We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stunning location with much improved hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Loch Melfort Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Arduaine B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 10, 2010

We had stayed in the hotel before a few years ago and decided to stay again principally because it was dog freindly but also because it was under new management. We stayed in the cedar wing, which is a bit dated now but pefect if you are travelling with dogs. We had a ground floor room with sliding windows which means you get a stunning view but dont walk around in your scanties as the lawns in front are open to all. The room was very comfortable but the sound proofing, largely because of the era it was built in isnt very good, so I think those without dogs or who are light sleepers should not opt for that part of the hotel - it looks though as this is in one the verge of redevelopment. The main house rooms look superb and I woudl book one of thise if we came without the dogs but it was relaxing to be able to come with your dogs without being absolutely terrified of them sitting on anything - the view kept them amused though.

The food really is top notch without being pretentious and they can give some of the real foodie hotels a run for their money, on our last stay the food was workmanlike and nothing special. The decor in the sitting room has been vastly improved and they have chairs outside on the terrace which is great if weather is good. Midges may be a problem but I think this can be partial solved by getting a midge eater machine which will kill zillions of them and as they are territorial it can clear an area for an extended period. Oddly the dining room still feels a bit dated but the views and the food mask that. Staff were very professional and freindly.

The location is absolutely stunning one of the best views out to the islands from a scottish hotel. Its also next door to one of the best gardens in the UK which is well worth a visit - at its best in May/June/July

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stephen405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CJRatLMFT, Owner at Loch Melfort Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2010

Many thanks for you review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. You are, indeed, correct in saying that we are to embark on a refurbishment project in the Cedar Wing. We now have planning premission and hope to proceed sometime late next year or ealry 2012. In the meantime, we keep the rooms comfortable and clean and our rates reflect this! We are putting up our prices this year in line with the VAT increase, but this is the first time we have raised the price of a stay in the last 3 years. The main house and our restaurant reflect our aspirations of quality and eventually achieving 4 star hotel status. Please come and stay wiht your lovely dog again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (792)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

703 - 709 of 792 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2010

Our stay here was wonderful from start to finish. The welcome should be regarded as the bench mark for all small hotels - warm, welcoming and making you feel more like a family member than a guest. The view from the bedroom and restaurant are truly spectacular and ever changing. Dinner was superb starting with a lovely relaxing drink in the bar whilst perusing the menu. The food itself was delicious from the venison amuse bouche through to the tarte tatin and coffee with tablet. The wine list was broad and excellently priced without being intimidating. The rooms in the Cedar wing are not particularly well sound proofed but we have since learnt this wing is being upgraded to address this issue. When this is done the hotel will be faultless. Although we left our three hounds at home this time it was very dog friendly and we shall be taking them with us when we next visit, hopefully in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bouddica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2010

Quietly nesteled overlooking the loch, this was my second visit to Loch Melfort Hotel. I had a lovely overnight stay and great breakfast in the morning. The staff were very attentive and friendly. My double room with ensuite bathroom and shower was clean. I stayed in one of the swiss style chalet rooms which connect to the main building. The room had a balcony with a lovely loch-side garden view. The highland cattle at the front of the hotel didn't mind me taking a few photos of them, although I stayed on the other side of the fence. A very peacful and relaxing location.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulSTi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2010

After tea, and then cocktails on the patio overlooking Loch Melfort, we moved to the dining room for dinner at a window table again over the loch. A short but varied menu promised and delivered excellent food with many local ingredients in a very pleasant environment. Breakfast the next morning was up to the same standard, including wonderful Loch Fynne kippers

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chpd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CJRatLMFT, Owner at Loch Melfort Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2010

Many thanks for you review. We always appreciate feedback and are really pleased that you made use of our new decking outside our cocktail lounge to enjoy a few drinks during your stay. The weather last week (and this) was simply gorgeous, perfect blue skies and the views are to die for. It is quite hard to drag myself away to the computer at the back of the hotel!

Colin MacDonald, our head chef, and his team, are fantastic. They work really hard to provide perfection on a plate using as many local ingredients as possible. This year we have introduced organic vegetables from two neighbouring small holdings and they really add to the depth and complexity of flavours in the dishes that Colin prepares. If you fancy coming back for a real gourmet extravanganza, why not treat yourself to one of our gourmet nights on 2 October or 4 December.

Thanks again an hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2010

We stayed for four nights with an ageing parent (he will forgive me!). This is a spectacular hotel in a spectacular position. The loch views are wonderful and the immediate environs are great for walking. Arduaine gardens are a special little extra. The hotel has a wonderfully relaxed feel.
The service we received from all of the staff was beyond reproach, nothing was too much trouble. The food was imaginitive, well prepared and well presented with plenty of locally sourced ingredients. Look after that chef!!
The new owners are embarked on a programme of refurbishment after what appears to be studied neglect by the previous owners. The improved areas are tasteful and sympathetic, some of the rooms are a little 'tired' and soundproofing leaves a bit to be desired (and not a lot to the imagination!) but ours were clean and perfectly comfortable. I am sure that all rooms will soon be 'up to scratch' and this would not stop me recommending the hotel.
Having read other reviews I was surprised that 'seasoned travellers' had not heard of the 'West Coast Midge', we had no problems with wild life.
We all look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scotsphile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CJRatLMFT, Owner at Loch Melfort Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2010

Many thanks for your review. We always appreciate getting feedback from guests and it is especially nice when guests really understand what we are tyring to achieve here - a first class stay for every guest! Our highland cows; Campbell, MacDonald and Dougal are delightful and highly entertaining. Campbell Senior is about to be replaced by a Campbell Junior, so watch out for some delicious organic home-reared beef on the menu at Christmas! Meantime, we also have 12 new hens joining some older birds and 3 new ducks have just been let out onto the pond. They are delighting in the amazing weather we are having here this week. Blue skies every day and warm sunshine. A guest yesterday took a boat trip to the Corryvreckan and saw 2 whales and a golden eagle. So if wildlife is your thing, come back and see us again and we look forward to welcoming you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2010

Visited for last minute break. Everything on the website is true and better. The views are wonderful, the whole aura of the hotel is so peaceful; and the staff are first class. All staff are quite young but so helpful and friendly, nothing is too much trouble. The highligh of our holiday was seeing the Highland Cattle's "playtime". Each afternoon they have a gambol around the field, chasing each other and playing. It's a wonder they do not spear each other with those horns! I never realised such sedate animals played. Just shows, even the animals are happy.
We were in the Cedar wing which has been critisised, not sure why, the noise was less than most hotels I have stayed in, hardly noticed any, and there were at least 3 dogs visiting at the time. Admitted some aspects are a bit tired but perfectly clean. The owners have not been there long, their improvements in other areas are evident. At the end of the day it is the whole experience that counts

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gardeningman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CJRatLMFT, Owner at Loch Melfort Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2010

Many thanks for your lovely review. It was a delight to welcome you and your family for a very important family occassion. Your parents have stayed here for 13 years in a row and we know how special it is for them. So glad that you, equally, had a great time too. Come back and see us again. We hope to have our refurbishment works complete by Spring 2012 but in the meantime, all our staff work really hard to make sure every aspect of your stay is excellent. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2010

I travel frequently with my work but seldom find a location like this hotel.The weather was perfect and the food superb(Apart from the poor breakfasts) but the Cedar wing should be soundproofed.I wish i had been having the weekend the room next to me was having - wow. You hear every little bit of noise through the paper walls . The wooden floors reverberate if walked on and the windows cant be opened for flying locals!! All that said it was relaxing just not for the poor sleeper such as myself.

Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
1  Thank scot41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CJRatLMFT, Owner at Loch Melfort Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2010

Many thanks for writing a review. We always appreciate feeback, both good and bad. You may have read in your room information folder that we have put a planning application in to have the Cedar Wing totally refurbished and on Friday last week planning permission was granted! One of the jobs we will be doing as part of this redevelopment is additional sound proofing in all the rooms. We rarely get comments about noise as most guests are extremely courteous and not terribly noisy. However, I apologise that you had to have your sleep interupted by your neighbours! I do hope that you will come and trial our new rooms and sound proofing when we fininsh the project in May 2012.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arduaine
24.4 mi away
Stonefield Castle Hotel
18.3 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
2,542 reviews
13.1 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
1,841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Grey Gull Inn
Grey Gull Inn
#2 of 2 in Ardrishaig
215 reviews
12.7 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#4 of 13 in Oban
843 reviews
9.9 mi away
Crinan Hotel
Crinan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crinan
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loch Melfort Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loch Melfort Hotel and Restaurant

Address: Arduaine, Arduaine PA34 4XG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Arduaine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Arduaine
Price Range: $80 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Loch Melfort Hotel and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The finest location on the West coast of Scotland awaits visitors to experience this hotel and it's award-winning restaurant, the perfect place for a relaxing holiday or short break at any time of the year... as long as you can put up with the amazing views, the fantastic food, the log fire in the lounge and the selection of malt whiskys! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Loch Melfort Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Loch Melfort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing