We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing...” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Imperial Kushinagar

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kushinagar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Imperial Kushinagar
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kushinagar
Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Disappointing...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

We stayed at the Imperial Kushinagar from April 8-12, 2014 during the low season. We were the only guests in the hotel but were still charged high season rates. There was no hot water (perhaps not surprising since no one else was helping to move hot water through the building). The wifi never worked - for a couple days there was apparently an external problem, but even when the front desk could access the internet, the system was not set up properly - guests could not access wifi. This was surprising since just down the road, the internet cafe's had internet and wifi access continually during that period. The hotel's response was that there was a problem with my computer. This was not true since we had trouble-free access all through India for the three months previously and the weeks following. Finally, we needed transportation to the Gorakhpur airport when we left. The hotel quoted a rate of Rs 2500 and eventually backed off to Rs1800, but the standard rate was Rs 1000 to 1200, according to the travel agents. We eventually hired a car for Rs 1100. This was all very disappointing. Kushinigar is visited primarily because it is a Buddhist pilgrimage site. A good hotel would be appreciated, but our experience of the money-obsession of this hotel suggests it is better to try one of the other hotels or one of the monasteries - the Wat Thai, Tibetan or Sri Lankan particularly.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank John-and-Roxanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    8
    5
    3
    2
See reviews for
4
3
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Varanasi, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013

There is nothing very special about this hotel other than it offers a comfortable stay in this city which gets lots of visitors. The bedrooms are good It has a main restaurant which offers a variety of decent meals and an Indian...

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank VNS TOUR AND T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kochi
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

I was a wonderful experience, staying in The Imperial, Kushinager. Very neat and clean rooms and the ambiance is so excellent. It's a quite silent place near Bhudha Ghat. The restaurant was superb and extremely good service, both room & restaurant. The way they maintain their lobby and front office is superb. It is little bit expensive, while comparing the location with other metros.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jossy_Varkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

The basics are offered, so if one just needs a bed this is fine, rooms are just ok, the food is just ok, nothing fancy, this hotel has no atmosphere, no style and I had the feeling the staff is not trained, does not make an effort to go beyond the minimum required. They seem to be used to deal with Thai Groups, so not a good place for individual travellers (buffet food is timed according to the Groups). Also the place had no internet access in rooms or lobby, although the manager offered his computer at the lobby to check e-mails.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kuno K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kushinagar hotels

Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
273 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

Lovely warm welcome, greeted with a cold flannel and drink while signing in. The hotel was large clean and professional.

The staff were very keen to ensure that all our needs were catered for.

The hotel was ideally situated for visiting the Buddhist sites nearby, although the hotel is on a main road it is situated in its own grounds that removed you far enough away from the road so that you were not disturbed by the noise of the traffic.

The food in the restaurant was excellent.

This was one of the few hotels that were able to let us split our large denomination notes into smaller 100 Rupee notes.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kushinagar, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

We organised Business Meeting at their hall . It was a warm welcome by their professional staff. Exacltly what i told them they followed. Extremely good service. Food was good (4/5)rating. But staff performance very good.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rahulabrol1877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nagpur
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2011

I have booked my package through Indiahorizons site for complete buddhist tour, it included 9 cities, but the most happening hotel was Imperial. Its truly a 5* hotel with 3* charges...
a very warm welcome, with true professionalism...
Jz go n enjoy the true world class facilities.. our stay was of 1 night i.e on 18th Nov 2011, with total 06 rooms, not a single complaint in all 6 rooms...

Room Tip: go for any room, all are excellent, we stayed in standard room..
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nilesh_wagde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kushinagar hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Adelphi Grande
Hotel Adelphi Grande
#3 of 4 in Kushinagar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Kushinagar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Kushinagar

Property: The Imperial Kushinagar
Address: Buddha Marg, Kushinagar 274403, India
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Kushinagar
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kushinagar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 42

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing