We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B around”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Clotworthy House B&B
Ranked #1 of 6 Winkleigh B&B and Inns
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best B&B around”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

Clotworthy House is definitely worth a visit. The owners have spent years rebuilding and renovating an old coaching inn. The result of the families hard work is impressive. The rooms are kept in their original style but have all the modern amenities you could want. The family are very friendly and will help you with any questions you may have. I stayed here for three days in November with my 81 year old mother and our host made us both feel very welcome and at home. The landlady also makes a smashing full english breakfast! Next time I go to Devon I will be sure to visit this lovely B&B again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelghosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
40
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
plymouth
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

Had a great stay last October. Good location. Not far from north Dartmoor and to the north Devon coast. Lots of countryside walks and a lovey village. The local pub unfortunately was not serving food the weekend we arrive as it had just reopened- but its meant to be good! Other good pubs are within short driving distance.
Fantastic hosts, cake and coffee on arrival, and a lovely wood fire.
Very homely, and breakfast 5*!
Highly reccommend.

James (young couple)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank james m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

My wife and I sold and moved out of our Northamptonshire home in the middle of July. We came down to the West Country, looking for a property for our retirement, which we found, in Mid Devon, fairly easily. Initially we stayed in hotels all over Devon.We came to Clotworthy House for a few days at the beginning of August and liked it so much that we stayed for nearly two and a half months. We usually hate b & bs, liking the anonymity of hotels, but there is nothing not to like about Clotworthy House and everything to love.
Sue and John are lovely, generous hosts, always there paying attention to every little detail. You are welcomed into their home, their superbly comfortable bedrooms, you are lavished with a huge choice of breakfast fare.
This is a bed and breakfast establishment that is the yardstick for others to attain to.

Room Tip: They are all good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rexd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

Clotworthy house is as good as it gets. Superbly decorated, great furnishings and exceptionally homely.

Just the most chilled, relaxing B&B I've ever stayed at. Breakfast is amazing, the rooms are first class and the welcome just perfect. Thank you.

Absolute must if your in or near the area

Mark H

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Higgy100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

As three cyclists travelling to Lands End from John O'Groats we appreciated the very warm welcome and delicious home made chocolate cake and tea on our arrival. I can't believe that Sue and John have only been doing this for 4 years as they are perfect hosts and their attention to detail of thier beautifully restored home and the service they provide is just first class. It's definately worth a detour to experience some inexpensive luxury and such friendly service.
My only reservation in recommending Clotworthy too highly is that it will become too busy when I want to return with my wife later in the year!
Thanks again Sue and John and by the way we made it to the end!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

Clotworthy House is the best B&B I have stayed in. Sue and John welcome you into their home with a friendly smile and make you feel welcome from the moment you cross the threshold. I was treated to a lovely cup of tea and slice of delicious homemade cake in the family sitting room before being shown to my fantastic room at the top of the house. It was light and spacious with excellent facilities and a very comfy bed. Breakfast was served when I wanted and was delicious to boot. Both Sue and John couldn't have been more helpful and I felt totally 'at home'. I'd definitely recommend Clotworthy to anyone passing through North Devon

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey Channel Islands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

We were on a business trip and Clotworthy was recommended by one of our colleagues. We were very impressed! Picturesque, quiet location. Beautifully restored spacious property and spotlessly clean, comfortable and tidy. Charming house with attention to detail and a very homely feel. Very friendly and warm welcome. Bedrooms have been decorated and furnished to a very high standard and were extremely comfortable and well stocked with a refreshments tray, television and bathroom toiletries. Breakfast was excellent - spoilt for choice and very well presented - again clean and spotless table, crockery and cutlery. Ample visitor information and literature about the immediate area and county. It was a shame we were on a business trip and on a restricted timescale as we would have loved to have stayed longer. We will definitely go back. I can't praise Clotworthy House enough. Whether its for business, pleasure, couples, singles or families - Clotworthy is an experience you simply should not miss!

Room Tip: Every room we were offered is perfect - we chose a room on the top floor as it had a sofa and separa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Julie15870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winkleigh
3.8 mi away
Fox and Hounds Country Hotel
6.0 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hatherleigh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
4.2 mi away
Rams Head Inn
Rams Head Inn
#2 of 6 in Winkleigh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Duke of York
Duke of York
#3 of 6 in Winkleigh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
5.3 mi away
Meadowland Farm
Meadowland Farm
#1 of 1 in Dolton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
5.3 mi away
Friars Hele Farm B&B
Friars Hele Farm B&B
#1 of 5 in Hatherleigh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clotworthy House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clotworthy House B&B

Property: Clotworthy House B&B
Address: Clotworthy House Torrington Road, Winkleigh EX19 8HR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Winkleigh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Winkleigh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Clotworthy House B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Clotworthy House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clotworthy House B&B Winkleigh, England - Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing