We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Celebration of wedding anniversary”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Loch Melfort Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Arduaine B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 23, 2009

We were given a very warm welcome upon arrival and also throughout our three day stay by all the staff.
The hotel has created a very special homely atmosphere and makes for a very relaxing stay.
The standard of food is among the best we have tasted for a very long time with an equally impressive standard of service. The menu's created by the Head Chef's are inspiring offering freshy prepared food from local produce.
Our bedroom in the main house was extremely comfortable with a very high standard of hygiene.
Loch Melfort Hotel offers stunning views in a very tranquil surrounding which makes for a memorable experience in this beautiful part of Scotland.
We would highly recommend this hotel and intend to return in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jansen060555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (795)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

747 - 753 of 795 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2009

We have just returned from 3 nights at the Loch Melfort Hotel which was partly to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay there even though the weather was varied! The location is wonderful and the views of the Loch and the nearby islands from the hotel are amazing, breathtaking even! We stayed in the suite, room 7, which had recently been fully refurbished. It was well equipped and very comfortable, again with the wonderful view. All the meals in the restaurant were of a high standard and the wine list was more than adequate.
The owners are making great efforts to develop the hotel and are great hosts, keen to accommodate requests.
All in all a wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andyandsueNice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2009

We spent a weekend here with the dog. Very relaxing hotel, fantastic food and amazing views. The new management and their team couldn't do enough to make us feel welcome and we came away completely relaxed. We stayed in the Cedar wing which is being re-furbished as it is starting to show its age. However we found the room still of an acceptable quality, the convenience great for the dog, and the view, superb.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cdq1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2009

Loch Melfort Hotel is a great hotel for a relaxing stay, we stayed in the Cedar Wing, all these rooms have a balcony and overlook the Loch - a most beautiful setting. Public rooms are elegant and exceptionaly well appointed, without exception all the staff were friendly and clearly wanted your stay to be enjoyable. Breakfast - often the most difficult for any hotel to do well - was probably one of the best cooked and presented. The owners are clealry passionate about their hotel and have a great team.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnneHelensburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2009

The Loch Melfort rescued us from a potential disaster. We were originally booked into the Crinan Hotel which we left after half an hour! (Refer to separate review). We were greeted with a warm welcome and shown two rooms - one in the main hotel and one in the Cedar Lodge. We chose the room in the main hotel and opted for the DBB package. Fantastic bar/lounge where we enjoyed a pre and post dinner drinks in front of a great open fire and a great dinner of fresh seafood. As always, it's the staff that make the difference. Callum and was a brilliant host and all of his staff equally skilled. Would not hesitate in recommending The Loch Melfort Hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LouiseandEuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2009

I have just returned from a 4 nights stay at Loch Melfort Hotel. I found everything was of exceptional high standard & quality, The friendliness of the staff (at all levels) made my stay even more enjoyable. I really only met Bar / Restaurant & reception staff, But the quality & cleanliness of the bedrooms etc., reflected a lovely dedication to all involved in running this hotel. I spoke to other residents, & found it very refreshing to find it suited guests of all ages, who all felt comfortable in each others company. Whatever the occasion the hotel was more than suitable.
It is very clear that the Rachel & Callum Ross have worked very hard to reach this standard of quality, & I wish them every success on completion of their work. On my return to Scotland "Loch Melfort Hotel" will be my 1st. choice.
A Thank You also to the Chefs who prepared such lovely food, (Traditional & Local produce). Sea Food ++++++
Thank You again for a lovely weekend.
I have just seen a negative "report". Are there 2 Loch Melfort Hotels ??????
If so I must have been to a different one to the family who sent the comments on April'09. No Comparrison.

  • Stayed: May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank melfort1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2009

We stayed at Loch Melfort off the back off the reviews here, and it certainly lived up to its reputation. Spectacular setting, excellent food and incredibly hospitable to our little one-year old (toys in our room for him, lovely cot etc). The neighbouring Arduaine National trust gardens are superb….and are currently under threat of closure, so please do sign the petition to save them. We had a real jawdropping moment when shown to our room (7) which had recently been beautifully refurbished….let's just say the view from the balcony is a permanent screensaver in my head!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank conorh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arduaine
24.4 mi away
Stonefield Castle Hotel
13.1 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
1,850 reviews
13.2 mi away
Best Western Muthu Queens Oban Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Grey Gull Inn
Grey Gull Inn
#2 of 2 in Ardrishaig
215 reviews
12.3 mi away
Cairnbaan Hotel
Cairnbaan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cairnbaan
289 reviews
12.7 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#4 of 13 in Oban
849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loch Melfort Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loch Melfort Hotel and Restaurant

Address: Arduaine, Arduaine PA34 4XG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Arduaine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Arduaine
Price Range: $139 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Loch Melfort Hotel and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The finest location on the West coast of Scotland awaits visitors to experience this hotel and it's award-winning restaurant, the perfect place for a relaxing holiday or short break at any time of the year... as long as you can put up with the amazing views, the fantastic food, the log fire in the lounge and the selection of malt whiskys! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Loch Melfort Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Loch Melfort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing