We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK,but nothing special!”
Review of The Kings Arms

The Kings Arms
Ranked #5 of 6 Restaurants in Winkleigh
Price range: $6 - $15
Cuisines: British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Re-opened with the team currently operating the Seven Stars, Winkleigh, Mark and Karen Landon with team Angels, are please to welcome you to the new look Kings Arms! With new Staff, A Brilliant Chef, a new Menu, a new Range of Beers and Wines and a new Direction! We have taken the Kings Arms back to (and vastly improved on), the good old days of this wonderful establishment! So why not give our charming village thatched pub restaurant a try? We will be pleased to see you!
West Sussex
Level Contributor
229 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“OK,but nothing special!”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We visited (two couples) one evening while on holiday in a near-by village.
The welcome was not particularly friendly and the service slow.
A fairly average 'pub' menu (fish & chips,steal & kidney pie,etc).The food varied from average to good,but nothing special.
We knew the Kings Arms some years ago when it had a busy,friendly,welcoming atmosphere with superb food. Overall,we were a little disapointed.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BOBOK777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    17
    8
    10
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
devon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“90 minutes wait for starters - really?”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We have lived locally for over 10 years and have had some of our most enjoyable nights out in this pub. i had heard it had changed hands but didnt worry too much. Our party of 6 had a table booked for 7pm. Nobody had taken our order by 8.00 and we were getting peckish to say the least. A very grumpy waitress arrived at the table to take the order, returning late to say that they had run out of garlic mushrooms and that there was no bread !
We had to go to the bar to fetch the wine which was almost thrown at us, with the screw tops still in, and no glasses were offered either.
When the mains arrived things got worse, the chips and onion rings were undercooked and slimey, the usually delicious peppercorn sauce was horrible had so many peppercorns in it we were still picking them out of our teeth the next day.
When the plated were collected and we were asked if it was all right , i said no as we had left most of it - no reaction from the grumpy one. Whilst paying the bill I spoke to the landlady who offerd me a bottle of wine to take home which i refused, she blamed shortage of staff but when you are paying over £200 for a pub meal , this is no excuse.
we left , having a £20 discount and will never return to our once favourite pub grub venue.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DevonJaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A great pub but only eat if the regular chef is working.”
Reviewed August 9, 2012 via mobile

Having been to The Kings Arms twice in a week I think it's fair to give an average review. We had a lovely pub meal in Saturday but there has been a change in chef during recent days which has been the downfall of this lovely pub. A meal for 4 (comprising just 3 main courses in total) would, you expect, be fairly quick and easy. It was in all honesty quite shambolic with nothing arriving together, under cooked pasta, garlic & naan breads advertised as accompaniments but missing, and a general lack of care. I am no chef but could have prepared what we ordered in less time and to a higher standard. The landlady made an excuse not an apology and blamed her temp chef. As we were one of the earliest tables to be fed, I dare say the 20 or so hungry diners behind us would be left in the first instance waiting and secondly most dissatisfied. Not value for money with the temporary chef, let's hope the normal chef doesn't get tarred with the same reputation. We will go back for a drink but crisps from the bar will be as far as our food order goes. What a shame :(

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrsG1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
67 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A lovely surprise”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Stopped off for something to eat on arriving on holiday. Before entering thought it was going to be one of those pubs in a close community where you'd be invading their territory. On entering, was welcomed by staff and locals. The decor was a bit tired, but it was clean. Waited a while for the food, but on its arrival could tell it had all been freshly cooked. It was well presented, tasty and hot. An excellent place to eat and will most certainly return before we go home.

Helpful?
Thank HappyTraveller605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“great place to eat - lovely friendly pub”
Reviewed June 19, 2012

The Kings Arms is a beautiful thatched country pub in the centre of the village of Winkleigh,

This friendly, cosy pub with its happy mix of customers has wood burning stoves and low beamed ceilings throughout the bar and dining rooms. It serves popular and local beverages and pubby food all day.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank gillstonard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Kings Arms also viewed

 

Been to The Kings Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing