We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location and friendly staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Loch Melfort Hotel and Restaurant

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Loch Melfort Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Arduaine B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great Location and friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2010

Quietly nesteled overlooking the loch, this was my second visit to Loch Melfort Hotel. I had a lovely overnight stay and great breakfast in the morning. The staff were very attentive and friendly. My double room with ensuite bathroom and shower was clean. I stayed in one of the swiss style chalet rooms which connect to the main building. The room had a balcony with a lovely loch-side garden view. The highland cattle at the front of the hotel didn't mind me taking a few photos of them, although I stayed on the other side of the fence. A very peacful and relaxing location.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulSTi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

693 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    372
    219
    65
    29
    8
See reviews for
107
463
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bath
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2010

After tea, and then cocktails on the patio overlooking Loch Melfort, we moved to the dining room for dinner at a window table again over the loch. A short but varied menu promised and delivered excellent food with many local ingredients in a very pleasant environment. Breakfast the next morning was up to the same standard, including wonderful Loch Fynne kippers

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chpd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CJRatLMFT, Owner at Loch Melfort Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, September 8, 2010
Many thanks for you review. We always appreciate feedback and are really pleased that you made use of our new decking outside our cocktail lounge to enjoy a few drinks during your stay. The weather last week (and this) was simply gorgeous, perfect blue skies and the views are to die for. It is quite hard to drag myself away to the computer at the back of the hotel!

Colin MacDonald, our head chef, and his team, are fantastic. They work really hard to provide perfection on a plate using as many local ingredients as possible. This year we have introduced organic vegetables from two neighbouring small holdings and they really add to the depth and complexity of flavours in the dishes that Colin prepares. If you fancy coming back for a real gourmet extravanganza, why not treat yourself to one of our gourmet nights on 2 October or 4 December.

Thanks again an hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2010

We stayed for four nights with an ageing parent (he will forgive me!). This is a spectacular hotel in a spectacular position. The loch views are wonderful and the immediate environs are great for walking. Arduaine gardens are a special little extra. The hotel has a wonderfully relaxed feel.
The service we received from all of the staff was beyond reproach, nothing was too much trouble. The food was imaginitive, well prepared and well presented with plenty of locally sourced ingredients. Look after that chef!!
The new owners are embarked on a programme of refurbishment after what appears to be studied neglect by the previous owners. The improved areas are tasteful and sympathetic, some of the rooms are a little 'tired' and soundproofing leaves a bit to be desired (and not a lot to the imagination!) but ours were clean and perfectly comfortable. I am sure that all rooms will soon be 'up to scratch' and this would not stop me recommending the hotel.
Having read other reviews I was surprised that 'seasoned travellers' had not heard of the 'West Coast Midge', we had no problems with wild life.
We all look forward to returning.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scotsphile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CJRatLMFT, Owner at Loch Melfort Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, September 3, 2010
Many thanks for your review. We always appreciate getting feedback from guests and it is especially nice when guests really understand what we are tyring to achieve here - a first class stay for every guest! Our highland cows; Campbell, MacDonald and Dougal are delightful and highly entertaining. Campbell Senior is about to be replaced by a Campbell Junior, so watch out for some delicious organic home-reared beef on the menu at Christmas! Meantime, we also have 12 new hens joining some older birds and 3 new ducks have just been let out onto the pond. They are delighting in the amazing weather we are having here this week. Blue skies every day and warm sunshine. A guest yesterday took a boat trip to the Corryvreckan and saw 2 whales and a golden eagle. So if wildlife is your thing, come back and see us again and we look forward to welcoming you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2010

Visited for last minute break. Everything on the website is true and better. The views are wonderful, the whole aura of the hotel is so peaceful; and the staff are first class. All staff are quite young but so helpful and friendly, nothing is too much trouble. The highligh of our holiday was seeing the Highland Cattle's "playtime". Each afternoon they have a gambol around the field, chasing each other and playing. It's a wonder they do not spear each other with those horns! I never realised such sedate animals played. Just shows, even the animals are happy.
We were in the Cedar wing which has been critisised, not sure why, the noise was less than most hotels I have stayed in, hardly noticed any, and there were at least 3 dogs visiting at the time. Admitted some aspects are a bit tired but perfectly clean. The owners have not been there long, their improvements in other areas are evident. At the end of the day it is the whole experience that counts

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gardeningman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CJRatLMFT, Owner at Loch Melfort Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, September 3, 2010
Many thanks for your lovely review. It was a delight to welcome you and your family for a very important family occassion. Your parents have stayed here for 13 years in a row and we know how special it is for them. So glad that you, equally, had a great time too. Come back and see us again. We hope to have our refurbishment works complete by Spring 2012 but in the meantime, all our staff work really hard to make sure every aspect of your stay is excellent. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2010

I travel frequently with my work but seldom find a location like this hotel.The weather was perfect and the food superb(Apart from the poor breakfasts) but the Cedar wing should be soundproofed.I wish i had been having the weekend the room next to me was having - wow. You hear every little bit of noise through the paper walls . The wooden floors reverberate if walked on and the windows cant be opened for flying locals!! All that said it was relaxing just not for the poor sleeper such as myself.

Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank scot41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CJRatLMFT, Owner at Loch Melfort Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, September 8, 2010
Many thanks for writing a review. We always appreciate feeback, both good and bad. You may have read in your room information folder that we have put a planning application in to have the Cedar Wing totally refurbished and on Friday last week planning permission was granted! One of the jobs we will be doing as part of this redevelopment is additional sound proofing in all the rooms. We rarely get comments about noise as most guests are extremely courteous and not terribly noisy. However, I apologise that you had to have your sleep interupted by your neighbours! I do hope that you will come and trial our new rooms and sound proofing when we fininsh the project in May 2012.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2010

Just wanted to recomend Loch Melfort Hotel to one and all... Have spent a fantastic time meeting some wonderful people whom I hope to meet again in the near future.

I travel the UK for business and as such spend many evenings in hotels which believe they offer good quality and service (unfortunatley many do not)... Not true of the welcome my partner and I recieved from the minute we entered the Loch Melfort Hotel until the minute we left.

Food in the restuaraunt was wonderful (I'm the fussiest eater but nothing was to much of a problem), Accomodation was comfortable and welcoming after a walk in Arduaine Gardens and the beautiful Argyll countryside and service was second to none.

All in all a wonderful stay ... WE WILL BE BACK!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scotlandhappy38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CJRatLMFT, Owner at Loch Melfort Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, August 23, 2010
Many thanks for your lovely review and we're so glad that you had a great time when you stayed here. Calum and I have a wonderful team of staff who work really hard to look after all our guests and give them a great experience. We look forward to welcoming you back here in the near future and hope you will take advantage of one of our Autum special offer breaks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2010

This hotel appeared to have it all - Fantastic scenery- yes. fantastic food- yes, fantastic accomodation- wrong x ,Sympathetic owners- wrong x
We arrived at this hotel after much research as we are seasoned travellers in Scotland and Ireland and for a relaxing gourmet night it seemed to have it all.Please dont stay in the Cedar wing of this Hotel.We experienced" HELL" with barking dogs in the room beneath us ,children running up and down the wooden passage outside the rooms till the small hours of the morning.Filthy bug ridden rooms that did not allow you to open any windows or you would be infested with mosquitos,midges and all kinds of flying insects.Rooms were boiling as a result.The staff were also told to tell the guests they couldnt open any dining room windows because of all the bugs- great. The wooden walls were so poorly put together that our neighbours kept us awake with their conversations until 345am in the morning and then the dogs started at around 6am again. A hotel for dogs is great as long as the other guests are informed in advance. There was plenty dogs at this hotel. When we informed the reception the next morning quite politely after no sleep we thought, we were told the guests with the dogs would be charged extra for theinconvenience but no compensation would be made to us for our unrelaxing evening.How pleasant and refreshing to see that the owners managed to make an extra profit from our displeasure.The following morning i looked forward to breakfast ,as the food the previous night in the dining room ,although very hot was excellent. Wrong again - the breakfast mushrooms were cooked in water and placed on top of a black pudding round ( making everything sodden)and the poached eggs had at least half a cup of water chasing the wet mushroom round the plate!!!! After apologising repeateadedly the waitress brought back another plate exactly the same - couldnt eat it.All this would be fine if we had not just paid £200 for the privelage. may i reccomend at this stage the taychreggan hotel and the peat inn for exceptional food and accomodation for far less of your hard earned money. Very poor compensation- nil

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank morag1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CJRatLMFT, Owner at Loch Melfort Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, August 9, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. We always appreciate feedback and obviously, in this case, negative feedback, which we take extremely seriously. It is always disappointing to get a negative review because both Calum and I, as well as our staff, work really hard to give guests the best experience possible when they stay here. Unfortuantely sometimes experiences are out of our hands, particularly when other guests (and their children/dogs) or Scottish weather/flies/midges are involved. However, I see from this review that we did not take your complaint on check out seriously enough or indeed correctly realise from your comments that you were seriously expecting to get financial compensation.

When you did complain about the dog barking the previous evening we dealt with your complaint immediately and asked the owners of the dog in the room beneath you to go back to their room (which they did). As you then did not phone reception to complain about the noise again, we had assumed that the problem was solved. Our policy on dogs is that we have 6 dog friendly rooms on the ground floor of the Cedar Wing which is made quite clear on our website. These are the only rooms available for dogs, as this means that anyone with a pet hair allergy is never put in a room that has had a dog in it previously. We are very strict about this and we do charge an £8 additional cleaning charge to make sure our rooms are given extra cleaning after dogs have stayed. On this occassion the guests in the room below you had not informed us that they had dogs with them and were in a non- dog friendly room because of this. My comment to you on check-out was purely to inform you that I would be charging these guests for bringing a dog, when the dog was not booked in, for the extra cleaning that will take place in a room that is not normally let to guests with dogs. Regarding outside Beasties such as flies and midges, I agree with you that on the (regrettably fewer than we would like) nights when it is warm and sunny outside, the Scottish beasties can become a nuisance to some people. Unfortuantely there really is nothing we can do about them or the weather.

Regarding your room, you stayed in Room 39 which has recently been redecorated and re-carpeted. It is at the far end of the Cedar Wing with no room immediately beyond it. We generally have very few families staying in the Cedar Wing as we usually encourage them to stay in the Main house which, with no external doors, is perceivably safer. I am therefore puzzled about the noise from children running in the night and I am afraid that as you did not bring this noise to our attention during the night that there was nothing that we could have done about it.

Regarding breakfast, there is no excuse for a bad breakfast and as you will see from some of our other reviews we do usually provide one of the 'best breakfasts ever'. However, it seems on this occasion we have fallen short of our usual high standards on a very busy morning for which I apologise. I am glad that you were impressed with the meal that you had in our Restaurant the night before. We have an excellent chef team here, headed up by Colin MacDonald and we always review each days breakfast and dinner service. We have had a number of very busy weekends recently and have now decided that when we have large numbers of guests in for breakfast we will give them the option of a cook-to-order breakfast or a hot buffet in order to provide quicker service and therefore the best breakfast for every guest.

Thank you for taking the time to comment and I hope that you find our feedback on your review helpful. We would be delighted to welcome you back in the future and hope that next time we can provide you with the positive experience that is reflected in our other tripadvisor reviews.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arduaine
18.3 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,314 reviews
12.5 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
24.4 mi away
Stonefield Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.1 mi away
Ardanaiseig Hotel
Ardanaiseig Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kilchrenan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
13.1 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#5 of 13 in Oban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,656 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Galley of Lorne Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loch Melfort Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loch Melfort Hotel and Restaurant

Property: Loch Melfort Hotel and Restaurant
Address: Arduaine, Arduaine PA34 4XG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Arduaine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Arduaine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Loch Melfort Hotel and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The finest location on the West coast of Scotland awaits visitors to experience this hotel and it's award-winning restaurant, the perfect place for a relaxing holiday or short break at any time of the year... as long as you can put up with the amazing views, the fantastic food, the log fire in the lounge and the selection of malt whiskys! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Loch Melfort Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Loch Melfort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing