We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect relaxing escape!”
other travelers have booked this property
The Old Granary.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Old Granary.
Front door to cottage Devon cream tea
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
39 reviews
The Old Granary.
Front door to cottage
Devon cream tea
Granary lounge
Wood burning stove
Kitchen
Morning coffee
King size bed
Spiral staircase
relax on the balcony
En-suite shower room
steamers in the private garden
Views from the garden and balcony
Welcome flowers from the gardens
Some essentials provided in welcome pack
Morning coffee.
Done roaming!
Sunset from the Granary bedroom window.
Uninvited guests!
Relax in the garden.
Owlacombe Mill.
Owlacombe Mill thanks to google earth.
The new pond is filling nicely.
February 2018 snow in the valley first since 2013.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Winkleigh, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
BMCD_13
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect relaxing escape!”
Reviewed May 6, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Really enjoyed our weekend getaway at The Old Granary. Perfect location to get away from it all, but also perfectly placed to explore a bit of Devon further. Getting there was fine with sat nav, and the welcome of scones on arrival were to die for! Loved the food, atmosphere and ales in The New Inn which is in easy walking distance, and chilling out in the private garden in the hammock and enjoying a BBQ before settling down by the wood burner was also amazing. Carol and Gareth were perfect friendly hosts and happy to help with anything we needed. Definitely would love to come back for a longer stay sometime! Thanks again!

Date of stay: May 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, Arrival scones and bottle of wine
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 7, 2014
The hammock, peace and tranquility are all awaiting your return. See you both soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exmoor National Park, United Kingdom
Reviewed April 23, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Date of stay: April 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything was perfect
Liked least: Nothing - other cottage owners should aspire to these standards
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jul 7, 2014
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. We will keep the log store topped up for your return visit. Can't beat a snuggle by the fire any time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 19, 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Date of stay: February 2014
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Feb 23, 2014
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your romantic Valentine weekend and the cottage surpassed your expectations.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
SEllis74
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Owlacombe Mill”
Reviewed February 2, 2014 for a stay in February 2014

I booked Owlacombe Mill for a 2 night escape for my other halves birthday and it met and exceeded all my expectations. Finding the perfect retreat for 2 without the usual dated interior took me some time but Owlacombe came up trumps. Inside the cottage is modern yet cosy with all the finishing touches including freshly baked scones and a bottle of wine on arrival. The attention to detail is fantastic, everything from the welcome scones, bread, eggs etc to a stocked bookshelf, cards, games and even a picnic hamper if you need it. We saw more than our fair share of rain this weekend but we still managed to enjoy it with a few DVDs in front of the fire (logs are provided and just when we thought we'd run out the box had been topped up without us even asking!) and a night out at the superb gastro pub, the New Inn within walking distance. The little village of Roborough is lovely and the pace of life so relaxed that as usual, we never want to leave Devon! Thank you Carol and Gareth for a lovely escape, we hope to be back soon .

Date of stay: February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 3, 2014
Come and stay for longer next time and really relax and enjoy the peace and tranquility here. Owlacombe has quite a magical effect on our guests, tell all your friends, its good to share! Thank you both for the good review see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
axtex
London
2 reviews
“The perfect escape!”
Reviewed December 21, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

I live in London and was looking for a short 'escape' from the city for me and my partner.
We were greeted with warm scones from the oven with clotted cream and jam and a lovely bottle of red wine! Both Carol and Gareth were friendly, welcoming and helpful.
The cottage was excellently presented, the bed especially comfortable with a perfect view over green rolling hills, the log burner created a warm and romantic atmosphere.
Thank you again for an amazing and relaxing stay, we look forward to being there again soon.

Date of stay: April 2013
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 26, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We are very pleased that you and your partner enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
140JaneG
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Highly recommended, well equipped cottage perfect for relaxation.”
Reviewed November 2, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Carol and Gareth were the perfect hosts. The cottage was super. The scones delicious. A real treat for a couple of days. We will certainly try to book again.

Date of stay: October 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Tranquility
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 11, 2013
Glad you enjoyed your stay. Perfect escape from your work and children! We look forward to seeing you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barbandst...
Broadhembury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Rural delight in Devon”
Reviewed October 21, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Can recommend this cottage for its location, comfort and decor, and the genuine hospitality of the owners.

Sleep in great comfort to the sound of water in the mill stream, all amenities available with style and lovely walks either around the Woodland Trust acreage or to the New Inn for a good range of beers and open fire.

Our hosts made this visit memorable and we cannot return soon enough.

Date of stay: October 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and tranquiliity
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 27, 2013
So glad you enjoyed your short break. Any time you need to escape to our little piece of Heaven in Devon get in touch. We would love to welcome you both back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing