We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place with beautiful views”
Review of Loch Melfort Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Loch Melfort Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Arduaine B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We've just got back from a weekend at the Loch Melfort hotel and had a really lovely time. The room we were allocated was really nice, it had celing to floor windows which gave us spectacular views. The only negative I found was the water pressure in the shower was quite poor but I was told this is because the hotel doesn't have mains water. We ate at the hotel both nights of our stay, food was nice but expensive for what it was. My husband ordered off the a la carte menu, he ordered the venison on the first night (£24.50) but whe was still hungry after so that wasn't so good. I ordered from the bistro menu were the portions were much larger. Overall we had a lovely time at Loch Melfort, it really is a charming hotel and worth a visit.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the Cedar Wing, 1st floor as the views are really beautiful from here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz41_Ayrshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlasgowHugh, Owner at Loch Melfort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review, we always appreciate feedback from our guests.We're glad you enjoyed your stay and will pass your comments regarding portion size to our Head Chef. We are a very rural hotel with a private water supply, so I am afraid city type power showers are out of the question! However, the water is beautifully soft and totally pure (no chlorine hence the colour, so great for the skin!) We hope you come back and experience our hospitality again soon.

Rachel and Calum

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (803)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

527 - 533 of 803 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2013

My partner and I stayed in the Loch Melfort 2 years ago after claiming a deal through itison. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and loved the food! We completely fell in love with the stunning views & the welcoming homely atmosphere.
As a surprise for christmas this year my now fiance booked us an overnight stay in the Junior suite. The room was lovely & had a small terrace overlooking the sea. It was perfect. This is where he popped the question, needless to say i was delighted.
As expected the staff were attentive & lovely they even gave us a card & chocolate to celebrate.
The food was exceptional even better than I remembered.
Needless to say we will be returning again in the near future.
I would highly recommend a visit to this hotel, you wont be let down.
Even if its raining u can lounge infront of the fire a whisky in hand overlooking the most beautiful views. Five stars from us!!

Claire & Calum

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claire K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlasgowHugh, Owner at Loch Melfort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

First of all, congratulations again on your engagement. What a perfect place to choose to pop the question! We are delighted that you came back here for such a special occassion and so glad that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Last time we visited Loch Melfort was in the summer, so we were not quite sure what to expect when we booked the 3 night Hogmanay package. True, the weather was a bit rainy, but it was the same stunning view from our rooms, the same warm and attentive welcome, and if possible even better food. Everywhere you go on this stretch of coast presents a photo opportunity. The sky and the sea are both enormous and change every few seconds, and there is loads of history to soak up and interesting walks and drives. The Arduane gardens next door is a favourite with us. Even in winter we saw enough to keep us there for two happy hours.
Things that you might not like. Well, both times we have stayed in the Ceder Wing Lodge where the rooms have sliding glass doors out to the sea but are otherwise serviceable rather than luxurious. The short walk to the main building is under cover but drafty and cold in the winter. And the water supply is a private one, and comes out a disconcerting brown although it is perfectly drinkable. But none of this will put us off coming back. After all, why go to this wonderful area and then spend time in your room?
A special mention goes to Ross, our ever present and absolutely charming host, to all the staff, who were helpful, cheerful and attentive, and to the chefs, who served up course after course of wonderful food.
David and Victoria

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victoria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We have just returned from a 4 night Christmas Break. The scenery is beautiful and the rooms, spacious and very comfortable. The staff are extremely efficient and friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The food was delicious, with a very varied menu and there was an extensive drinks menu.There was a great atmosphere, festive without being intrusive and was everything that we had hoped for. Despite being wet and windy, the hotel was cosy and felt very welcoming to return to. We would definitely recommend this as a great location for a winter break, and would love to return ourselves.

Room Tip: Upper level in the Cedar Wing had the most perfect views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JJR0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Firstly, the negatives. Our room was small and the shower was nearly unusable due to almost non existent water pressure. To be fair, another room on the ground floor (where pressure is a little better) was offered but we had fully unpacked by then ...

However, everything else was of a standard that is reflected in the positive comments from other reviews. It was also worthy of note that the staff were all Scottish - quite unusual these days!

Room Tip: When you book I would advise asking for the ground floor and also get the room size - we booked very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank billhercus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

This has been the best night away for us in a long time. We arrived in the dark and unfortunately didn't see the beautiful scenery till the morning. Our deal for the night was 58 GBP for a double room and continental breakfast. An absolute bargin. We stayed in a ground floor room in the Cedar wing. We did have to use the extra heater, tempreature was 2 degrees outside! The room was a cosy delightful double room with very clean en suite facilities and comfy big bed. We also had our dog with us and the patio door to the garden was a great bonus. We were only charged 8 GBP extra for him, some hotels charge much more. But the best of all was the fabulous meal we had, with locally sourced produce and an excellent choice from Table D'hote, bistro and A la Carte menus from which we could mix and match. Staff were very courtious and helpful, showing us where facilities were in the hotel and in our room. We will definately be back and will be spreading the word.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor of the Cedar wing are ideal for dog owners.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helper51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlasgowHugh, Owner at Loch Melfort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review and we're so glad you enjoyed your stay. Bargains to be had if you come and stay in the witner when we are quieter, so spread the word! We would love to see you back again soon.

Rachel and Calum

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

We recently stayed 2 nights in the Cedar Wing for the gourmet dining experience. The views were amazing from our room but we definitely needed the spare blankets and heater that were provided. All the staff were very attentive and friendly. The gourmet evening was everything we expected it to be from the review we had read in the P&J. The only thing I would suggest is starting at 6pm rather than 7 as we were too exhausted to enjoy our dessert.

Overall we had a very enjoyable stay but be aware that they charge 5 star prices on drinks in the lounge bar. This gave us quite a shock when settling our bill.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ckad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlasgowHugh, Owner at Loch Melfort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2012

Thank you for your fabulous review. We have an excellent team of staff who really do like looking after people and it always pleasing when guests comment on it! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you will come back and visit us again soon.

Rachel and Calum

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arduaine
24.4 mi away
Stonefield Castle Hotel
12.3 mi away
Cairnbaan Hotel
Cairnbaan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cairnbaan
290 reviews
16.5 mi away
Falls Of Lora
Falls Of Lora
#1 of 2 in Connel
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
2,571 reviews
12.5 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
449 reviews
13.2 mi away
Best Western Muthu Queens Oban Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loch Melfort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loch Melfort Hotel

Address: Arduaine PA34 4XG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Arduaine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Arduaine
Price Range: $97 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Loch Melfort Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The finest location on the West coast of Scotland awaits visitors to experience this hotel and it's award-winning restaurant, the perfect place for a relaxing holiday or short break at any time of the year... as long as you can put up with the amazing views, the fantastic food, the log fire in the lounge and the selection of malt whiskys! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Loch Melfort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Loch Melfort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing