We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Otter Cottage”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Winkleigh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wheatland Farm eco lodges
Reviewed March 14, 2012

My wife and I had a lovely 5day holiday staying in Otter Cottage and was exactly what we needed and wanted. Lovely small cottage with everything you need for a relaxing stay. The log burning stove was lit every night and heated the whole downstairs very quickly. Ian re-filled the basket of logs in a moment’s notice every time. We used a couple of their bikes for a few hours to explore – Ian wasn’t wrong, it is hilly in places!

Forgot to mention, upon our arrival we were greeted with freshly baked scones! Possibly the best ive had and possibly worth going there for the scones alone!

There is a convenience store a few miles away with a butchers etc which we used. You’re remote but not isolated.

All in all, a very nice mini-break. We’ll certainly think about returning when we need another de-stress!

Thanks to you both

Phil & Emma

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PB0057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (65)
There are newer reviews for Wheatland Farm eco lodges
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 65 reviews

Reviewed March 8, 2012

We had a lovely 6 days staying in Nuthatch Lodge - our very own wooden cabin with views of Dartmoor and roaming chickens! Maggie and Ian, the owners, were friendly and willing to help with anything we asked, lending us bikes (and a spanner to remove front wheels and get in the car), a map of Dartmoor and so on, and so on... Furthermore, they are both really knowledgeable about ecology and the environment, and were eager and willing to share this when we asked. We came away having learnt all sorts about bees, dormice and the marsh fritillary butterfly and its picky eating habits (only one plant variety will it feast on, which makes it rather endangered)!
The cabin was warm, cosy, clean and well-equipped, with an outside balcony which we took full advantage of, lounging in the sunshine and reading.
Wouldn't hesitate to recommend coming here for a peaceful stay, with plenty to explore in terms of walking and cycling - and there's also a jolly nice pub in the village which does good food!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

We got back from Wheatland farm on Saturday after a fantastic weeks holiday. We have a 2 and a half year old girl and it was perfect for her, lots of space to run around feeding the chickens and going on the swings and slide.Tthe lodge we stayed in was fab, nice and warm and clean and on arrival scones and home made jam. Ian and Maggie are so friendly and make you feel really welcome and are doing a great job. We used the local farm shop for our veg and meat which was lovely so please use. All in all a fantastic week away in beautiful surroundings.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lem1Cornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2011

It's really, really not easy to find a holiday location that's all of comfortable, welcoming, beautiful and genuinely child and family friendly but Wheatlands Farm is it. Ian and Maggie are terrifically friendly and locally knowledgeable and you may even be lucky enough to be given some of Maggie's terrific scones on arrival.

We stayed in Nuthatch Lodge with our two boys, aged 5 and 1, and it was perfect. There's enough space for everyone and the child-safe verandah was a godsend. The walks and meadows mean you can have an active and varied day without having to pack everyone into the car and drive for miles. This place is a little slice of heaven in the middle of Devon. One word of warning, if you are not used to driving on narrow country lanes, take the long way round to Chulmleigh. We didn't and collided with a local 4x4 driver. He was terribly nice about it, but still...

All manner of stresses can, however, be remedied by a trip to Fiona's Farm Shop a handy half a mile jaunt up the road from Wheatlands. All the talk of people like Hugh Fearnley and the like is actually happening at Fiona's. Pure Devon butter, milk, clotted cream, homemade pasties, cakes to die for and hot lunches will make you pull your increasing girth up the road time and time again. You can even book milk, a quiche, whatever you need to eat when you arrive at Wheatlands with Fiona and she and her lovely hubby will arrange to have it delivered to your lodge. We'll be back next year - except for two weeks, not five days.

We stayed

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edrive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2011

We were really looking forward to spending some quality time with our two young children during May half-term and chanced upon Wheatland Farm on the internet. We arrived to begin our stay in Otter Cottage with a lovely, warm welcome from Maggie & Ian who made us feel right at home straightaway. Lovely personal touches in the cottage including a pretty posy of flowers & grasses picked by Maggie from the meadow and the gorgeous smell of homemade scones & blackcurrant jam! The cottage is cosy & well equipped and very conveniently located right next to the fishing pond which my husband and children made very good use of (see photo!) We had absolutely everything we needed to hand and our children made very good use of the bikes, swings, treehouse & toys and we all fell instantly in love with Muttley who is a totally fantastic dog! It has been a real priviledge to stay somewhere so special, we really admire what you are doing and have arrived home feeling all " fired up" with lots of ideas of how we can live a greener life at home. For me the best part was seeing our children happily fishing, riding bikes, meeting the chickens and especially Muttley & just having the freedom to be "children" - something we really crave living in suburbia! Devon is a beautiful county and Wheatland Farm is a real jewel in Devon's crown! Keep up the good work and we will be back very soon! Best wishes the Waldock Family

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lizzielonglegs22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2011

We had a lovely weekend away in March with the family and Bella our dog. We were greated with lovely home coooked scones which were delicious. It was so nice to spend some time away from it all just relaxing and letting the children and the dog run around having lots of fun. Highly recommended and we cant wait to go back for another visit later in the year.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank monkeybunn1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2011

We had a lovely relaxing holiday at Wheatland Farm and have been recommending it to friends and family since! We stayed in Otter Cottage for a week in January, and it was cosy, comfortable and warm. We were really impressed with the emphasis on being green, particularly the solar hot water, recycling facilities and bio-digesters. It was a nice touch to be given scones when we arrived, and it was useful to be able to borrow local maps and to have Ian & Maggie nearby if we had any questions! The free bikes were a great idea and were fun for exploring the narrow Devon lanes and popping into the village. It was really inspiring to see the SSSI nature reserve and to hear about all the good work Ian & Maggie are doing to help the local wildlife. If you love nature, peace and quiet and enjoy walking (Dartmoor, Exmoor and the Tarka Trail aren't far away), this is a wonderful place to stay. We hope to return!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PW725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winkleigh
0.0 mi away
Watermouth Lodges
Watermouth Lodges
#5 of 8 in Berrynarbor
235 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rams Head Inn
Rams Head Inn
#2 of 6 in Winkleigh
28 reviews
0.0 mi away
Duke of York
Duke of York
#3 of 6 in Winkleigh
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Clotworthy House B&B
Clotworthy House B&B
#1 of 6 in Winkleigh
73 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Old Parsonage
The Old Parsonage
#6 of 6 in Winkleigh
18 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ten Acres Vineyard Camping
Ten Acres Vineyard Camping
#2 of 3 in Winkleigh
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wheatland Farm eco lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wheatland Farm eco lodges

Address: Wheatland Farm, Winkleigh EX19 8DJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Winkleigh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Winkleigh
Price Range: $108 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Devon eco lodges offer a tranquil haven for short breaks and longer stays. We're an award winning green business, running our 21 acres for wildlife. But you don't need to be super-green to stay - it's for everyone. Choose from fabulous Balebarn Lodge, with its straw bale construction, upcycled style and amazing view, three well-appointed wooden eco-lodges set amongst trees, or Otter Cottage, a converted stone barn with views over our lakes and to Dartmoor. Dogs and children welcome. Close to excellent fishing, traditional pubs, cycle trails and great walks. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wheatland Farm Eco Lodges Winkleigh, England - Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing