We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worldclass view. Poor meal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Loch Melfort Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Arduaine B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Worldclass view. Poor meal”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2011

View from bedroom over Loch Melfort even in poor weather is fabulous. Breakfast lovely in main restaurant. However meal in Chartroom II Bistro was poor and quite expensive. Venison lasagne dry, Rib steak thin. Chips dry. Pint of Prawns ??overcooked. So would suggest try other restaurant or eat elsewhere. Room okay but the view is superb

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gailcj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

707 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    377
    225
    66
    30
    9
See reviews for
109
473
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2011

This was my "umpteenth" visit and under the new owners the hotel gets better. The service we recieved from Christine on reception was wondefull, the bad weather had caused ferry cancellations and she arranged rebooking. The resaurent staff were wonderfull, as ever. The views, what can we say except home seems mundae looking out in comparison. My lady was very concerned that the cattle would have gone and was pleased to see them still there. We will be back.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Biddys78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlasgowHugh, Owner at Loch Melfort Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, September 19, 2011
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review, it is always appreciated. We're glad you had a lovely stay and you will be pleased to hear that it looks like the cattle are here to stay. We had hoped to send two of them off to Mull slaughterhouse last year so that they would be on our Christmas menu, but the abattoir burnt down a week before they were due to go - so they got a stay of execution, so to speak! The abattoir is up and running again but the cattle are now too old. So we now have 4 sheep instead. Same plan, but we hope to be more organised this time, so you will need to watch the menu just in case.....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, Scotland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2011

Having stayed several times at the hotel, we looked forward to returning again.
The Cedar wing rooms are now much better due to renovations, but our dining experience was poor compared to recent visits in Dec and Jan this year.
The bread rolls were like rocks and the other bread was stale.
The starters were ok, but small and the main course that we both chose, "shoulder of lamb", turned out to be shredded meat pressed into a moulded shape, with 2 small slices of potato and a few spinich leaves.
My dessert, a pannacotta was solid with a texture like rubber.
We were not offered coffee after dinner, so this no doubt been dropped from the dinner menu to save costs.
We didnt dine in the hotel on the second night, but ate at the nearby Croabhaven Marina where the food was excellent!
This has always been a favourite hotel and I would hope if we return again things will have improved!

Room Tip: Upper floor cedar wing rooms have superb views and are more secluded. For anyone who is hard of hea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Espujols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlasgowHugh, Owner at Loch Melfort Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, September 19, 2011
Many thanks for writing a review and I'm sorry that our menu failed to meet your expectations this stay. Our bread is made fresh daily so it is very strange that you found it hard and dry. I am afraid the presentation of the lamb is down to personal taste and perhaps this was too experimental for you. Coffee in the lounge is, indeed, still served as a part of our Table d'Hote menu at £36.95 (inclusive on a DBB package) and, in fact, our price has dropped from £41 last year. We have made every effort this year to make sure that we accomodate all tastes and budgets which is why we introduced a full A La Carte menu in the Restaurant earlier this year, so that you can choose to dine from either (and use the same £36.95 allowance from the A La Carte if there is nothing to your taste on the Table d'Hote menu). We change the Table d'Hote daily and seasonally, so hopefuly you will find it more to your taste on your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

Stayed at Loch Melfort hotel for the 3rd Time. We were put into the Pine lodge wing on the ground floor. It was nice but next time would prefer the first floor as there is more privacy ( quite a few dog walkers pass by) The bar was shut while we were there but you could still eat the "bar menu" in the more formal dining room. I personally prefer to eat in the bar as its much more casual. The dining room and various sitting areas(not the bar) are very nice, but can be a bit stuffy and reserved. Its not a great place for kids and it generally appears to suit slightly older couples.
Both the breakfast and evening dinner were very good, although the service on the First night was very slow.
The hotel is well managed and the staff are very nice and friendly. Its probably best described as a great place to have a very peacful break.
We took a boat trip from craobh haven across to Jura and around Scarba. I would recommend this trip, No Sea eagles unfortunately. Also took a trip up loch etive - never stopped raining but still enjoyed it.
Overall - Loch melfort is well worth a stay, though be nice if the bar was open next time.

Room Tip: Take a first floor room if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AGR77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlasgowHugh, Owner at Loch Melfort Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, September 15, 2011
Many thanks for your review . I was a bit confused when you said the bar was shut during your stay, but realise that you meant Chartroom II Bistro was shut during your stay in April. Our Bistro is closed for the winter months (end October - Easter) but we do offer an A La Carte Menu and Table d' Hote Menu in Asknish Bay Restaurant, as well as some Bistro choices during the winter. We try and keep it as relaxed as possible, but our Restaurant is graded 2 Rosettes by the AA and we have to maintain certain standards eg table linen, fine china to meet this criteria. Our lounge bar, is of course, open all year round and all day so no problem with getting a drink! Hope you come back soon and maybe next time you will have some luck spotting the sea eagles!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2011

Great food, wonderful staff and service all in a superb location. we'll be back!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2011

Great location with views to make the heart sing; seriously good food in the restaurant and a good simpler alternative in the bar; friendly, helpful and professional staff. Our favourite rooms (we've tried 4 now) are the Cedar wing (preferably upstairs) where you can lie in bed and look down the loch at the weather and the islands. Fabulous! Oh, great breakfasts too.

Room Tip: definitely the Cedar Wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andy p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
85 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2011

From the minute we entered the hotel the welcome from reception echoed around the whole hotel. Staff in bar, restaurant ,coffee shop all very welcoming and helpful. We stayed in the Cedar Wing, room was as expected for a 3 star hotel. Bed very comfortable, view fantastic. The food in the restaurant was lovely. I had the 8oz fillet steak which was beautifully cooked. Breakfast looked lovely but due to being still full from Dinner the prior night I could only manage scrambled egg ! Though my husband managed the full English which looked very tasty. Definitely worth a visit. Bought a dozen eggs before leaving. Free range and very tasty

Room Tip: Cedar wing handy if disabled. Beautiful veiws and car parking right outside room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrisrhy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arduaine
18.3 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,341 reviews
12.5 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
24.4 mi away
Stonefield Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.1 mi away
Ardanaiseig Hotel
Ardanaiseig Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kilchrenan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
21.3 mi away
Isle of Eriska Hotel, Spa & Island
3.9 mi away
The Galley of Lorne Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loch Melfort Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loch Melfort Hotel and Restaurant

Property: Loch Melfort Hotel and Restaurant
Address: Arduaine, Arduaine PA34 4XG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Arduaine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Arduaine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Loch Melfort Hotel and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The finest location on the West coast of Scotland awaits visitors to experience this hotel and it's award-winning restaurant, the perfect place for a relaxing holiday or short break at any time of the year... as long as you can put up with the amazing views, the fantastic food, the log fire in the lounge and the selection of malt whiskys! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Loch Melfort Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Loch Melfort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing