We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Won't be Returning”
Review of Loch Melfort Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Loch Melfort Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Arduaine B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Recently stayed for a three night break. Location is fantasticbut very dissapointed with the room. Bed and bedding looked old and shabby and a huge brown stain on mattress. This was addressed by the owner but still spoilt the experience overall. Also the lack of choice on the table d'hote. Very poor. Issues with breakfast not cooked properly and toast which didn't even looked like it had seen the toaster for more than five seconds. The staff were very pleasant and did all they could to make our stay pleasurable but sadly not enough to tempt us back to this tired,over priced but beautiful location.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlasgowHugh, Owner at Loch Melfort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

I always write and thank people for writing a review but in this case it is extremely disappointing that you have chosen to write such a poor review, a few weeks after you stayed, after we made every effort to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. When there is an instance such as a mattress with a coffee stain on it that a housekeeper does not report, it is obviously due to poor communication and training on our part. As embarrassed as I was to think that one of our staff did not do their job properly, we bought a new mattress that very day, put chocolates and a letter of apology in your room and discounted your bill for all the other faults you criticised on the first morning you stayed. The room you stayed in has been redecorated in the last year and was recently stayed in by the AA inspector, who did not report to us that it was as you suggest. In fact there is a picture of it on our website under Cedar Wing rooms, so perhaps anyone reading this would like to check if they agree with what you have written.

This is a family owned and run hotel, it is our home and we take all comments very personally and always try to do our best to rectify them immediately. I am surprised that after your first night you just didn't leave if everything was quite as bad as you say or you did not take the opportunity to speak to Calum or I personally as I suggested in my card. I will let all our other reviews, of which we have a tripadvisor certificate of excellence for, do the rest of the talking and people can draw their own conclusions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (802)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

476 - 482 of 802 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2013

We spent a thoroughly enjoyable three days at the Loch melfort hotel a week ago. The hotel's position is just fantastic with superb views to enjoy. We were very fortunate with the weather and saw the views at their best. The Arduanie gardens next door were also just superb with the azaleas and rhododendrons just spectacular.
We were given a superb room in the main house with its own veranda equipped with powerful binoculars to take even more advantage of the scenery.
The staff were without exception extremely friendly and helpful and the breakfast was beautiful with lots to choose from both from the continental or from the traditional Scottish cooked breakfast.
My one disappointment was the evening meal as there was no choice on the table d'hote menu. Yes you could mix in from the a la carte and be prepared to pay a bit extra but I felt that at £35 there should have been a choice without any extras. Personally I like to have a nice selection of recognisable vegetables with my main course rather than this nouveau cuisine many restaurants seem to be doing nowadays but that is just my personal preference.
That would be my one criticism but for me it is enough to make me book bed and breakfast rather than dinner bed and breakfast should we return. Otherwise it was a truly lovely break for us and I would wish to say a big thank you to all the staff.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hamishPerthshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlasgowHugh, Owner at Loch Melfort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Many thanks for your review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your comments regarding a one choice table d'hote but we moved to this about 6 months ago after guests repeatedly asked for A La Carte as an option instead of just Table d' hote! Generally the increased choice and option of using an allowance has had very positive feedback. However we do regularly review how we deliver our menus and choices to our guests and we will certainly discuss your request for more table d'hote choice!

Kind regards

Rachel and Calum

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Amazing family hotel with magnificent views, wonderful staff and fabulous food. If you want somewhere romantic with great scenery this is the place to visit. Had a great few days here. Will definitely visit again and again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sportygirl1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlasgowHugh, Owner at Loch Melfort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Many thanks for your wonderful review and we look forward to welcoming you back again and again!

Kind regards
Rachel and Calum

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

The views from the bedrooms and restaurant are spectacular. We were so fortunate as a rainy Argyll morning turned into a beautiful Summer afternoon and evening. All the rooms in the Cedar Wing have either a terrace or a balcony. So you can just sit there relaxing and take in the beautiful vista. Same with the restaurant and as it was June it was light till the end of dinner.

The staff are very friendly and I would like to make a special mention to Mackenzie who looked after us so well at both dinner and breakfast.

The hotel is dog friendly as are the magnificent Arduaine Gardens ran by The National Trust next door.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane M B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlasgowHugh, Owner at Loch Melfort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to review and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay. I will pass on your comments to our staff who are always delighted to get great feedback!

Kind regards

Rachel and Calum

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

The main hotel is a house overlooking gardens down to the beach in a stunning setting with vistas of islands off the coast. Its dining room and pre dinner lounge both offer sea views, and the lounge is a great setting for pre dinner drinks and canapes. At the far end the hotels bar and bistro with garden terrace made a fantastic place for a drink on a beautiful sunny day. The issue with the hotel is that the majority of rooms are in a holiday chalet style extension tagged onto the original building. Whilst offering the same views, the paper thin walls and outside walkway don't really fit with the experience of the main hotel, and we felt like we were entering a different world moving from the main hotel to the bedrooms

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mackem1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlasgowHugh, Owner at Loch Melfort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Our website is very clear that the majority of rooms are in the Cedar Wing, but there is the option of 5 main house rooms if staying in an Annex is not your choice and you want something really special. Although we pride ourselves in trying to deliver a 5 star experience in terms of food, service, hospitality and, of course, a 5 star view, we are actually only graded 3 star and this is reflected in our Cedar Wing accommodation and prices.

We hope you will come and see us again sometime soon.
Kind regards
Rachel and Calum

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

A charming welcome, very nice room and great food ! What a change for a Scottish hotel !
The chef presents the food very nicely, the restaurant is welcoming with a musician !
A very nice place to visit the lovely Arduaine gardens and travel on the South west coast of Scotland !
The view is absolutely perfect... Nothing better than Scotland in,the spring !

Room Tip: Une chambre dans le batiment principal face a la mer !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VermeireF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlasgowHugh, Owner at Loch Melfort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Many thanks for your review and we hope we can welcome you back here again soon.
Kind regards
Rachel and Calum

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We loved our stay here. Our room had it's own terrace and the views over the sea loch were just stunning. The staff couldn't have been better - helpful and friendly they certainly helped to make our stay here very enjoyable. Would love to come back.

Room Tip: They may all have the views from all rooms - just make sure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norman D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlasgowHugh, Owner at Loch Melfort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Many thanks for writing a review and it is lovely to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay. We look forward to welcoming you back here - by the way, EVERY room has the same amazing sea view!!

Kind regards
Rachel and Calum

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arduaine
24.4 mi away
Stonefield Castle Hotel
12.3 mi away
Cairnbaan Hotel
Cairnbaan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cairnbaan
290 reviews
18.3 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
2,571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Grey Gull Inn
Grey Gull Inn
#2 of 2 in Ardrishaig
216 reviews
12.5 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
449 reviews
13.2 mi away
Best Western Muthu Queens Oban Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loch Melfort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loch Melfort Hotel

Address: Arduaine PA34 4XG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Arduaine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Arduaine
Price Range: $97 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Loch Melfort Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The finest location on the West coast of Scotland awaits visitors to experience this hotel and it's award-winning restaurant, the perfect place for a relaxing holiday or short break at any time of the year... as long as you can put up with the amazing views, the fantastic food, the log fire in the lounge and the selection of malt whiskys! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Loch Melfort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Loch Melfort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing