We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fascinating - please plan ahead!”

Hal Saflieni Hypogeum
Ranked #1 of 8 things to do in Paola
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: PLEASE NOTE that this site is TEMPORARILY CLOSED. Tours of the site are therefore currently suspended. The Ħal Saflieni Hypogeum is an underground prehistoric burial site, a complex made up of interconnecting rock-cut chambers set on three distinct levels. Earliest remains at the site date back to about 4000BC, and the complex was used over a span of many centuries, up to c. 2500 BC. The Hypogeum was first opened to the public in 1908. Due to its uniqueness, the site became very popular with visitors. Unfortunately, this had a negative impact on the delicate microclimate of the site. For this reason, a conservation project was conducted that also included the closure of the site for 10 years between 1990 and 2000. As a result of these studies, a new visiting system was established. Nowadays, only 10 visitors an hour are now allowed inside the Hypogeum for a maximum of 8 tours a day. This system is also complemented by an environmental control system which keeps temperature and humidity at required levels.Tickets for the Hal Saflieni Hypogeum should be bought well ahead of the chosen visiting date since tours are often fully booked weeks in advance.For more information visit Heritage Malta's website.
Brighton
Level Contributor
287 reviews
139 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“Fascinating - please plan ahead!”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

I had planned months in advance to see this important World Heritage Site. It was somewhat amusing to see others arrive expecting to just walk right in and finding the sign offered tickets 2 months later :) Also, please read the cautions - if you are sensitive to closed or low spaces, or have mobility issues then reconsider and go see Tarxien, Hagar Qim and Mnajdra. First you get an audioguide, then the guide takes you in to view a short introductory video, then you get to visit the site. It is truly fascinating. You need to let your mind go as to what all happened here. It was well worth the visit - and yes, it is a bit pricey, but it needs to be maintained in a controlled environment - all of which is expensive. I'm always happy to help maintain our Heritage Sites.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Ellen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

790 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    540
    138
    67
    23
    22
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Incredible! Maybe a little pricey though.”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

After hearing great things about the Hypogeum from a colleague, I booked myself and my boyfriend tickets for our trip which was at the time around a month away. We just managed to get the last two tickets as everything was booked up, so book as early as you can! It is a little awkward to find and we had to be in Paola for 10am, so we got a taxi from Mellieha. If you are getting a bus from the other end of the island, get the latest viewing time you can to ensure you have enough time and no stressful rush.

The Hypogeum itself was incredible and gob smacking to think how old it is and how well maintained it is. We are 19 and 24 and would recommend this to anybody wanting to see some amazing history in Malta. The audio guide was good and informative, without drowning you in information.

30 euros per ticket now I realise is a bit steep. It was a great experience yes, but more around 20 would've been more appropriate.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Subterranean mystery”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

This is a unique place and for that you pay a hefty price for quite a short tour round. You need to book months in advance because they allow very few people in.
But it's worth it for the experience of this mysterious underground world. It's a subterranean journey of discovery that takes you back in time as you seek the truth behind the man-made caves and chambers from ancient history.
Any bus tio Paola will take you near to the unassuming entrance, and it's a short walk to the Tarxian Temples.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Wayne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“An underground burial site”
Reviewed July 5, 2014

We purchased tickets for the hypogeum several months before our trip. They only allow 80 people in all day...10 per session. There is an audio guide provided and a short video telling about its discovery. Quite impressive how these rooms were carved in 3 levels so long ago about 6000 years ago! We took a taxi from the cruise port to get here for about 15 Euros. We took the city bus back to Valleta with no problems.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Amoyharding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
192 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Most amazing experiences you will get”
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Sure some people might complain that this place is over-hyped but you have to understand that the underground structures trace back around 6000 years, that is about 1000-2000 years older than the pyramids.

The experience is fairly spiritual to think that the creators carved massive underground structures by hand and they are still standing. Please not you have to book months in advanced we booked somewhere around Feb for a visit in May. You might get lucky if you visit in off season but you will want atleast a month as they have a limited number of people that can visit each day. Also note no photography is allowed during the tour but they have secure lockers for your stuff during the tour.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank David I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hal Saflieni Hypogeum also viewed

Qrendi, Island of Malta
Tarxien, Island of Malta
 
Qrendi, Island of Malta
Rabat, Island of Malta
 

Been to Hal Saflieni Hypogeum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing