We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, modest, homely Bed and Breakfast”
Review of The Old Parsonage

The Old Parsonage
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Old Parsonage
Ranked #6 of 6 Winkleigh B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Came across this out of the way Bed and Breakfast on a weekend when "Devon was full"

Happy to recommend this modest but charming place to people looking for a taste of traditional Devon.

And when you come, make sure you find out about the very special Pub which can provide a delicious Supper which will knock your socks off.

It's a secret - find out when you go there - it's a taste of real Devon.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (18)
There are newer reviews for The Old Parsonage
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 18 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2013

We spent two nights in Groom Cottage at The Parsonage during the heat wave of July. We were down there supporting my son who was riding in the Hatherleigh Junior Cycle Race. On both nights we ate at the Lymington Arms which is just 2 miles from Winkleigh and is owned and run by Jennie's family. Her welcome is very warm and friendly; the location is serene; the thatched cottage is beautiful within and without; Jennie's breakfasts are superbly cooked, tasty and her porridge is perfect for young athletes! The food up at The Lymington Arms is simply first class with lots of locally sourced meat, fish and seasonal vegetables. Just wonderful. As a host Jennie cannot do enough for you . . . this is hospitality at its best!!

No matter where we are in Devon for next year's racing calendar we will stay at The Parsonage and hopefully for a few days more!

John, Gabz and Hermione Cullaigh. Holmfirth, West Yorks.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheCullaighs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2012

After nearly 2 years I returned to The Old Parsonage but stayed in a different room than before. On this occasion I was in the company of someone who appreciated everything that this glorious old building offers, (in addition to the warmth of the owner, Jennie). After a fabulous nights sleep my girlfriend said "I want to come back here again" and that was after only the first night. It was very difficult to leave on the second day however we will be returning. I love this place and the glorious surrounding countryside.

Room Tip: Book online and when you arrive ask to see the other available rooms - then decide which one you pre...
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yessociety999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2012

Just needed a place for one night after a day's shooting, and there is a very limited choice in this part of Devon. But we lucked out. Despite passing the Old Parsonage in the dark while relying on SatNav, one of Jenny's neighbours kindly came out in the rain and directed us to the large old house. The guest rooms are across a cobbled courtyard in old stables/outbuildings, which have been well converted.

Our room was large and full of old furniture that could kindly be described as "antique", but really the sort of comfortable pieces that we all either grew up with or still have in our homes. We noted the large tea tray with not just the usual electric kettle and rather nice china cups, but also two pieces of fruit cake, which we managed to ignore. The bed was large and comfortable, although the two single duvets led to some tugging and tussling in the middle of the night. The bed linens and pillows were good, but I could have done with bedside lights that shone higher. The bathroom was small, but very adequate, with a decent sized shower cubicle. Jenny made sure she told us to let the shower water run a bit so that it got hot. Good towels and selection of toiletries.

We did some exploring in the evening and found the two local pubs after crossing the churchyard. The Kings Arms was certainly the jollier of the two, with a good local clientèle and a warm, wood panelled atmosphere. The Seven Stars was a more basic establishment, with pool table, fruit machine and sports TV. We decided to have a light snack at the Kings Arms and had probably the worst onion rings ever, while the whitebait (Blanchebait) left a lot to be desired. But the locals were friendly.

The Old Parsonage breakfast was certainly the highlight of our short stay. It was served in the main house in a lovely dining room with good, solid old furniture, plus horse brasses and other collectibles. I appreciated the plain yoghurt that accompanied the granola and the fresh fruit. I ventured into the kitchen to ask Jenny about the cooked breakfast. She left the Aga for a bit to tell me what the breakfast consisted off and told me we could have it all or remove any items. We decided to forgo the fried tomatoes, baked beans and fried bread, but still ended up with two eggs (poached as requested), two sausages, two rashers of bacon, mushrooms, black pudding and toast. Our two strapping fellow guests had no inhibitions, and went for the full Monty with gusto. We left alone the home made jam and GMO free honey.

Definitely a place to return to, although I wish there had been some better pub grub in Winkleigh, even if it wasn't up to the standard of Jenny's breakfasts!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank marleydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2011

If you want history this place has it by the bucketful. The owner Jenni makes you so welcome you would think you are one of the family. The gardeners cottage where the B&B rooms are dates back to the 16th century, so not to good for those over six foot unless you stoop. Our room was warm and jammed full of antiques, but still had a TV and tea and coffee facilities. The ensuite was clean and modern but did not detract from the overall ancient surroundings. The local pub is a short walk away through the churchyard. The breakfast is not for the weakhearted with local produce and plenty of it (full english). My wife and I would have no hesitation in staying here again if we get the chance.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Salisburys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2011

We needed a place to stay in the area for a party last night and pretty much took pot luck. Clearly the Gods were smiling on us; The Old Parsonage is truly delightful, full of character, comfortable and inviting. The grounds were lovely and the house a wonderful trip down the centuries. What more can you ask for? A good breakfast is what: and we were not disappointed. It was to die for which would probably happen if we stayed any longer ; it was magnificant and calories just kept coming, although the sensible option is available, but why waste such a good opportunity to over-indulge. If we return to that part of the World we will certainly go back.

Room Tip: Downstairs suite great if stairs are a problem.
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ANGReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2011

The Old Parsonage and its host, Jennie, are two of Winkleigh's best kept secrets. 11/10. Thanks for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hennypenny58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winkleigh hotels
0.3 mi away
Clotworthy House B&B
Clotworthy House B&B
#1 of 6 in Winkleigh
73 reviews
4.6 mi away
Rams Head Inn
Rams Head Inn
#2 of 6 in Winkleigh
28 reviews
0.0 mi away
Duke of York
Duke of York
#3 of 6 in Winkleigh
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ten Acres Vineyard Camping
Ten Acres Vineyard Camping
#2 of 3 in Winkleigh
21 reviews
Show Prices

Been to The Old Parsonage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Parsonage

Address: Old Parsonage Court Walk, Winkleigh EX19 8JA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Winkleigh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Winkleigh
Price Range: $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Parsonage 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Accommodation consists of 4 double rooms , all en suite. One room also has a sitting room as well. This is on the ground floor. The other three are up a small flight of stairs. All rooms have TV and tea/coffee making facilities. WiFi is available in two of the rooms on request. Breakfast is served across the courtyard in the main house as the rooms have their own entrance. Parking is no problem as can park either side of the main house and as well off the main road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Old Parsonage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Parsonage Winkleigh, England - Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing