We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Loch Melfort Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Arduaine B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Just returned from a 3 night stay in this truly exceptional hotel. Everything about it was first class. Fabulous setting and views to die for - especially on days with warm weather and clear blue skies. Staff couldn't do enough for you. Food remarkable - especially the seafood. Ate in Bistro each evening. Room was in Cedar Wing - very comfortable - do not be put off by other reviewers. Our room was of good refurbished standard. Everything spotlessly clean. Yes - in motel like extension - construction not very soundproofed - but caused us no problems. Whole ambiance is lovely - rain or shine - we enjoyed our time there. Plenty of places to explore in surrounding area as well. We will return. Highly recommended.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank stewpot444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlasgowHugh, Owner at Loch Melfort Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Many thanks for your review and we are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. We are very lucky to have such amazing weather at the moment, it is like the Argyll Riviera! We look forward to seeing you again sometime soon.
Rachel and Calum

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (763)
There are newer reviews for Loch Melfort Hotel and Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

434 - 440 of 763 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2013

This hotel is in a beautiful location with fabulous views which can be seen from all the public rooms and the bedroom. We had excellent food at dinner and breakfast and couldn't fault the service. The annexe rooms are perfectly comfortable but the standard of fit and finish is disappointing. The shower was a miserable dribble. We were told before booking that wifi isn't available in the annexe but that is disappointing too when you consider that it is widely available in even budget hotels and b & bs. Wifi worked fine in the public rooms. There seems to be no mobile phone signal available which of course is not the hotel's fault and maybe that's a good thing if you're trying to get away from it all! The adjacent Arduaine gardens are very beautiful and well worth exploring.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellerBill_32768
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlasgowHugh, Owner at Loch Melfort Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Thanks for writing a review and I am sorry to hear that not everything was up to the standard you were expecting. I have just written in a review above this about wifi and it is only this year that we have extended it into main house bedrooms. The problem is the local link in is very outdated and slow so increasing the numbers of users on it would result in the current system either crashing or being frustratingly slow. I will be investigating satellite options this year to see how feasible this is as an alternative provider. Water can be a problem if the pressure is low from our private water supply. It is normally fine, but sometimes a glitch in the system can cause the water supply to slow down. All the fun of being out in the middle of nowhere and not on mains supply I'm afraid! Sorry it affected your shower this time.

Rooms are constantly being upgraded and redecorated so hopefully you will find a further improvement next time you stay.

Kind regards

Rachel and Calum

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

I was in the area, and popped in to see if any vacancies. Was offered a room cheaper than any website and stayed in a Superior Room.
Staff were very helpful and courteous.
Room was superb and views were magnificent!
Would definitely return!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deaveman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlasgowHugh, Owner at Loch Melfort Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Thanks so much for your review and we are glad we managed to squeeze you in last minute! Hope you manage to make it back again sometime soon.
Rachel and Calum

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We stayed here last week - in the rain so we didn't get to see the views unfortunately. Beautiful setting and the main house is delightful. The annex rooms do feel a bit like a motel but are perfectly comfortable. As the owner has said previously it is only 3 * because of this but everything else is very good.
There was a problem with the water the evening we stayed - no showers in the morning - but this was dealt with very efficiently and impressively. We have stayed in another hotel that could learn a lot on customer service from Loch Melfort!
We would definitely return.

Room Tip: Perhaps try a room in the main house
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lizatdg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlasgowHugh, Owner at Loch Melfort Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Thanks so much for writing a review and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay. We are so lucky to have a really good team of friendly and professional staff who work so hard to make every guest have a relaxing and enjoyable stay. Please come back and stay again soon, the weather is amazing just now if you want to see some sunny views!

Rachel and Calum

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for only 1 night in early June when the weather was just amazing. Arrived well late due to travel disruption (and poor direction reading subsequently on my part).

Having phoned ahead, the staff had prepared a great seafood platter and we had the dining room to ourselves with a great sundown loch view. Great guys, many thanks for that.

The room was a little small and maybe a little dated but was fine. There is a bar attached and there was a local band / singing collective in there but we sadly only caught the last few tunes. The location is super and there are some nice walks by the loch and everyone at breakfast seemed to be starting out at the loch. Good sight.

We were in the main hotel and the chalet style rooms further along seem to be drawing some comment about noise. My advice would be drink as much whisky as possible, sing a bit with the band and then retire. You will be fine.

All in all a nice place with spectacular views onto the loch.

Room Tip: Try one in the main hotel. Although the chalet rooms have a balcony for starting out at the loch
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlasgowHugh, Owner at Loch Melfort Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Many thanks for your review and so glad that you enjoyed your stay. Music nights are on every 1st and 3rd Friday of the month and we have a well stocked Whisky bar, so I am sure others will take your advice!

Hope to see you again
Calum and Rachel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Recently stayed for a three night break. Location is fantasticbut very dissapointed with the room. Bed and bedding looked old and shabby and a huge brown stain on mattress. This was addressed by the owner but still spoilt the experience overall. Also the lack of choice on the table d'hote. Very poor. Issues with breakfast not cooked properly and toast which didn't even looked like it had seen the toaster for more than five seconds. The staff were very pleasant and did all they could to make our stay pleasurable but sadly not enough to tempt us back to this tired,over priced but beautiful location.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlasgowHugh, Owner at Loch Melfort Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

I always write and thank people for writing a review but in this case it is extremely disappointing that you have chosen to write such a poor review, a few weeks after you stayed, after we made every effort to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. When there is an instance such as a mattress with a coffee stain on it that a housekeeper does not report, it is obviously due to poor communication and training on our part. As embarrassed as I was to think that one of our staff did not do their job properly, we bought a new mattress that very day, put chocolates and a letter of apology in your room and discounted your bill for all the other faults you criticised on the first morning you stayed. The room you stayed in has been redecorated in the last year and was recently stayed in by the AA inspector, who did not report to us that it was as you suggest. In fact there is a picture of it on our website under Cedar Wing rooms, so perhaps anyone reading this would like to check if they agree with what you have written.

This is a family owned and run hotel, it is our home and we take all comments very personally and always try to do our best to rectify them immediately. I am surprised that after your first night you just didn't leave if everything was quite as bad as you say or you did not take the opportunity to speak to Calum or I personally as I suggested in my card. I will let all our other reviews, of which we have a tripadvisor certificate of excellence for, do the rest of the talking and people can draw their own conclusions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We spent a thoroughly enjoyable three days at the Loch melfort hotel a week ago. The hotel's position is just fantastic with superb views to enjoy. We were very fortunate with the weather and saw the views at their best. The Arduanie gardens next door were also just superb with the azaleas and rhododendrons just spectacular.
We were given a superb room in the main house with its own veranda equipped with powerful binoculars to take even more advantage of the scenery.
The staff were without exception extremely friendly and helpful and the breakfast was beautiful with lots to choose from both from the continental or from the traditional Scottish cooked breakfast.
My one disappointment was the evening meal as there was no choice on the table d'hote menu. Yes you could mix in from the a la carte and be prepared to pay a bit extra but I felt that at £35 there should have been a choice without any extras. Personally I like to have a nice selection of recognisable vegetables with my main course rather than this nouveau cuisine many restaurants seem to be doing nowadays but that is just my personal preference.
That would be my one criticism but for me it is enough to make me book bed and breakfast rather than dinner bed and breakfast should we return. Otherwise it was a truly lovely break for us and I would wish to say a big thank you to all the staff.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hamishPerthshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlasgowHugh, Owner at Loch Melfort Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Many thanks for your review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your comments regarding a one choice table d'hote but we moved to this about 6 months ago after guests repeatedly asked for A La Carte as an option instead of just Table d' hote! Generally the increased choice and option of using an allowance has had very positive feedback. However we do regularly review how we deliver our menus and choices to our guests and we will certainly discuss your request for more table d'hote choice!

Kind regards

Rachel and Calum

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arduaine
24.4 mi away
Stonefield Castle Hotel
18.3 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
2,476 reviews
12.3 mi away
Cairnbaan Hotel
Cairnbaan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cairnbaan
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Best Western The Queens Hotel
13.1 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
1,791 reviews
9.9 mi away
Crinan Hotel
Crinan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crinan
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loch Melfort Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loch Melfort Hotel and Restaurant

Address: Arduaine, Arduaine PA34 4XG, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Arduaine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Arduaine
Price Range: $132 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Loch Melfort Hotel and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The finest location on the West coast of Scotland awaits visitors to experience this hotel and it's award-winning restaurant, the perfect place for a relaxing holiday or short break at any time of the year... as long as you can put up with the amazing views, the fantastic food, the log fire in the lounge and the selection of malt whiskys! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Loch Melfort Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Loch Melfort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing