We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant venue for a wedding”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dalmally
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ardbrecknish House & Self Catering Accommodation
Ranked #2 of 6 Dalmally B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 16, 2013

I recently attended the most memorable wedding I have ever been to at Ardbrecknish House.
The venue is beautiful and unique and the proprietors are extremely helpful,
They can arrange a marquee, open the games room, bar and grounds for pre wedding activities and the highland hospitality is second to none.
This venue is also excellent for family gatherings or reunions.

Room Tip: Ask for loch views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Euan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (69)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 69 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2013

Family reunion in the west wind. Everything well prepared and ready when we arrived. Well equiped accommodation, warm with excellent views of the loch and the surrounding hills. Very spacious and room for all 9 of us plus baby.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mkhulujo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

I have just come back from a fri-mon break here. The house is under going some refurbishment and to be honest I think it will be a constant job for the owners as it is a fabulous old house with the kind of wear and tear expected from a house of its age. There was 10 of us in our party for my brothers 50th birthday and we can not thank the owners and staff enough for making us more than welcome, the chef even put on a Sunday roast especially for us, our apartment was spotlessly clean and had everything we needed for our stay, the views from the windows were outstanding. The surrounding scenery was amazing. We would HIGHLY recommend this place to anyone wishing to go there. Thank you Sally, Jim and staff

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

My girlfriend's family stayed here for a week in 3 separate parts of the house which allowed us the space we needed while keeping us all together. The apartment we were in easily housed my part of the group (my girlfriend, her parents, sister and brother-in-law and their two children under 3, brother-in-law's father, and myself) in good sized bedrooms, a very large kitchen, and living room with a SPECTACULAR view out over Loch Awe. Nearly every night ended with pints in the pub with other guests and area residents. The restaurant food was good but was generally a backup for us in case we didn't get to dinner while we were out sightseeing. Also, just down from the house is a small marina for access to the loch with boat rentals and guided fishing options. If I were to go back I would certainly consider staying here again.

Room Tip: The nearest grocery store of any size is a Co-op in Inveraray 22 minutes away so if you plan on stoc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

...and I live here.
Seriously, even before the views from the house and the ramparts (yes, ramparts!), the trip up here is spectacular.

Then, at the house, it gets better. I stayed in the West Wing with 10 others and it never felt cramped or crowded. The locals are very friendly and helpful - especially when it comes to inexperienced city folk out on the loch. The owners are some of the nicest people I've met and all in all I can't recommend this place highly enough.

It's worth planning activities in advance if you're looking for adventure, but if you want a pleasant, relaxing break then you can't go wrong here.
The rooms, the views, the food, the people - all Awesome.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greyfried
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

First time staying in Scotland, and we will definately be back. The views from the windows in the upper tower were spectacular. The bedrooms were extremely large for self catering, the kitchen has everything you require, even wine glasses!!! The food in the bar is very nice especially the Haddock and chips. Considering its out on the edge of Loch Awe there is still plenty to do. The owners are very friendly and welcoming. Best night sleep we have had in a long time. Roll on next year.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boomtownratty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

From the minute you arrive at this self-catering establishment you are made to feel welcome. Sally and Jim are the perfect hosts making you feel at home from the minute you arrive. There is a wide mix of accommodation allowing couples up to large groups stay. The accommodation is clean and has everything you require and if you are missing anything the problem will be rectified quickly. The bar and restaurant are great especially for families. The house is only a short walk to the banks of Loch Awe where boats can be hired for fishing or for a trip on the loch.I have been coming here for many years now and are never disappointed. Cant wait till i get back

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HelenMUR1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dalmally hotels
6.8 mi away
Muthu Dalmally Hotel
Muthu Dalmally Hotel
#4 of 6 in Dalmally
224 reviews
1.6 mi away
Riverside Cottage Bed and Breakfast
6.9 mi away
Craig Villa Guest House
Craig Villa Guest House
#1 of 1 in Dalmally
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Inverstrae B&B
Inverstrae B&B
#3 of 6 in Dalmally
57 reviews
6.6 mi away
Glenorchy Lodge Hotel
Glenorchy Lodge Hotel
#1 of 6 in Dalmally
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ardbrecknish House & Self Catering Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardbrecknish House & Self Catering Accommodation

Address: Ardbrecknish House South Lochaweside, Dalmally PA33 1BH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Dalmally
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Dalmally
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Ardbrecknish House & Self Catering Accommodation Dalmally, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing