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Next time you will have to stay longer.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 22, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Date of stay: August 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Aug 24, 2016
I know we keep saying it but it is a pleasure for us to share our quiet corner of Devon with such lovely people. So glad you enjoyed your stay. Come back for a visit again soon, maybe when the pond is finished so that you can enjoy a refreshing dip!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
PhileasDe...
Devon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed January 1, 2016 for a stay in December 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Owlacombe Mill could be a very good place to stay; close to lots of places of interest and nestling in a beautiful valley. However, the owners omitted to tell us ahead of time that there is significant building work going on directly in front of the cottage. This was very noisy at times and very dirty in the parking space. So, not the "unspoilt, tranquil woodland" described on their website. Also, there is no wifi in the The Old Granary, contrary to the list of amenities on tripadvisor's website. My wife and I would not recommend this cottage for a tranquil stay until the building work is finished. The owners did what they could to ameliorate the situation (apart from warning us ahead of time) but our week there was overshadowed by disappointment.

Date of stay: December 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful area
Liked least: Building site close by
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 2, 2016
We are very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay at Owlacombe. As we explained to you at the time the property across the valley is not ours and the renovation work taking place there, builders, noise and mess is beyond our control. The renovation work is near completion now but has been delayed by 8 weeks so far due to reasons again beyond our control. The Wi if in the cottage can be tempremental, 16th century cob and stone walls and a very slow internet connection in this part of North Devon certainly don't help. The joys of rural living. Farm machinery, muddy lanes and December heavy rain fall do make the parking area muddy at times. We do regularly pressure wash the area to keep the space clean. If future guests planning a stay are concerned about this review please feel free to contact us directly.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farine201...
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Highly recommended, perfect for relaxation”
Reviewed August 21, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Great location for a weekend getaway. Carol and Gareth are friendly hosts. Would definitely book again.

Date of stay: March 2015
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed April 9, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Date of stay: April 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Anna M
1 review
“A little bit of heaven in Devon”
Reviewed September 17, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We have just returned from a 4 night stay in this delightful cottage. Gareth and Carol were so welcoming and able to give us lots of useful tips for things to do and places to eat in the area. As a young couple we enjoyed using the cottage as a base for various activities (coast walks, beaches etc) and yet it was lovely to know when you got back you could really relax in comfort. We loved lighting up the little wood burner to bring a really snuggly feeling. The cream tea and the wine were gratefully received and consumed with great pleasure, although not together! Thanks again for a lovely stay.

Date of stay: September 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 22, 2014
It was lovely to welcome you both back to Owlacombe. So glad to hear you enjoyed your stay, there are so many beautiful places to visit in North Devon. Lots of hidden gems. We very much look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing