We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful time in Argyll and Bute with fantastic service!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Loch Melfort Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Arduaine B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 10, 2010

Just wanted to recomend Loch Melfort Hotel to one and all... Have spent a fantastic time meeting some wonderful people whom I hope to meet again in the near future.

I travel the UK for business and as such spend many evenings in hotels which believe they offer good quality and service (unfortunatley many do not)... Not true of the welcome my partner and I recieved from the minute we entered the Loch Melfort Hotel until the minute we left.

Food in the restuaraunt was wonderful (I'm the fussiest eater but nothing was to much of a problem), Accomodation was comfortable and welcoming after a walk in Arduaine Gardens and the beautiful Argyll countryside and service was second to none.

All in all a wonderful stay ... WE WILL BE BACK!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scotlandhappy38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CJRatLMFT, Owner at Loch Melfort Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2010

Many thanks for your lovely review and we're so glad that you had a great time when you stayed here. Calum and I have a wonderful team of staff who work really hard to look after all our guests and give them a great experience. We look forward to welcoming you back here in the near future and hope you will take advantage of one of our Autum special offer breaks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (795)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

713 - 719 of 795 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2010

This hotel appeared to have it all - Fantastic scenery- yes. fantastic food- yes, fantastic accomodation- wrong x ,Sympathetic owners- wrong x
We arrived at this hotel after much research as we are seasoned travellers in Scotland and Ireland and for a relaxing gourmet night it seemed to have it all.Please dont stay in the Cedar wing of this Hotel.We experienced" HELL" with barking dogs in the room beneath us ,children running up and down the wooden passage outside the rooms till the small hours of the morning.Filthy bug ridden rooms that did not allow you to open any windows or you would be infested with mosquitos,midges and all kinds of flying insects.Rooms were boiling as a result.The staff were also told to tell the guests they couldnt open any dining room windows because of all the bugs- great. The wooden walls were so poorly put together that our neighbours kept us awake with their conversations until 345am in the morning and then the dogs started at around 6am again. A hotel for dogs is great as long as the other guests are informed in advance. There was plenty dogs at this hotel. When we informed the reception the next morning quite politely after no sleep we thought, we were told the guests with the dogs would be charged extra for theinconvenience but no compensation would be made to us for our unrelaxing evening.How pleasant and refreshing to see that the owners managed to make an extra profit from our displeasure.The following morning i looked forward to breakfast ,as the food the previous night in the dining room ,although very hot was excellent. Wrong again - the breakfast mushrooms were cooked in water and placed on top of a black pudding round ( making everything sodden)and the poached eggs had at least half a cup of water chasing the wet mushroom round the plate!!!! After apologising repeateadedly the waitress brought back another plate exactly the same - couldnt eat it.All this would be fine if we had not just paid £200 for the privelage. may i reccomend at this stage the taychreggan hotel and the peat inn for exceptional food and accomodation for far less of your hard earned money. Very poor compensation- nil

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank morag1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CJRatLMFT, Owner at Loch Melfort Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2010

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. We always appreciate feedback and obviously, in this case, negative feedback, which we take extremely seriously. It is always disappointing to get a negative review because both Calum and I, as well as our staff, work really hard to give guests the best experience possible when they stay here. Unfortuantely sometimes experiences are out of our hands, particularly when other guests (and their children/dogs) or Scottish weather/flies/midges are involved. However, I see from this review that we did not take your complaint on check out seriously enough or indeed correctly realise from your comments that you were seriously expecting to get financial compensation.

When you did complain about the dog barking the previous evening we dealt with your complaint immediately and asked the owners of the dog in the room beneath you to go back to their room (which they did). As you then did not phone reception to complain about the noise again, we had assumed that the problem was solved. Our policy on dogs is that we have 6 dog friendly rooms on the ground floor of the Cedar Wing which is made quite clear on our website. These are the only rooms available for dogs, as this means that anyone with a pet hair allergy is never put in a room that has had a dog in it previously. We are very strict about this and we do charge an £8 additional cleaning charge to make sure our rooms are given extra cleaning after dogs have stayed. On this occassion the guests in the room below you had not informed us that they had dogs with them and were in a non- dog friendly room because of this. My comment to you on check-out was purely to inform you that I would be charging these guests for bringing a dog, when the dog was not booked in, for the extra cleaning that will take place in a room that is not normally let to guests with dogs. Regarding outside Beasties such as flies and midges, I agree with you that on the (regrettably fewer than we would like) nights when it is warm and sunny outside, the Scottish beasties can become a nuisance to some people. Unfortuantely there really is nothing we can do about them or the weather.

Regarding your room, you stayed in Room 39 which has recently been redecorated and re-carpeted. It is at the far end of the Cedar Wing with no room immediately beyond it. We generally have very few families staying in the Cedar Wing as we usually encourage them to stay in the Main house which, with no external doors, is perceivably safer. I am therefore puzzled about the noise from children running in the night and I am afraid that as you did not bring this noise to our attention during the night that there was nothing that we could have done about it.

Regarding breakfast, there is no excuse for a bad breakfast and as you will see from some of our other reviews we do usually provide one of the 'best breakfasts ever'. However, it seems on this occasion we have fallen short of our usual high standards on a very busy morning for which I apologise. I am glad that you were impressed with the meal that you had in our Restaurant the night before. We have an excellent chef team here, headed up by Colin MacDonald and we always review each days breakfast and dinner service. We have had a number of very busy weekends recently and have now decided that when we have large numbers of guests in for breakfast we will give them the option of a cook-to-order breakfast or a hot buffet in order to provide quicker service and therefore the best breakfast for every guest.

Thank you for taking the time to comment and I hope that you find our feedback on your review helpful. We would be delighted to welcome you back in the future and hope that next time we can provide you with the positive experience that is reflected in our other tripadvisor reviews.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2010

This hotel has a view that you will never get bored of, the hotel itself is a little tired in places, but the staff and food are great, and the location is perfect for exploring Scotland. We stayed 2 nights and ate in both the bistro and the main restaurant, and both have great food, but obviously you get what you pay for and therefore the restaurant has the better overall experience. I would return here but hope that the hotel gets a face-lift before to long.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoyShropshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CJRatLMFT, Owner at Loch Melfort Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2010

Many thanks for your review. We have been refurbishing the inside of the main house for the last 18 months and this autumn have just started the exterior redecoration. The Cedar Wing has a planning application in with Argyll and BUte Council, so we await their decision on our plans - I hope we can report progress on this soon and in the meantime will keep refreshing the rooms that we have in it. We have just finished repainting the exterior woodwork on the Cedar Wing and you will notice that we have gone from green to brown! We look forward to seeing you back here in the near future. Kind regards. Rachel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2010

Calum, Rachel and their dedicated small team delivered exceptional and discreet service and made our wedding weekend even more special than we had dreamed. Rachel helped wit loads of details from contacts for a local hair styolist to sourcing the layers of"chesse cake" and her husband Calum played his fiddle with a local lady on accordion, perfect for a set of reels before the ipod dancing began. Its a stunning out of this world location, spending a little time at Loch Melfort is like stepping off the world. As time stops the exceptional views are mesmerising, we experienced all seasons in one day. But this is one place where rain is no detractor, it is incredible atmospheric. The food is mostly local sourced, with seafood pulled fresh out of the local waters. The chef is terrific. We had the best time and all of our guests were blown away by the experience. This is a lovely three star hotel, offering both a formal dining experience and relaxed bistro fayre. We will be back to dine and relax soon, our Dog loves it here too. Thanks guys.

  • Stayed: March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SFRamsay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2010

Loch Melfort hotel is situated right on the loch. The views from bedrooms reception rooms and dining room are out of this world. The staff are all VERY nice. Food is of the best quality and menus have excellent choices. I would love everyone I know to experience this hotel. Thanks Calum Rachel and all the staff for ensuring we had a fabulous break.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holidaygems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2010

This hotel has improved dramatically since it was taken over by the new owners. It is most unusual in that as far as I could see every bedroom has a wonderful view of the sea. Our room had a balcony and on the night we stayed the sunset was spectacular, the kind you can only experiance on the west coast of Scotland. There are several comfortable lounges with log fires and we were greeted there by Calum the owner, who took our order for dinner. We ate in the main restaurant, which again overlooks the sea but they do have another bistro type restaurant where the food is very reasonably priced.
The food is of a very high standard and the staff very pleasant. Arduaine Gardens owned by the National Trust is next door and worth a visit. I am not surprised that this hotel has already won several awards under the new owners in such a short space of time.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank inntheknow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2010

Excellent hotel with wonderful views and food to match the views. Staff very helpful, room was very well furnished and comfortable with shower and bath in a goos sized bathroom.
Eating was a pleasure and unhurried with a 12 year old well catered for.
Location is stunning with rooms with sea views and a path down to the seafront, Arduaine gardens situated next door for a relaxing walk.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davdry07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arduaine
24.4 mi away
Stonefield Castle Hotel
13.1 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
1,849 reviews
13.2 mi away
Best Western Muthu Queens Oban Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Grey Gull Inn
Grey Gull Inn
#2 of 2 in Ardrishaig
215 reviews
12.3 mi away
Cairnbaan Hotel
Cairnbaan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cairnbaan
289 reviews
12.7 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#4 of 13 in Oban
849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loch Melfort Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loch Melfort Hotel and Restaurant

Address: Arduaine, Arduaine PA34 4XG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Arduaine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Arduaine
Price Range: $140 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Loch Melfort Hotel and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The finest location on the West coast of Scotland awaits visitors to experience this hotel and it's award-winning restaurant, the perfect place for a relaxing holiday or short break at any time of the year... as long as you can put up with the amazing views, the fantastic food, the log fire in the lounge and the selection of malt whiskys! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Loch Melfort Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Loch Melfort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing