We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Loch Melfort Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Arduaine B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ardersier, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Brilliant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

We have just stayed for 3 nights at the Loch Melfort Hotel. We were absolutely delighted - the views are fabulous and the hotel and our room (28) were clean and very comfortable. We ate in the Chartroom at lunchtime and the Asknish for breakfast and dinner. All the meals were excelent and very well cooked and presented - the shellfish sharing platter for two is not to be missed! We thought the menu range was excellent and loved the complimentary canapes in the lounge. The level of service was world class, all of your staff are polite, professional, smiling and friendly. (Julie and Suzanne offered us exceptional service)
For anyone reading this please take no notice of the negative reviews - this hotel is a must if you're in the area, I would say the best we have ever stayed at in the UK. Hotelier of the year award is well deserved! We will definitely be back but probably in the spring when the rhodos are in full bloom in the gardens. Thank you for a fabulous holiday.

Room Tip: The 'extension has great views over the loch and rooms either have a patio or balcony and you ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslianne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlasgowHugh, Owner at Loch Melfort Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you so much for your fabulous review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and really got to experience the true Loch Melfort magic! We do have a team of wonderful, hardworking staff and they will be delighted to be mentioned personally. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards
Rachel and Calum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

707 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    377
    225
    66
    30
    9
See reviews for
109
473
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

The rooms are perfectly adequate but not best in class by any means. . We had a problem with our shower (which was resolved) but water pressure is an issue other that those rooms that have electric heated showers. Breakfast was ok but a bit ordinary. All of this has to be compared to the prices. Stayed in a walkers hotel the following night and the food was just as good but considerably cheaper. The accommodation is three stars at best but four stars location.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main hotel are very different from each other ( plus price). Cedar wing are all similar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Supasix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlasgowHugh, Owner at Loch Melfort Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to review and we are sorry to hear we did not quite meet your expectations on this occassion. We are only a 3 star hotel although we do try hard to provide exceptional service and exceed our guests expectations where possible.

Kind regards
Rachel and Calum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed (sadly) just a single night at the Loch Melfort Hotel at the end of July, and were really, really impressed with the whole experience. The drive there was stunning, the hotel is pretty, the location is absolutely breathtaking and the service we received was second to none.

And I haven't even mentioned the food yet. We worked our way through an enormous seafood platter for two. Mussels, langoustine, oyster, crab, lobster, scallops. There was probably more, but after first enjoying the bottle of champagne on ice that awaited us as we arrived, I may have missed something.

The dining room serves the most beautiful panoramic view of the loch that one could wish for. We ate as the sun set on what had been a sunny summer's day, and continued watching as a huge thunderstorm rolled right across the bay. Breakfast is held in the same room, and I really can't imagine how the scene could be bettered.

I'll briefly list the other positive aspects we found during our short stay. I'd expected limited WiFi reception, but in our room (at the end of a corridor in the main building) I was able to select between several hotel networks, and all worked well for me. Based on just my experience I wouldn't describe it as limited.

Our room was large, furnished in keeping with the overall style, but not lacking for luxuries (e.g. the substantial flat-screen TV and spacious bathroom).

There's an easy, short walk from the hotel down to the coast, from where one can take in the amazing views. Others have commented on the extensive gardens next door. Unfortunately we didn't have time to try them, although they looked easily accessible.

We definitely got the impression that the owners and staff take a lot of care of their guests, and have set up the hotel to give a five-star experience. For us the highlights were definitely the evening meal and spectacular scenery, but there are also many further reasons we'll definitely try to return for longer next time.

Room Tip: I believe that all rooms have a view of the loch. The hotel is split into two (connected) sections...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcnally64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlasgowHugh, Owner at Loch Melfort Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thanks so much for your lovely review and we're really glad you enjoyed your stay. We are so lucky here on the West Coast of Scotland to have such an ambundance of fresh local seafood. It really is a treat to eat! We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Kind regards
Rachel and Calum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights. The view from the room is beautiful. Staff very good indeed. There were only a couple of problems. The continental breakfast is meagre with no ham or cheese for example. And the comfy chair in our room (33) is impossible to sit on as the cushion keeps sliding off underneath you!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fred186363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

After having a long day (car issues) and a long drive, we arrived at Loch Melfort around 7:15 pm. The reception took us up to our rooms and I was so disappointed as I thought our rooms overlooked the parking lot. I was in for a big surprise when she opened the room and I saw that amazing view. We even had our own deck to relax on. I could have stayed there forever. The bed was very large and comfortable. Very large room. We made reservations for dinner and we were told to meet in the lounge before dinner. We didn't understand why but after getting personalized service from the owner of the property we felt very pampered. He brought us our drinks, explained our menu, took our order and when we were taken to the dining room our meal was ready. We had the seafood platter for two. The chef dove that morning for the scallops. Best meal of our 3 week stay. Staff very attentive and welcoming. Very limited wi-fi and cell service but that was a plus for us. Took a walk to the beach the next morning. Will be back for sure!

Room Tip: Quite get away with amazing service and views to write home about!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathy f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlasgowHugh, Owner at Loch Melfort Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay. We do try and ensure our guests enjoy something of the magic of Loch Melfort and for us that includes a bit of personal attention in the lounge to make you feel really welcome here! All our rooms have the lovely sea view and king size beds you enjoyed and I do hope that you will come back and relax here again soon!
Kind regards
Rachel and Calum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strathaven, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

visited on the 9th aug . our room was on the lower ground floor of annex as we had a dog with us . the room was clean and tidy not run down as others have commented. staff welcoming and attentive, food very good and having to wait in lounge prior to dinner is perfectly acceptable as your dinner is being prepared to reduce time waiting in dining room this also allows for pre dinner drinks

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlasgowHugh, Owner at Loch Melfort Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Many thanks for your review and we are so glad you and your dog enjoyed your stay! We do look forward to seeing you back here again soon.
Kind regards
Rachel and Calum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javea, Spain
Level Contributor
95 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

Unfortunately we seem destined to visiting here in bad weather which means that the views are limited and there are no sunsets. Having said that we enjoyed our stay here immensely. The drawbacks were that there is very limited mobile phone communication, (but that could also be a plus) and there is limited wi-fi - only in reception area and small lounge bar. Our room was in the cabins. This was a good size, light, and airy. Although it was July we did have to use the auxiliary heater for a short time one day. There was also poor pressure in the shower but reception told me that this was unusual and they would investigate.
The staff are tremendous and work as one big extended family. The first night we ate in the bistro and loved it. We had booked for the main restaurant for the 2nd evening but were told that the menu would not be ready until about 13:00 on the day. As we were visiting Oban all day, we cancelled the main restaurant and ate in the Chartroom again. Another excellent meal interspersed with little chats with the staff.
Overall a most enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nyeri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlasgowHugh, Owner at Loch Melfort Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Many thanks for your lovely review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay and lovely meals.We do have wi-fi in the main house bedrooms and Suites, as well as all the public rooms including the Bistro. Hopefully we will be able to extend wi-fi into the Cedar Wing next year.
We hope you come and visit us again soon.

Kind regards

Rachel and Calum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arduaine
18.3 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,340 reviews
12.5 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
24.4 mi away
Stonefield Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.1 mi away
Ardanaiseig Hotel
Ardanaiseig Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kilchrenan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
21.3 mi away
Isle of Eriska Hotel, Spa & Island
3.9 mi away
The Galley of Lorne Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loch Melfort Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loch Melfort Hotel and Restaurant

Property: Loch Melfort Hotel and Restaurant
Address: Arduaine, Arduaine PA34 4XG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Arduaine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Arduaine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Loch Melfort Hotel and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The finest location on the West coast of Scotland awaits visitors to experience this hotel and it's award-winning restaurant, the perfect place for a relaxing holiday or short break at any time of the year... as long as you can put up with the amazing views, the fantastic food, the log fire in the lounge and the selection of malt whiskys! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Loch Melfort Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Loch Melfort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing